We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mosquitos every where!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Island Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vacationland Estates
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Island Falls
Lowell, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mosquitos every where!!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Let start with
the staff: Excellent
Resort: Very clean and high cathedral ceiling. TV/DVD player are too old and out of date. Very few analog channel and no digital channel. Internet not working. Internet only working at the main office. Laundromats only available at building 1. No private porch. Golf field are very big. Mosquito are every where!!!!! Bug spray will not help at all, that is how bad it was. Swimming pool indoor is okay. It good place for elderly or family have no children. The town is very quiet and nothing to do for children at any age.
No I will not go again with my children.

Room Tip: Best place for stay in one place and forget the world. Bad place for family with children. Mosquito...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Min T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We exchanged our timeshare here, knowing that most things would be closed in November. And that's a true story.

The staff was not particularly welcoming, though the resort was at about 1/4 occupancy for most of our week. They answered questions when asked, but they didn't go out of their way to be hospitable.

The condo-like "cabin" did look like it had some updates, like new carpeting and new kitchen/bathroom flooring. The kitchen was well-supplied, though this is the only timeshare that I've been to that didn't provide a "starter-kit" with a pack of coffee/sugar packets/creamers. The newer pots and pans were nice. Plenty of dishes. I would be happier if there had been in-room laundry, instead of laundromat-style 4 buildings over (for $1 each wash and dry).

The club-house had a variety of movies, though many old titles. The staff didn't know what activities were planned when, and they were not the same activities advertized on the website (my 3 year old had been looking forward to the "Give a Moose a Muffin" craft-time, which was not offered upon arrival). The pool was fantastic! VERY warm. The hottub wasn't HOT, but I liked that. Locker-rooms were tidy.

There IS a grocery store in town, but that's it- not even a restaurant. We drove about 1/2 hour in either direction for one meal a day (it's not vacation if I have to cook every meal!). We took a "day trip" to canada, just to say we did. There were BEAUTIFUL sunsets- I suggest the "scenic drive" down Rt. 11. There is also a diner/deli in Patten we went to often.

Room Tip: Ask to be located AWAY from the house-keeping/laundromat area- I bet it's loud and distracting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very good to spend some quiet time, away from busy schedules. Just came back from Island Falls and started my first night on a bad foot, fell down the steps in front of the office. It was dark and missed a step. I was in pain but somehow helped myself to get better. Be sure to bring some emergency kit in case of emergency. The next day they fixed the stairs putting the missing handrail over the steps. The resort is very clean, comfy, cozy and quiet. I love to hike but because of my bad foot I was not able to do that. We did a lot of driving around the area. Went to Shin Brook Falls but only managed to see a glimpse of the falls. Dangerous for my sprained ankle. Nice drive at Smyrna, Kings Landing and the biggest ax in Canada.

Will I come back to this place? Maybe if given another chance ...it's a nice place to get away from everything...

Room Tip: Every unit is surrounded by beautiful mountain view. I would avoid the unit above the laundry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mingmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fitchburg ma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

plenty of room for our family of 4. girls loved the loft bedroom. if your looking for excitement go else where. if you love nature and quiet this is your place. lots of get togeathers, icecream socials etc. girls aslo enjoyed the indoor pool. Furniture outdated but clean. We would visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thetravelinguys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbury,NJ
Level Contributor
163 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband & 2 Boys 12 & 11 spent a week here in july, it was a very beautiful area, The Resort was Spotless !! So clean a rustic type atmosphere, The kitchen had everything you could ask for! We found a nice quite area for swimming about a half hour away, a very clean lake area shins pond, the boys had a great time meeting kids, playing wiffleball, Ping pong Big hit! nice indoor clean pool, all in all very nice. We are flexable we can do 5 star resorts, or camping, this was a great week, before we headed up to Prince Edward Island Canada for a another great week of vacationing, That's another Great place to visit at least once in your life!! I was a little nervous about going to Baxter state park it was in the middle of know where, dirt roads but I trusted my husband and he found us a great watering hole on the north side of the park, if you do the south side and want to drive about 2 and ahalf hours in the park very slow!! there is a great place to swim & slide down the rocks into the water, we didn't find about this until after we did the north side, & I wasn't going back this trip to try the south side!! Maybe next trip :))

Room Tip: We were in bld 11 close to laundry & Rec hall !! Beds were very comfy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NJ-sunshine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

terrible accomidations, worse beds ever, poor lighting throughout, kitchen VERY outdated, one burner on stove would not even heat, took me 20 minutes to make a grilled cheese sandwich, oven thermometer broken, burned pizza, could barely turn around in bathrooms, not private...curtains did not cover windows or sliding door, dust all over the place, minimal TV channels which were not even good channels, place in the middle of nowhere, NOTHING in town to do, had to travel at least an hour, the whole town closed down at 6pm, the only good thing i can say is the water pressure in the showers were great, will never return and would never recommend to anyone, VERY disappointed.

Room Tip: find somewhere else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jan753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Island Falls hotels

Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

UNIT
Vacationland consists of numerous long log cabins, each with a number of units. All units share a back porch with Adirondack chairs. Our unit was spacious for only two people with 3 dbl beds (2 bedrooms, one loft) and 2 full baths (*Note: I can see where the space would be cramped if you actually had 6 people). The kitchen was well-stocked with the essentials as well as a few surprises such as numerous knifes, casserole dishes, serving plates, numerous sized pots and pans, etc. Everything was clean and comfortable and the water at the resort is AMAZING! No a/c but it was cool enough (even while the rest of the East Coast was mid-heat wave) at night with just the fan. The units have basic cable and wifi can be purchased for $25/wk for up to 3 computers.

LOCATION
The resort's location is less than ideal ONLY because that is how the entirety of Aroostook County is--small towns where things close at 8, everything is a minimum 30 minute drive, etc. This is NOT a problem if you have a car and are willing to drive to semi-local (~1hr+ drives) sites such as Baxter State Park (with hiking trails for ANY level), Fredericton, Bangor, etc. Birch Point is super close with its boat rentals and restaurant as well as Craig's Maine Course (on the resort's golf course). There is a small grocery in-town as well as a Hannaford-supplied store in Patten (approx. 30 min away) and a Walmart in Houlton (~45 min away). Prices are reasonable and both are pretty well stocked (this coming from a dairy-free vegetarian!), although the latter (Ellis Family Market) is a bit more so.

Houlton and Patten were the two towns suggested to us by a local and we found ample restaurants/diners (try Grammy's and Horn of Plenty) and ice cream in both! There is also a movie theatre in Houlton.

ACTIVITIES
The resort has a number of activities available to its guests each day. Attendance varies by activity and week. There are 2 small hikes (more quick walks in the wood but beautiful and highly recommended nonetheless, ESPECIALLY Shin Pond Falls) as well as food-based gatherings (wine/cheese, s'mores, coffee/donuts) for adults and/or families. For kids there is more with crafts, story-time, etc. Sarah who oversees the activities is super nice and fun and keeps things interesting for adults and children alike. She takes a ton of photos and creates collages, all of which are for sale ($3/$4) in the main office. The resort also offers a pretty extensive selection of movies for rent and offers a pool, hot tub, sauna, and game room which is coin-operated. The main lodge closes at 9 which is a bit of a bummer if you wanted a late-night swim! The resort also has a dock/picnic area on the nearby pond which is about a 15 min walk or 3 min drive. It was deserted, beautiful, and definitely a good place to wile away an afternoon.

OVERALL
Great place to stay if you are looking to get away from it all and do nothing in the peace and quiet of middle-of-nowhere ME or want a comfortable, quiet base for exploring Baxter State Park, New Brunswick, and/or the numerous small towns in "the County" as its called. Everyone was so so SO nice and accommodating, from the office staff to the tow truck driver who drove completely out of his way to drop our car at the local auto mechanic (and then drop us back at the hotel). If you want a resort with a ton of amenities and activities and lots of modern accommodations (Dunks, Bank of America, big grocery stores, etc). I would definitely consider going back and would recommend the resort to those looking for the above qualities.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Kaitly_Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Island Falls
19.5 mi away
Shiretown Motor Inn
Shiretown Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Houlton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
19.5 mi away
Ivey's Motor Lodge
Ivey's Motor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Houlton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Bradford House B&B
The Bradford House B&B
#1 of 1 in Patten
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacationland Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacationland Estates

Property: Vacationland Estates
Address: 70 Dow Farm Rd, Island Falls, ME 04747-4213
Location: United States > Maine > Island Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Island Falls
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Vacationland Estates Hotel Island Falls
Vacationland Estates Island Falls, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing