We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty Musty Musty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Musty Musty Musty”
Reviewed December 31, 2007

I would not recommend this place at all. When my family walked into the cottage, (which was held up by cinder blocks) we immediately sensed a damp, musty atmosphere. The windows and mirrors were fogged and the toilet paper was literally damp. Even the sheets were slightly wet. When we left the cottage, I felt the need to wash all of my clothes. I was also severely dissapointed by the total lack of tidal pools, which were advertised on the site. The only enjoyable part of my stay at the cottage was the talented bagpipe player, David Weeda, who performed a charming concert on the nearby rocks. Although Maine is well known for its rainy weather, I believe that The Colony could have done a much better job keeping the facilities sanitary. I hope you find this review helpful.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    63
    21
    9
    20
See reviews for
73
65
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2007

The Colony is well located near both Bar Harbor and Acadia. Also convenient to all other Mt. Desert Island locations. The folks are friendly and caring. Excellent view of Frenchman's bay from the facility. While the facilities are not new, they are clean and comfortable. Excellent value. Our preferred location to stay when we visit the area.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank RPGJDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton,N.B
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2007

The owner was upset because she said we had booked for the previous day, anyway we ended up getting a cottage. The cottage is very well divided, livingroom with a love seat, chair, small fridge, microwave, TV and a double bed, a separate room with 2 single beds, adjoining door for the bathroom which was really nice... the furniture is very old and somewhat dirty, terrible musty smell, you had a little deck with 2 chairs..10 minutes from Bar Harbor, next time I will spend a little more money to get a cleaner smelling place..

  • Liked — Sitting outside
  • Disliked — The musty smell coming out of the furniture and carpets.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank T-Bo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We stayed here in July, 2007 to see Acadia. We were only a few miles from Acadia and directly across the road from a typical Maine beach (gravel) that is owned by the Colony. At low tide you could walk the beach. We stayed in a two room cabin with double bed (or queen-don't remember) with a pull out sofa for our two boys. It's furniture was quite old but parts were remodeled. Plenty of closet and dresser space, air conditioning and a full kitchen with microwave and full refrigerator. Enough dishes and cooking pots to truly cook dinner with everything provided to clean up. Single shower no tub. Everything was very clean and for a family trying to save on the very expensive meals up in Maine, it was ideal. We'd stay there again. Easy access to all places of interest.

  • Liked — Kitchen
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

The place has a wonderful scenary and is great for kids. Unfortunately this is tainted by run down cottages and motel rooms and probably the most impolite service ever experienced. I am a frequent traveler and in 20 years of travel I have had not such bad experience with the staff present (not all, but a few are enough). It spolis precious vacation days. I would not recommed to stay at this place with an attitude that you either take the room or just leave, as business seems to be too good for Colony.

  • Liked — Pool and scenery
  • Disliked — Staff and accomodation
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveleradvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 24, 2003

We went for a mid-week getaway in late Oct. just to relax. For the price of most hotel rooms in the area we had a great roomy cottage right across from the water that was nice and VERY clean! Heading to Maine in late october we really didn't expect the beautiful foliage that on MDI seemed to be just past peak!! Acadia National Park was absolutely breathtaking (even on the rainy and unseasonably chilly days we were there!). And the people of MDI and The Colony are very warm and friendly! My other half is a chef so of course we explored the resteraunts that were still open. The Maine Street Resteraunt had wonderful twin lobsters for a great price, Geddy's was also delicious food for good prices. But beware of the place next door called Galyn's which was overpriced and had very mediocre food, as well as a staff who couldn't seem to keep their checks straight and put someone else's bar tab on our bill, then when we questioned it they said "Well are you sure you didn't drink these?!" But one bad experience could not ruin the beautiful people and landscapes of Mount Desert Island, we wanted to stay for good and you will too!!

Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulls Cove
2.3 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
412 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
289 reviews
1.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
2.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
655 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony on Frenchman's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony on Frenchman's Bay

Property: The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Address: # 20 rr3, Hulls Cove, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor > Hulls Cove
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Colony on Frenchman's Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Colony on Frenchman's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony On Frenchman`s Bay Hotel Hulls Cove
The Colony On Frenchman's Bay Hulls Cove, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing