We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price but old mattresses”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a really great location and the views are wonderful. Most of the motel and cabins have not been updated from what I could see but they do offer a relatively inexpensive stay as most places on Mount Desert Island are expensive. If I owned the place I would embrace the 50's cabin experience and put up 50's posters and decor on the walls thus allowing me to keep the really old furniture. However, the mattresses do need to be replaced. Very friendly people though. They do have a laundry.

Room Tip: I would not want a duplex cabin unless I had booked both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wander022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 187 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

The owners are sweet and quirky. Cottages are blend of old & new. Cottage 4's bed supports are broken & the mattress has no support - my back was unhappy. Loved the convenience of the location. LOVED being able to stroll across the street for sunrise at their little stretch of ocean front. (if you are looking for a sandy sun bathing beach you are in the wrong part of the state) LOVED the bagpiper on the cliffs - apparently a regular weekly treat for their guests. LOVED the Keurig for morning coffee (Green Mountain!!). Didn't like the coons in the attic space - but the owner was more than happy to move us next door so they could contend with the surprise guests. Second bed was Papa Bear's (too hard). WiFi was sketchy and slow - but not an issue for us since we are on vacation. Can't speak for the pool as we don't use it. Might stay again next time, might not.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishlazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've been staying at The Colony in Hulls Cove for over 16 years. There are a few motel-type units, but mostly individual cottages. The location is ideal - away from the craziness of downtown Bar Harbor, and only 1 mile from the entrance to Acadia NP - across the road from Frenchman's Bay, with wonderful water views from most every cottage. The free area shuttle will stop right out front, so you don't have to worry about a car in town or in Acadia. A family run business with the most congenial and helpful staff. Our cottage is always impeccably clean and any issues are dealt with immediately. The grounds and flower beds are beautiful, and the pool is always very clean as well. There's even a piper in full Scottish regalia walking around on Sundays playing his bagpipes. He'll stand on the rocks overlooking the water and play away. Couldn't ask for a more idyllic setting! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any of the cottages are ideal - away from the road would be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Three generations of our family have enjoyed The Colony for more than ten years. This family run place works hard to give good service in a busy location. We have stayed in several different cabins and in the motel unit as well. The rooms, pool and grounds are very clean. Even though The Colony is on the main road into Bar Harbor, it is amazingly quiet. Most units have small refrigerators and coffee service. A nice seafood restaurant is right across the street. The entrance to Acadia Park is less than a mile.

A special treat on Sundays at 5 PM is the playing of the bagpipes by a local piper. Now, find that in a chain motel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at The Colony for 2 nights in October 2012 as part of a New England fly drive from the UK. It is in an ideal location in Bar Harbor with stunning views out to sea. The accommodation is excellent, spacious and clean and this stay was one of the few places we stayed at where the wife and I had our own bedroom. A pleasant change after staying in hotel rooms that allegedly cater for a family of 4! The kids had a bed each in the main lounge area (one pull down sofa) and we had a decent sized bathroom.
In comparison to many other places locally, The Colony is very good value for money and they even accommodated us on the first night when we accidentally arrived one day early! (I'm blaming the wife for that one!)
The staff are very friendly and helpful and we wished we could have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trippingtaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Highly recommended - yes - like the others say, it is a little dated but otherwise I would say it is a stunning location. Right next to Acadia so an easy drive if you want to get up and watch the sunrise in the morning. Stunning photo opportunities right across the road on the beach too though!
I had made an error with our reservation but the owner offered me an alternative which was great - very clean and tidy and the setting is really quaint.

Wouldn't hesitate to return....

Room Tip: The cottages closest to the road would have the best view but also more traffic noise. A great find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myislandhideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Spent two nights here in early October. Picked the cottages randomly, but liked the short drive to park and downtown Bar Harbor.

First cottage 31a was clean and comfortable, the room has a double bed and a twin bed. The decor is a little dated, but reminds me of visiting Maine as a kid, classic oak or maple furniture, squeaky screen doors, etc. The bed was okay- but the shower pressure is what impressed me!

We decided to stay a second night and since we didn't have reservations, we had to move rooms which was fine, we got a cabin with a king bed and a twin bed.

This is a family run establishment and in speaking with the owners, they are planning some updates for the interiors of all the cabins.

We looked at the motel rooms while we were there. Large enough rooms, but the cabins are just vintage Maine.

Overall a great value, good service, excellent location and view.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank squintykoreantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulls Cove
2.3 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
447 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
380 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
1.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony on Frenchman's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony on Frenchman's Bay

Address: # 20 Rr3, Hulls Cove, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor > Hulls Cove
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Price Range: $102 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Colony on Frenchman's Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Colony on Frenchman's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony On Frenchman`s Bay Hotel Hulls Cove
The Colony On Frenchman's Bay Hulls Cove, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing