We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely View and Great Food”
Review of Lucerne Inn

Lucerne Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Holden
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely View and Great Food”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was my second time to this restaurant that I can remember. The first when I was about 7 years old. The second was a lot more memorable. We were two couples and got a table right by the window overlooking gorgeous Phillips Lake. I and the other female diner (my cousin) in our group had the special for Tuesday: two pound lobster! It was amazing. The cook took all the work out of the lobster but leaving us the huge cracked claws and the tails halved. In spite of the size, the lobster was truly tender and sweet. My cousin, who spends most of her summer in Maine, said it was the best lobster she had had all season. It came with roasted new potatoes and corn. The new potatoes were out of this world. The corn not so great. My husband ordered the haddock which he said was delicious and my cousin's husband the veal. Overall, we were very pleased with our meals. The wait staff was attentive. I hadn't seen my relatives in a year, so we had a lot of catching up to do and were the last ones to leave, but felt no pressure to go.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwenag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    13
    10
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“You've got to be kidding”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Dinner here was awful. Simple dinner of two burgers and a shrimp cocktail were terrible. Burgers took forever to arrive. When they got to us we realized why -- the medium and medium well orders were cooked way past well done. Burgers were tiny-- together they wouldn't equal a 1/4 pounder. Shrimp cocktail was ok if you don't mind paying $10.50 for 4 medium shrimp. Service, well suffice it to say we had to get napkins ans silverware from the table next to us. Would have rather been at McDonalds.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MidwestSailor83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrington, Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve dinner”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Great food and staff/ We brought 2 young children and they were very accomodating and had food even the children enjoyed.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mckmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewer, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not like it used to be.”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

been there about 10 to 12 times,a couple of them to the brunch.the brunch was not very good.the stocking of the brunch was very bad ,had to tell the them you are out of plates so had to wait out of cocktail sauce,you get the picture. the bad part of this is the person at the carving and omlettes and waffle cooker was the one to run and stock the brunch line. p.s. sorry won't be back. richard brewer maine

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank panamacanaltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surry, Maine
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lucerne Inn”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed there once 4 years ago and really loved it. Dinner, Breakfast, room --- everything really nice. Would love to go again.

Helpful?
Thank Trudi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucerne Inn also viewed

 

Been to Lucerne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing