We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Rustic Charm in Maine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony on Frenchman's Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rustic Charm in Maine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is our 4th stay at the Colony. This year we stayed in cottage 26a . We traveled as a couple with our dog. We loved staying at the Colony. It is not a 5 star hotel. The cottages are simple, the furnishings are vintage and have not been updated, but it is CLEAN and COZY. It fits with the rustic setting of Acadia National Park. The Colony is family run. It is laid back and friendly. Jean is a sweetheart. Kyle is always helpful and accommodating. There are other family members that help run the motel and always are helpful. The location is wonderful ,you are on the water, with great views, and a short walk to the beach. The Colony does not offer a lot of frills, but if you are a "Rusticator" and enjoy the simple pleasures of Acadia National Park then this is for you. They are also very dog friendly, and our dog Harry loved his stay also. Our daughter and her husband stayed in the cottage next door and enjoyed their stay also. Thank you Kyle,

Room Tip: If you need a little extra room, choose the a side of the cottage, they have a second room with a tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capecodair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    55
    21
    8
    17
See reviews for
62
60
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We got both rooms 30a and 30 for my wife, 2 boys and my self. Very cute set up. A bit out dated for furniture but very comfortable non the less. Warm, cozy, & quite. We stayed off peak season so the complex was almost completely empty. Not sure what it would be like sharing a wall/cabin with another family. Beware of the water pressure....If not careful the shower will blast you through the wall! Haha. We enjoyed the stay and will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank iaoceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Great dog spot with beautiful sunrises and lots of walking space. Chart Room restaurant is next door and always good, and the bathroom, although small, was updated.

Beds are a little on the soft side, but everything was clean and rates are a value!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank USAAllentownPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you just saw Psycho, you might think twice, but it is actually pretty nice. Duplex cottages, so hopefully your next door neighbor just hiked Cadillac Mtn. then watched the 6 o clock news and went to bed. Clean, good beds, tiny TV...what else can I say... for $69.00 on Acadia (where the Holiday Inn is around 200 bucks), not a bad deal..

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage where the "other half" is empty..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mainer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at The Colony just the other day and I was truly pleased with not only the cute comfortable private cottages but the totally reasonable rates! I live in Ellsworth and I needed to stay in Bar Harbor for a couple of days for work and I couldn't stomach paying the outrageous rates every other hotel was offering. My husband & I only paid $75 ($65+$10 pet fee) per night, when just up the road a half mile, The Chart Room they were charging a heck of a lot more, and everything closer to downtown was over $100/night. Totally unnecessary when The Colony is right there in Hulls Cove - MINUTES from downtown Bar Harbor and with access to a private beach across the street. We truly appreciated the excellent service by the friendly staff and the clean quiet accommodations on such a last minute reservation. Our room was warm and the showers were hot with great water pressure. (just bring your own shampoo - there wasn't any in the room). We will most definitely stay there again on our next business venture on the island and we recommend it to all travelers!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaiLatte207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Texoma
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I can't rate it excellent because the furnishings are dated - still has tube TV's, but it reminded us so much of the places we used to stay while on family vacations. It's so cute and was very clean. It's minutes to Bar Harbor and the entry to Acadia. We stayed in one of the cottages and the bed was comfortable, the AC worked good, as did everything in the room. Would recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: We had a chance to view all three types of rooms so we could decided what was important for the pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Gail U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We love this motel. We have gone 4 years in a row and now book next year's visit when we check-out. We book Cottage 18. It looks out over Frenchman's Bay and has the best view, in our opinion. We love Acadia National Park and Cottage 18 has become our home base in between long bike rides, hiking and kayaking up the sea coast. Our kids LOVE the pool. It is clean, heated and such a nice place to spend an hour doing nothing. The owners and the staff are very friendly and helpful. It is clean as a whistle every year, it is really amazing they can keep it so clean. The decor is dated, just as an FYI because we don't care. Cleanliness is more important to us. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Cottage 18 has the best view, sitting on the porch early morning and at night is a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethPittsburgh_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulls Cove
2.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony on Frenchman's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony on Frenchman's Bay

Property: The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Address: # 20 rr3, Hulls Cove, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor > Hulls Cove
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Colony on Frenchman's Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Colony on Frenchman's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony On Frenchman`s Bay Hotel Hulls Cove
The Colony On Frenchman's Bay Hulls Cove, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing