We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Seaside IS Maine to Us”
Review of Seaside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seaside Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Been staying here since 1997 (am staying on the second floor right now!) and it is truly a rare gem. It's low key, family owned and operated i(since the 1700s!) with pretty, sunny rooms that are UBER clean. This is not the Ritz so don't come if you need to be waited on or pampered. But if you want the only place in town to stay ON Kennebunk Beach, with great people who make you feel at home and look after you then this is the place for you. The breakfast room is in a part of the house that is around 300 years old but if you want to sit on your deck and eat looking at the beach the girls in the kitchen will help you make a tray. There is a new hot tub, which they probably didn't have in the 1700s but I'd rather be in the ocean! Yes they have wifi and a guest computer in lobby.

Room Tip: Second Floor Oceanfront, First Floor Ocean, Second Floor Terrace also nice; no longer own the cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 162 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2011

But they are selling off the land, sad after near 400 years. Instead of peaceful ocean wave sounds, you'll have construction noise from where someone is building on the sold land. And as more of the place is for sale, expect more of the noise.

I have loved the place and the view for many, many, years .... doubt I'll return again. And doubt the family will own it very longer.

Greed comith before the fall.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, ocean view is a MUST
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachL0ver60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah, Owner at Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

We would like to clarify a few things that are not accurate about this post. A few years ago, upon the death of the ninth generation there was a dispute between the current managing family member and a family member that was not involved in the business. The out of state family member demanded that we sell the business or pay him. To save the business as is, we took out a loan and paid off the out of state family member. Then the market crashed and the loan was going to be called by the bank. That caused us to sell a portion of the property to pay off the note. We not only did not profit from this, my inlaws also lost their house. One of the new owners is rebuilding their home this summer. But when it is done, hopefully very soon, we will have a nice new neighbor and that should be the end of any construction that will upset our guests. We hope to enjoy our nice peaceful setting for another 400 years (well another generation or two anyway, hate to speak for future generations)! And we only wish we had profited as you imply. We will continue to work hard to run the best Inn in the Kennebunks and provide friendly service, a quality room and a great breakfast. Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We are a family with two small children. This was near perfect for us. We stayed on the first floor because of our two kids (who understandably are not permitted to stay on the second floor).

Each morning, we woke to the sight and sound of the ocean. After walking down the hallway, we were greeted with some of the best, homemade, breakfast I've had. The spectacular muffins are made by a woman who eyeballs. Breakfast is served in a quaint room that makes you feel like you are at home. (Except my muffins are nowhere near as good).

You can order a simple lunch that will be delivered to you on the beach, which was about 50 yards from our back patio. The maid, who is a family member, realized we had small children and left rubber duckies on their pillows as a gift on our last night.

In terms of location, it is on the non-busy side of the port - which is nice. But an easy five minute drive to where all of the "action" is in Kennebunkport. Which ain't much. But that is why you go there. The Inn is very accessible to Route One, and we found the beach to be very private and nice.

I really don't have a complaint.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank htimsynnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I had looked at a lot of hotels in the area before deciding on this one. They have a live beach cam on their website and that sealed the deal for me. We had a second floor room with 2 queen sized beds. The view from the room was amazing! We kept the door open most the night just to hear the surf. There is a path down to the beach (which is private), so it was easy to get the water. They even had beach chairs that we were able to take down with us. There is also a hot tub on the 2nd floor that looks out to the beach, which was nice on a cold Maine night. The breakfast in the morning was really good. I expected the usual breakfast of toast and cereal, but they also had hot items. They were serving cream cheese and walnut stuffed French Toast with Maine blueberry jelly. It was a great way to start the day.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabinetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Great location, view is beautiful and muffins are to die for

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryandjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I considered many different places during my planning of our trip up to Maine - and finally decided on the Seaside Inn. And I am so glad that I did! Our stay was wonderful - and the staff was marvelous and provided outstanding service. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel - a truly great value. We had a room on the 2nd floor - and when I opened the door - the first thing I saw was the ocean. Fabulous!

Room Tip: Definitely stay on the 2nd floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie_in_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I booked this place after several hours of research on where to travel and stay. I wanted a location on the beach, that wasn't too expensive. This place fit all of our criteria. As well, every morning they had boiled eggs, muffins, bagels, toast, fruit, cereal, coffee, tea etc between 8-10am that was included. The drive to the village (if you wanted to drive) was about 3 minutes. Otherwise there were bikes you could borrow from them, or you could just walk it in about 10-15minutes. There were chairs that you use and bring to the beach every day as well. Pretty much all you need if you ask me!
The only recommendation i would have would be to get a room on a higher floor, as the walls are not exactly sound proof, and you can pretty much hear people above and next to you. But then again, how much time are you going to spend in the room when you're on the beach right?!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniferjessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.9 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
678 reviews
0.8 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
5.7 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#6 of 29 in Wells
445 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Address: 80 Beach Ave, Kennebunk Beach, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7632
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range: $87 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seaside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn directly on quiet section of Kennebunk Beach. The only Kennebunk Inn directly on the Beach! Walk to Kennebunkport’s Famous Dock Square shops, boutiques and restaurants. Sea kayaking, lobster boat tours, whale watching, fabulous sunrises and sunsets from your room! Surfing, wake boarding and kayaking right out your door. Ocean view Hot Tub. Bicycles. The Seaside Inn is open year round and includes breakfast daily in the 1850 Boat House. Great values with our special Off-Season Packages in our Oceanfront Inn. View live beach cam on our web site. 9th Generation Family Innkeepers since 1667. Kennebunkport’s premier beachfront address. A memorable location and experience directly on the beach. Maine Environmental Leader award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Kennebunk
Seaside Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing