We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good ice cream”
Review of Pete's Pretty Good Ice Cream - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pete's Pretty Good Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Dover-Foxcroft, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good ice cream”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stopped into Pete's on the way home from Bar Harbor and had some more than "pretty good" ice cream. Being an ice cream lover, I was curious to see if the ice cream was better than Gifford's. It was. First of all, it is homemade. I had the mint chocolate chip and being unschooled in the ways of ice cream purity, thought the staff made a mistake with my order because the ice cream wasn't green. Turns out, mint green is an artificial color. Who knew? Anyway, my ice cream was minty fresh and loaded with big, substantial chips. And the price was $.50 less than the same size Gifford's cone. Staff was very friendly. I would recommend anyone on their way to or from Bar Harbor, or just out for a scenic ride stopped at Pete's for a great tasting cone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopepage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go for dessert not for dinner.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Have had ice cream in the past and it was good but tried the food menu for a late lunch early dinner and was okky disappointed. Fried Maine shrimp was hard to find on a plate of fries and was sent back as overcooked and greasy only to get fried haddock which was one small greasy piece on same plate as shrimp , not worth the price and not good to eat . Would eat elsewhere then go for ice cream

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cabinstuff11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The name says it all”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Its....well....pretty good. Not the best, not the worst, right there in the middle. I recommend the blueberry vanilla shake.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank JenzBenzE320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“SerenDIPity!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We visited in the middle of a weekday, so it was almost empty. The young lady seemingly running the place by herself was very pleasant and attentive, and gave good explanations of some of the oddly/cleverly named menu items. The food was good, especially the Lobster Sundae -- a dish of strawberry ice cream with lobster-shaped gummies.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Maine
1 review
“Boss must be away”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Grill was closed but the sign was still out by the road stating that lobster rolls etc. were available.

I had a brownie sunday. Brownies were stale, hardly any fudge and the "whipped cream" was artificial. Not impressed

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MESSHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pete's Pretty Good Ice Cream also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing