We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”
Review of Attean Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Attean Lake Lodge
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed here twice, and we have already booked our vacation for next year. This resort is beautiful, the people are wonderful, the food delicious. You have your own private cabin with kerosene lamps, wood stove and modern bathroom. The lodge has electricity and wifi. It is so peaceful and quiet. The perfect get away. Fishing, canoeing, hiking, swimming, kayaking. The eagles fly over the lake, loons abound.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Attean Lake Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 34 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

I've been meaning to write a review on the Attean Lake Lodge for years. I'm planning on heading up to the Lodge in early September, this will be our eighth time there. I'm usually not a loss for words, but when it comes to the Attean, I have a hard time describing just how beautiful it is. The cabins are very clean, the meals are amazing, the staff has always been friendly, the owners are lovely, and the views.... oh, those gorgeous views...

The Holden's make everything special from the moment you arrive to the last moment of your stay - there are flowers on the tables, there's always a fire to greet you after a day of hiking in the lodge... it's pure magic.

We've tried six different cabins throughout the years and each one is special in it's own way. I've always told my husband - if I had one day left on earth (I'm a cancer survivor, you think like this after being diagnosed), this is where I would want to be.

Room Tip: each cabin is lovely - you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucymargret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have stayed at Attean Lodge for almost 20 years -- the hospitality is warm and family-like, the scenery is breathtaking, and for a group of cabins on an island, the place is surprisingly comfortable and homey. Think of gas lamps combined with complete running water -- which means all of the bathroom amenities modern and home-like. The lodge is a big beautiful building where they serve wonderful food (think "executive chef") in the dining room and have a big space for socializing, puzzles, games, music, and kids to play.

I noticed on YouTube there's a video now that shows what the experience at Attean is like:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A7lSqDvBQic

Room Tip: Plan at least two nights there -- any less and you'll wish you were staying longer. The camps o...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Curt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The lodge is located on an island in the middle of Attean Lake. The atmosphere is peaceful and quiet, hosts are gracious, food is excellent. Bring a flashlight. You'll want to walk down to the beach to see the stars or just listen to the waves gently lapping the shore. If you are looking for outlet stores, fitness center and a swimming pool, go elsewhere.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank kayak712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I first have to say that I am not an outdoorsy person. My husband and I spent three nights at the Attean Lake Lodge. It is a beautiful place. There is no electricity in the cabins, the cabins are lit by gas light. However, the great thing is that the cabins do have hot water and flush toilets. Our cabin was St Louis. The interior was beautiful, all wood. There is no TV or cell phone service. The Main Lodge where the food was served has electricity and Wi Fi. Brad and Andrea were so nice, and the food was delicious. It was so relaxing and peaceful just to sit on the front porch of the cabin and watch the loons swim by. There are canoes, kayaks, paddleboats and motor boats that the guests can use. My husband loved the kayaking. We did take a motorboat out one day, and toured around the lake. I highly recommend the Attean Lake Lodge for a peaceful and relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DBW1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We just spent two lovely nights at The Attean Lake Lodge. We had a very warm welcome from Barrett, Brad and Andrea. Our cabin, Windy Haugh, was very comfy with our gas lights, great wood stove, and a wonderful shower with HOT water and good pressure. Meals at the Lodge were wonderful. Everything homemade and presented beautifully. Plenty to eat at every meal - we were stuffed! My favorite memory of the two nights was listening to the loons on the lake. So peaceful! We'll be back for another visit, but next time will stay a lot longer. I hated to leave the serenity of Attean Lake. Thanks, Brad and Andrea, for a very restful two days.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Busyinnkeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Our family was tired of heat, traffic, ambient noise and television, so this lodge seemed like the perfect antidote. It was. The remote setting guarantees that stars will be blindingly bright on clear nights and the cries of the loons will be the only thing you hear over the sound of the breeze in the pines. The cabins are spacious, virtually new in appearance and comfortable. The lack of electricity is a plus, and the cheerful glow of a propane wall lamp is plenty when you’re trying to get ready for bed. Propane also heats the water at each cabin so don’t worry about being stuck with cold showers.

The lodge is set up very well for families with kids. There is a sandy beach with kayaks and paddleboats so the kids can swim and boat whilst the adults occupy the reclining beach chairs and supervise. On our visit (our first), there were enough kids of approximately the same age as our daughter to keep her more than entertained, and the parents were friendly, pleasant and equally concerned about the kids being safe and including everyone in the activities. For our daughter, the other kids were probably the best thing about the experience. I might add that there were a good percentage of the guests who did not bring kids, so it was a nice mix.

The scenery is beautiful and can be enjoyed from the front porch of your cabin or from a small aluminum fishing boat powered by a 4 hp outboard which you can rent for a modest fee. We observed eagles sitting in a tree at the neighboring island, but we were not able to catch a glimpse of a moose, though most of the other guests managed to do so.

The food (included in the daily rate) was good, especially the outdoor cook-outs. The owner and all the staff were friendly and helpful, and seemed to always be available if you needed anything. They even arranged for the kids to make smores on the fire at the beach in the evenings.

If you really want to get away from it all without roughing it, this is a great way to do it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank genericposter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackman
1.6 mi away
Bishops Country Inn Motel
9.7 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
68 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Mountainview Resort
The Mountainview Resort
#2 of 10 in Jackman
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
#2 of 2 in West Forks
17 reviews
23.0 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#1 of 5 in Rockwood
45 reviews
23.5 mi away
Inn by the River
Inn by the River
#1 of 1 in The Forks
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attean Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attean Lake Lodge

Address: Attean Road, PO Box 457, Jackman, ME 04945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Jackman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Jackman
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape into the beauty of nature. Spend your days un-driven by schedules or agendas. Enjoy breathtaking views of mountains and the lake, warm hospitable staff, delicious food and charming, 15 comfortable cabins where you fall asleep to the sounds of the loons. Spend your days relaxing leisurely in the lodge or by the lake or fill your days with adventures, exploring the numerous hiking options, or seeing the beauty of the lake and rivers using one of the many boating options available to you. Either way you can truly unwind at this wonderful all-inclusive, island retreat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Attean Lake Lodge Jackman, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing