We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet AND people friendly”
Review of Hounds Tooth Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennebunk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hounds Tooth Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pet AND people friendly”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We wanted to visit the Kenebunkport area, but didn't want to leave our dog behind this time. So we were glad to find a B & B that was pet friendly! And it really was! Not only do they allow pets , but they welcome them! Our host Randee offered anything we might need to make our stay and our dog's stay comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. For us, it was a down-home relaxed (yet clean and accommodating) bed and breakfast experience. Randee told us all the local dog-friendly places, from beaches to outdoor restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was hearty, fresh, and delicious! If you are travelling with a pet, we recommend Hounds tooth Inn highly! If you are not travelling with a pet, you would still like it, as long as you don't mind dogs!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncmtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
78
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millbury, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was a very warm and welcome place for our vacation. Randee and Norm made us feel like part of their family. Not to mention that Randee is a great cook. Definitely would recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a wonderful inn to stay at in Kennebunk. Randee and Norm make everyone feel welcome from the moment you pull into the driveway until the time that you leave. We had 2 dogs with our family, and they were made to feel more than welcome as well. The dogs are allowed to stay in the rooms with their owners and there is a fenced in area in the back for them to play. An excellent place to stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APepsiOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOWELL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I wanted to find a spot for myself, my husband, three adult children, two spouses, one infant, and two dogs to spend some time together for the weekend. Access to beaches and shopping was a must. Hounds Tooth Inn sounded perfect, and it was. The place was even more spacious and prettier than I'd expected, and our hosts simply could not have been more eager to make our stay an enjoyable one. The guests' lodgings include the entire antique home, while the owners have redone the attached barn for themselves. The fridge, microwave, and toaster that the website mentions are not crammed in some corner, but are part of a large, eat-in, country kitchen that is there entirely for the guests' use. For our group, which rented all the rooms, it was like having the big, family home back again, only no one had to serve as host (or mow the lawn or do any upkeep!). There are so many fun little pet-related bits of art, trivia, and memorabilia scattered around the house that my kids all thought it'd be a great place for a scavenger hunt. Our hosts welcomed the dogs with treats, and even provided us with parking passes for the beach. We had a great time and would certainly consider another stay at Hound's Tooth Inn.

Room Tip: The King's Court is a spectacular space for a couple, very large, with a fridge and sink in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Hound's Tooth Inn is a vacation dream if you travel with a dog, and in our case two dogs. Randee has all that one needs to keep a dog happy and safe. And she is a fantastic cook with a spotless inn and comfortable furniture! So the humans are happy too! Randee gave us great tips on what to do and where to go in the Kenneybunk area, which has many pet-friendly restaurants and interesting sites. The dogs were able to swim and run off-leash in some places, and in others they were content to be on-leash. If you travel with a pet, you will love to stay at the Hound's Tooth Inn - and even if you don't have a pet you will have a fantastic time at the inn!

Room Tip: We stayed in the King's Court suite on the first floor. It was very spacious and with our two st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have stayed at the Inn on 5 different occasions with our beloved Golden Retrievers, Laura and Ginger. We are Canadians who have lived coast to coast to coast. When we travel on the east coast each year we schedule our dates and route to enable a visit to Hounds Tooth Inn. We love it there, as do Laura and Ginger, who as recently as 4 weeks ago headed to the front door immediately after getting out of vehicle.
Why do we all love Hounds Tooth Inn? Our hosts Randee and Norm are super friendly and welcoming, not to mention thoroughly knowledgeable about all local things to do and see from beach walks, restaurants, and of course places to exercise our dogs, and pet friendly restaurants.
The ambiance at the inn is warm and inviting. Highlights for us include such things gourmet breakfasts served in the huge country kitchen, impeccable and large grounds which include a fenced dog run, outstanding rooms, areas to relax both outside and in, excellent attention to every detail, and the added bonus that we feel we have made genuine friends with our hosts.

Room Tip: "King's Court" is fabulous and spacious, especially with 2 large dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

My Family and I came across the Hounds Tooth Inn By chance....We were on a Family Vacation with Our Little Shorky, Milly. We had Never been to Maine Had No idea Where to Stay or What Sights to See! Randee And Her Husband Were Absoutly Perfect!!! We stayed 5 Nights at the Hounds Tooth Inn, and I wish it Could have been More!! The Rooms Were Beautiful and Clean the Beds Comfortable....Every Morning Randee would coustomise A Wonderful Breakfast For Our Family of 5! And Then She'd Sit down with Us and Discuss All that Kennebunk Had To Offer!!! All 3 of My Children, ages 4,12 & 14 Insist We Stay At the Hounds Tooth Inn as Often as Possible! And For ALL 3 Children to agree to Something is HUGE!!! I Recommend this Place to ANYONE! Alone or With Family, You Can NOT go Wrong By Staying Here!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cassie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
199 reviews
1.4 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
258 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kennebunk Inn
Kennebunk Inn
#12 of 14 in Kennebunk
187 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hounds Tooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hounds Tooth Inn

Property: Hounds Tooth Inn
Address: 82 Summer St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-6616
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hounds Tooth Inn is a non-smoking, pet friendly, four guest room Bed and Breakfast located in the picturesque town of Kennebunk, Maine. Situated across from a 12 acre Land Trust, near the beach, the port and downtown Kennebunk, this converted farmhouse and barn on an acre of beautiful land offers comfortable and homey lodging year-round. For a wonderfully relaxing experience that has the feel of the simpler, sweeter past, plan to stay at the Hounds Tooth Inn where your hosts thoroughly enjoy making you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hounds Tooth Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing