We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“25 years, and I keep coming back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seaside Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“25 years, and I keep coming back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for 25 years, and it keeps getting better. I was there this past July and enjoyed a beautifully refreshed second floor ocean view room. Although I don't think I have stayed in the hotel in almost two years, the staff remembers not only my name, but the way I like my bed made (thanks April!!). Since the Seaside is sometimes sold out, I have stayed at all of the other top hotels in the area, including the newcomers. If you love the beach, and love the beauty of the ocean, this is the only place to stay in town. There is magic at the Seaside, I am thankful that I get to stay there now and then, and I thank everyone there for making my visits so wonderful. If you are looking for a house to stay in, check out the three new homes on the Seaside website. They are gorgeous too (I've stayed in two) - and as an added bonus you have round the clock onsite, caring management, just in case.

Room Tip: If you can walk up a flight of steps, the second floor ocean view rooms are the best in the house fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your return trip to The Seaside. One of the best parts of working here is getting to know all of our guests and seeing them return to us. The staff does get to know your preferences and tries their best to get everything right for you. If you ever need anything done before you arrive please just call.
We look forward to your return visit soon to The Seaside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    35
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
38
70
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here for the second time and loved it, once again. The weather didn't really cooperate for beach lounging, but that didn't really matter since this place is so comfortable and there are so many neat things to do in the area. I am still amazed at how clean and well run this place is. It is very clear that every employee and the owners take great pride in their work and their legacy at the Seaside. What a gem. We will surely return.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are probably wonderful, but we had a first floor, oceanfront. Although you co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emtcincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
The weather up until a few days ago was anything but ideal. Luckily it has turned around and we hope you can make it back to The Seaside again when you can take advantage of the beach. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you are right the entire staff really goes out of their way for each guest. We are so lucky to have a staff that comes to work each day with a smile. Thank you again for the wonderful words and we all look forward to welcoming you back to The Seaside soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

What a great spot. A bit rustic, very comfortable, terrific location, and exceptional staff. The newly renovated rooms are very nice and the view out to the ocean and the rocky coast is quite special. The staff are warm and welcoming and seem to be quite happy to be working there. And then there's Mona's muffins. A continental breakfast is included in the rate and this is more than adequate, especially considering how Mona makes a new muffin everyday and they are out of this world. The location is not too far from Dock Square and it is right by the beach, so it is great for long walks or just sitting back and relaxing.

Room Tip: Do go for one of the deluxe rooms on the second floor, facing the ocean of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandA85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidekennebunk, Manager at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
It is so nice to hear you ejoyed your visit to The Seaside. Our staff truly does enjoy working with all of our guests. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We’ve been vacationing summers at this family-owned beachfront inn for almost twenty years, with an occasional “get away from it all” weekend in the spring and fall. The rooms are comfortable, spacious, immaculately clean and just steps from popular Gooch’s Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in New England. The best views are from the second floor oceanfront rooms. If you should get a terrace room, there’s a new large open-air deck facing the beach with a big relaxing hot tub. Included is a hearty continental breakfast featuring delicious homemade muffins and some days stuffed French toast with warm blueberry sauce. The centerpiece of our visits has always been the genuine hospitality of innkeeper Ken Mason’s amazing staff. Also, the owner is constantly improving and upgrading the property. Tip: Be sure to book as early as possible for oceanfront rooms as they have a strong repeat business. We’ve found that the Seaside Inn is a truly unique gem, where these folks consistently know how to make a vacation a vacation. They’ve been doing it for thirteen generations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ2012Milton_Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your return trip to The Seaside. Our entire staff enjoys seeing all of our return guest's arrive every year. It is so much fun to catch up with their adventures through the year. All of us at The Seaside look forward to next return to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, CT
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently returned from a 3-night stay at the Seaside. As always, we were very comfortable! The rooms are immaculate and very large. The small in-room refrigerator is a big plus. It is wonderful to walk right out the door, across the lawn, and along the beach. We have stayed there often, usually once in the spring and in the fall. We are never disappointed, no matter the weather, because the Mason family and their staff take such great care of their guests. Everyone is always made to feel most welcome, indeed. And they also very kindly remembered our anniversary, which was special treat for us! Can't wait to go back in the fall!

Room Tip: Terrace side are a great value! Oceanside has amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
We happy you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us this year and thank you so much for the kind comments. We give all the credit to our incredible crew who truly enjoys getting to know all of our guests. The ladies here can tell us whose birthday or anniversary it is before the guest arrives. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to The Seaside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went in the off season. This is the second visit to this inn. It was so enjoyable. The towels were fluffy, the beds were comfortable, and the service was friendly. I really recommend this inn. We were on a college visit, yet this bit if pampering felt great. Getting away for a romantic weekend
here would be fabulous. The lobby had a very nice male clerk who really made us feel welcome. They immediately refilled the coffee urn with fresh Green Mountain coffee. There were tourist guides and magazines to leaf through. The only down side was

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohmyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are so happy your enjoyed your return visit to The Seaside Inn. The staff here really enjoys trying to make all of our guests feel welcome and feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I were taking a road trip through Maine and had never been to Kennebunk. We liked the town so stopped by the Chamber of Commerce to see if any rooms were available in town and the woman was on the phone with Seaside Inn, just our luck a cancellation. We got a great room on the ocean at a great price. We absolutely loved it there, so much history around the inn, a great breakfast, right on the beach, very clean and quiet. We couldn't have asked for more. The owners were very friendly. We can't wait to go back this spring.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugs0527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidekennebunk, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are so happy you took the time to discover the Kennebunk's. Many of our new guest's are so surprised at how quiet the town ais compared to Wells and Ogunquit. The Kennebunk's offer wonderful beaches and top quality restaurants without the crowds of other tourist areas.

It means so much to all of the staff when a new guests discovers us and has such a good time that they return again to The Seaside.

We thank you and look forward to welcoming you back to The Seaside and the Kennebunk's again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.8 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
4.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#2 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Property: Seaside Inn
Address: 80 Beach Ave, Kennebunk Beach, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7632
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seaside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn directly on quiet section of Kennebunk Beach. The only Kennebunk Inn directly on the Beach! Walk to Kennebunkport’s Famous Dock Square shops, boutiques and restaurants. Sea kayaking, lobster boat tours, whale watching, fabulous sunrises and sunsets from your room! Surfing, wake boarding and kayaking right out your door. Ocean view Hot Tub. Bicycles. The Seaside Inn is open year round and includes breakfast daily in the 1850 Boat House. Great values with our special Off-Season Packages in our Oceanfront Inn. View live beach cam on our web site. 9th Generation Family Innkeepers since 1667. Kennebunkport’s premier beachfront address. A memorable location and experience directly on the beach. Maine Environmental Leader award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Kennebunk
Seaside Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing