We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Way Breakfast Should Be”
Review of Elm Tree Diner

Elm Tree Diner
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Houlton
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Fredericton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Way Breakfast Should Be”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Diner is not fancy but the service is fast and the staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. There is a good choice for breakfast and the servings are more than ample. The choice of home made bread is the final bit that really makes this a great place to have the first meal of the day. I

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eljello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    34
    24
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A good meal”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This was recommended to us. This is usually a good bet. I must say it was good advice. We enjoyed our lunch tremendously. I had the haystack burger and fries. Plenty of food and it was delicious. Not a disappointed person at the table. Go for good home cooked food for a good price

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trojans9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover Foxcroft, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breakfast done right”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a great experience a few days ago. I had the Southwestwern omelet and it was huge. Homemade oatmeal bread was good, although it should be cut onto thicker slices. Our waitress was attentive and overall we enjoyed it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eating2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shokan, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfort breakfast food. Reasonable prices, clean and friendly.”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

The food was well cooked; the homemade breads for French toast and regular toast were tasty. PLEASE though serve real maple syrup, not Log Cabin (charge for a little jug if need be), and get decent tea (not Lipton's) and serve it piping hot steeped - preferably in a pot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern maine
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Food cold-understaffed as usual”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I wrote about the Elm Tree Diner back in July.Tonights(10/6) dining experiece was bad in all ways except for the poor waitresses. The waitresses were excellent but had to do the work of many. It's Saturday around 5:15 PM when we arrive and are seated. The place is packed as usual for a Saturday night but there are only 2 waitresses to handle the mob of patrons. The waitress finally arrived at our table to take the order at 5:45. The food came out at 6:25. It was warm at best and it wasn't very good. We were done with the meal at 6:40 and received our check at 7:10.Turning around tables is very important for revenue. People who were waiting for a table were walking out and going somewhere else when they realized what was going on.
What is wrong with the management at this place? Two waitresses dishing out the food, tending to the cash register, bussing tables when they had the chance to and lots of people waiting to be seated. Help did eventually trickle in but this is the most disorganized restaurant I have experienced since Governor's Restaurant and the Elm Tree North closed.
If you are from out of the area and see a crowd here, keep on going 7 miles until you arrive at Grammies Restaurant in Linneus. You might have to wait for a table but the food is consistantly good and the wait staff extremely attentive to service once you are seated. And it's to bad you have to do that because the Elm Tree is a very convenient place to dine. With a couple of restaurants closing the last month, Houlton residents don't have many places left when dining out.I do hope they realize how they are alienating their patrons and maybe more importantly, their waitresses by making them carry this burden. I can only imagine it being a frustrating place to work.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spudpicker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elm Tree Diner also viewed

 

Been to Elm Tree Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing