We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great peaceful vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vacationland Estates

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Island Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vacationland Estates
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Island Falls
fitchburg ma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great peaceful vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

plenty of room for our family of 4. girls loved the loft bedroom. if your looking for excitement go else where. if you love nature and quiet this is your place. lots of get togeathers, icecream socials etc. girls aslo enjoyed the indoor pool. Furniture outdated but clean. We would visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thetravelinguys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbury,NJ
Level Contributor
155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband & 2 Boys 12 & 11 spent a week here in july, it was a very beautiful area, The Resort was Spotless !! So clean a rustic type atmosphere, The kitchen had everything you could ask for! We found a nice quite area for swimming about a half hour away, a very clean lake area shins pond, the boys had a great time meeting kids, playing wiffleball, Ping pong Big hit! nice indoor clean pool, all in all very nice. We are flexable we can do 5 star resorts, or camping, this was a great week, before we headed up to Prince Edward Island Canada for a another great week of vacationing, That's another Great place to visit at least once in your life!! I was a little nervous about going to Baxter state park it was in the middle of know where, dirt roads but I trusted my husband and he found us a great watering hole on the north side of the park, if you do the south side and want to drive about 2 and ahalf hours in the park very slow!! there is a great place to swim & slide down the rocks into the water, we didn't find about this until after we did the north side, & I wasn't going back this trip to try the south side!! Maybe next trip :))

Room Tip: We were in bld 11 close to laundry & Rec hall !! Beds were very comfy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NJ-sunshine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

terrible accomidations, worse beds ever, poor lighting throughout, kitchen VERY outdated, one burner on stove would not even heat, took me 20 minutes to make a grilled cheese sandwich, oven thermometer broken, burned pizza, could barely turn around in bathrooms, not private...curtains did not cover windows or sliding door, dust all over the place, minimal TV channels which were not even good channels, place in the middle of nowhere, NOTHING in town to do, had to travel at least an hour, the whole town closed down at 6pm, the only good thing i can say is the water pressure in the showers were great, will never return and would never recommend to anyone, VERY disappointed.

Room Tip: find somewhere else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jan753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

UNIT
Vacationland consists of numerous long log cabins, each with a number of units. All units share a back porch with Adirondack chairs. Our unit was spacious for only two people with 3 dbl beds (2 bedrooms, one loft) and 2 full baths (*Note: I can see where the space would be cramped if you actually had 6 people). The kitchen was well-stocked with the essentials as well as a few surprises such as numerous knifes, casserole dishes, serving plates, numerous sized pots and pans, etc. Everything was clean and comfortable and the water at the resort is AMAZING! No a/c but it was cool enough (even while the rest of the East Coast was mid-heat wave) at night with just the fan. The units have basic cable and wifi can be purchased for $25/wk for up to 3 computers.

LOCATION
The resort's location is less than ideal ONLY because that is how the entirety of Aroostook County is--small towns where things close at 8, everything is a minimum 30 minute drive, etc. This is NOT a problem if you have a car and are willing to drive to semi-local (~1hr+ drives) sites such as Baxter State Park (with hiking trails for ANY level), Fredericton, Bangor, etc. Birch Point is super close with its boat rentals and restaurant as well as Craig's Maine Course (on the resort's golf course). There is a small grocery in-town as well as a Hannaford-supplied store in Patten (approx. 30 min away) and a Walmart in Houlton (~45 min away). Prices are reasonable and both are pretty well stocked (this coming from a dairy-free vegetarian!), although the latter (Ellis Family Market) is a bit more so.

Houlton and Patten were the two towns suggested to us by a local and we found ample restaurants/diners (try Grammy's and Horn of Plenty) and ice cream in both! There is also a movie theatre in Houlton.

ACTIVITIES
The resort has a number of activities available to its guests each day. Attendance varies by activity and week. There are 2 small hikes (more quick walks in the wood but beautiful and highly recommended nonetheless, ESPECIALLY Shin Pond Falls) as well as food-based gatherings (wine/cheese, s'mores, coffee/donuts) for adults and/or families. For kids there is more with crafts, story-time, etc. Sarah who oversees the activities is super nice and fun and keeps things interesting for adults and children alike. She takes a ton of photos and creates collages, all of which are for sale ($3/$4) in the main office. The resort also offers a pretty extensive selection of movies for rent and offers a pool, hot tub, sauna, and game room which is coin-operated. The main lodge closes at 9 which is a bit of a bummer if you wanted a late-night swim! The resort also has a dock/picnic area on the nearby pond which is about a 15 min walk or 3 min drive. It was deserted, beautiful, and definitely a good place to wile away an afternoon.

OVERALL
Great place to stay if you are looking to get away from it all and do nothing in the peace and quiet of middle-of-nowhere ME or want a comfortable, quiet base for exploring Baxter State Park, New Brunswick, and/or the numerous small towns in "the County" as its called. Everyone was so so SO nice and accommodating, from the office staff to the tow truck driver who drove completely out of his way to drop our car at the local auto mechanic (and then drop us back at the hotel). If you want a resort with a ton of amenities and activities and lots of modern accommodations (Dunks, Bank of America, big grocery stores, etc). I would definitely consider going back and would recommend the resort to those looking for the above qualities.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Kaitly_Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

Staff was friendly and nice, but the resort didn't live up to the rating. It is old - scratched furniture, holes in curtains and small kitchen and ivingroom for 2 bedroom w/ loft. 6 barely fit around the table and filled the kitchen! The downstairs bedroom was tiny and one kitchen chair is part of the bedroom furniture. It needs more light and bring a smal fan with you to use in it. We had a dishwasher - no sponge/dishcloth for doing other types of dishes. The frig had a broken bracket and they sent away for a part, so my husband cut some wood to make the shelf stay up. $5 a day for WiFi in your condo.
The big disappointment was lake (pond?) access. Drive or walk a mile or so to a tiny picnic area with a boat dock. No sand/beach there (rocky) and too shallow to fish. Nearest beach is at Shin Pond about 25 miles away. But, a couple miles away is boat rental (you could fish from your kayak or whatever) and candle pin bowling.
It was hot when we were at the resort and the two large fans barely did the job, but the porch was cool and nice and we had a great view of the sunsets.
The kids (ages 5 and 10) spent most of their time in the pool. The tiles are extremely slippery and toys (balls, swim rings) are not allowed in the pool. They liked the game room and especially ping pong, but it is not airconditioned so it was too hot to use in the afternoons.
The restaurant at the adjoining golf course (Craig's Maine Course) was excellent food, large portions and good prices but somewhat slow service. We went back twice!
We enjoyed our stay but won't return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank GoGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ononotu
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

Vacationland Estate is very nice. The condos are clean and well stocked. The have activities to do (IE Quilt making, soap decorating) but not alot of other activities for young adults. The place is about 1 hour to Baxter, and white water rafting, and about 2 1/2 hours to St. John's (highly recommend). Vacationland is like being on the set of the movie Dirty Dancing. It's a nice place...but you have to find your own fun and be prepared to drive!!! O...and no internet access in the rooms. Have to use the main computer or take yours down to the lobby area.
P.S. The golf course.... the grounds were horrible to play on!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ononotu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

It is a very nice resort in the middle of nowhere Maine. The resort was very clean and well done. We stayed in a 2 BR with loft and didn't want for lack of A/C! There was alot to do on the property but not alot of people taking part in it. I would say this resort is for people who are outdoorsy, want to hike, boat, fish, etc. We used it as a base to see alot of New Brunswick Canada. The pool was fine, the sports equipment a nice touch, and the grounds very well kept. We walked to the dock one night on the pond (POND??? more like LAKE!) and sat on the dock and watched the lake creatures. It was very enjoyable. I regret we didn't bring things to grill (charcoal etc) and a sponge. The unit was very well outfitted exceot for the sponge. We used Jerrys market in town for grocery and it was fine - no gouging going on there. We ate at Craigs on the golf course one night and again, very reasonable and very good. All the staff at the hotel were super helpful and nice. I completely enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to someone looking for a remote location (no internet except in clubhouse) to relax, connect with nature and family.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Boppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Island Falls
19.5 mi away
Shiretown Motor Inn
Shiretown Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Houlton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
19.5 mi away
Ivey's Motor Lodge
Ivey's Motor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Houlton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Bradford House B&B
The Bradford House B&B
#1 of 1 in Patten
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacationland Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacationland Estates

Property: Vacationland Estates
Address: 70 Dow Farm Rd, Island Falls, ME 04747-4213
Location: United States > Maine > Island Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Island Falls
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Vacationland Estates Hotel Island Falls
Vacationland Estates Island Falls, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing