We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Magnificient!”
Review of The Keeper's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle Au Haut
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Keeper's House
Ranked #1 of 1 Isle Au Haut B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Isle Au Haut is the best kept secret with an interesting history ranging from lobsterers to a summer location for the Boston elite. If you want the ultimate get away experience where you unplug, hike, enjoy all that Penobscot Bay, and a small part of Acadia National Park has to offer, then this is your location. The Inn complete with lighthouse is quaint with 4 spacious bedrooms and two shared bathrooms. The Inn also has a Pilot House on the property that one can opt to stay in as well with its own porch. The staff are friendly and helpful when needed. Three meals a day are served which were very good (the island has no restaurants). The mail boat out of Stonington (which has overnight parking right at the dock) will take you right to the dock at the Inn. There is a small general store on the island with limited hours so it is best to come prepared. The experience was just wonderful and Marshall and his staff (Tracy and Julie) were the best!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlbosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for The Keeper's House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

After a 5 (or is it 6?) year hiatus, The Keeper's House is back in business, beautifully run, and a VERY special place. To begin, it was a very special occasion which brought my wife and me there; our 10th wedding anniversary and I had NO idea where we were headed (until, literally, getting on the ferry to Isle au Haut; and even then I had no clue as to our final destination) as this was a surprise my wife had planned months ago. We arrive via the "famous" Mail Boat and a short but extremely pleasant 30-40 minute later arrive on magical Isle au Haut. Only we don't get off at the town landing but get delivered at the boat house of The Keeper's House and are greeted, warmly, by Tracy (who manages the place along with his charming and lovely wife Julie). Tracy helps with what luggage we have - back packs actually - and walks us up to the Main House where we meet the Innkeeper himself - what I can only call, especially after spending (sporadically but always welcoming) 4 days with him, a gentleman AND a scholar of the highest order - Dr. Marshall Chapman.

For an Inn which has been out of operation for as many years as The Keeper's House has been, it's a testament to the love, dedication, and attention to workmanship - attention to everything - which makes one feel like The Keeper's House hasn't missed a beat all these years.

We stayed at the Oil House - a charming one (small) room off the Main House - and we couldn't possibly be happier. The bedding was comfortable as was the bed and the views simply stunning. The room has a built-in heater which Tracy fired up for us - not that we needed it - and supplied with towels, candles (yes, candles) and shown where the outhouse was (yes, outhouse). Let's be clear here - and this is essentially true of the whole island much less The Keeper's House - we might be talking an extremely well-run Inn, and we are, but we are talking the seclusion of Isle au Haut and a certain amount of, for lack of a better word, adventure.

We're talking "off the grid". If you are in constant need of being on your cell phone or sending or receiving mail: YOU'VE COME TO THE WRONG PLACE!

I myself am not necessarily of the "out-house-set" but found it to be perfectly suitable and we always had the Main House as a secondary, or primary, option.

Readers of mine know I tend not to elaborate too much - "special in every way" sums it up quite nicely if you ask me, and even if you didn't - but will add that the 3 meals a day (included in the price) were FANTASTIC! Breakfast and dinner were spectacular (the bag lunch provided splendid) - thank you Eileen! - and the service throughout was nothing less than perfect! (And that's saying something).

Here's how I will sum it [all] up at the risk of repeating myself: Isle au Haut is a very special place and The Keeper's House is A VERY SPECIAL PLACE RUN BY EXTRA SPECIAL PEOPLE. It's start at the very top - and I guarantee you you'll agree with me once you spend any time with Dr, Chapman (who, if you're lucky, will play the guitar and/or banjo, after dinner) - and goes from there.

Congratulations The Keeper's House and thank you very much!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hillsboro, OR
123
Reviewed July 10, 2005

Although the price was high, it was such a unique experience that my wife and I thought it was worth it. We caught an earlier boat over than they recommened and used the extra time to explore some of the hiking trails in Acadia National Park on the island. The food was excellent, with all three meals provided because there are no other options for dining on the island. Part of the higher cost is simply because of their isolation, although that is also much of the allure. Another benefit is that they are totally environmentally friendly, generating their own electricity and fresh water and treating their waste. I think it's worth a little extra to support people making the effort to try to live (and run a business) that way.

Contrary to the experience of the previous review, however, we found that they *did* have running water (including hot water) and sufficient light for reading (although we didn't stay up all that late to use it). We would have loved to stay longer except that our itinerary didn't permit it. Highly recommended for anyone desiring a tiny taste of small island life or proximity to a working lighthouse.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall C, Owner at The Keeper's House, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Ownership changed in 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
440
Reviewed October 17, 2004

While it was a unique and interesting experience, and in a lovely setting, this was undoubtedly the most overpriced bed & breakfast we've ever stayed in. It was NOT worth $300 a night. Half that maybe, if that $150 included the cost of getting to and from the island by mail boat and parking at the dock (which costs a total of $82 for 2 people). The "gourmet" food was Ok, but I've had better and not for that price. If an inn is going to list reading as things to do while you're there (or you'd better be a hiker, or there really is nothing to do) then they should provide enough light to read by even if that is by gas lamp or candle. For those who retire early, it would be fine. But anyone who's a night owl or likes to stay up and read, you will be disappointed.

We are used to camping and "roughing it", but the Oil House has no running water (other than ice cold in a jug) and an outhouse (which we expected). For a shower you had to use the ones in the main house (not too bad unless you don't like walking 100 yards to take a shower). It was not worth $300 a night. And unfortunately the final feeling we came away with was that we felt ripped off.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall C, Owner at The Keeper's House, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Ownership changed in 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HKK37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle Au Haut
22.9 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
313 reviews
22.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
332 reviews
22.0 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#4 of 10 in Rockport
1,339 reviews
23.7 mi away
Pentagoet Inn
Pentagoet Inn
#1 of 3 in Castine
552 reviews
23.5 mi away
Berry Manor Inn
Berry Manor Inn
#1 of 8 in Rockland
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keeper's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keeper's House

Address: PO Box 26, Isle Au Haut, ME 04645-0026
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Isle Au Haut
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Isle Au Haut
Price Range: $300 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few funtioning lighthouse inns in the US and the only bed and breakfast on the Isle Au Haut in Maine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Keeper's House Isle Au Haut, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing