We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
57
11
1
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
11
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews covered pool fabulous villa well equipped kitchen nice house very comfortable stay a wonderful stay company retreat short walk property sintra beaches spar caterer privacy sea
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 72 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2017

Very nice house with beatiful gardens and surroundings.We have everything needed in the house, making us feel at home. The place is quite and peaceful, and is a drive away from all Lisbon area's beauties. The staff is always available for needs and very friendly.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alexbarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolDomus, Guest Relations Manager at Morada Sol, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

Thank you Alexandra for your kind words! Thank you so much for bringing your group to Morada do Sol Rental Villa in Malveira da Serra - Cascais. We are delighted that your group could enjoy our Country Home in this fabulous area.
The whole team at Morada do Sol works very hard to ensure that our guests have memorable experiences. It is very motivating when this is appreciated and the fantastic memories are shared! The covered pool has been the outstanding feature the whole year through and for when it is windy or getting fresher; this means the pool can be used comfortably up to November and from March although it is open all year! We are glad you enjoyed every single bit of the property! Thank you for your stay with us and we hope to see you again someday. We greatly enjoyed making your get together with this group a special experience.
Your Morada do Sol Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

An ideal venue for a retreat, with bedrooms and meeting rooms tumbling down a lush hillside with view of the towns and water. Nicole and her team could not do enough for us and Francisco cooked up an incredible feast. Muito obrigado!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolDomus, Guest Relations Manager at Morada Sol, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

Hello Jeremy! Thank you so much for your review about our rental Villa Morada do Sol in Malveira da Serra - Cascais. Your group had the perfect energy matching our country house and nature. We are glad you could join from all over the world to rally your new ideas during your retreat. It is always very motivating when our hard work is appreciated! We are delighted that you all left with a smile and happy memories. Thank you for your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again soon! We greatly enjoyed making your retreat truly special. Indeed Morada do Sol, with its secluded location, is an ideal base for retreats. Yet being close to many sights such as Sintra, Cascais and LIsbon, it is also an ideal base to explore from. Guincho beach being only 3km away is a great plus and is much appreciated by guests. Thank you for your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Your Morada do Sol Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

We stayed as a family of 30, renting both villas. The accommodation is well appointed, comfortable and attractive. We had no issues cooking and entertaining the full group at the top villa. The estate is extremely well kept and beautiful, as is the surrounding area. It is set in a nature reserve and a very short walk to the local village which has everything you would need at very reasonable prices. It is in a good location with quick bus/taxi/car transport to both Cascais or the many beaches in the surrounding area. It is also close to Lisbon and Sintra for other day trips. I would highly recommend this to groups who want to relax with friends and family but also be able to get out for activities and days/nights out.

Room tip: The rooms in the upper villa vary in terms of size and comfort so it is worth considering this before you assign rooms. None of them are particularly poor and some are very nice indeed.
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolDomus, Gestor at Morada Sol, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Hello Claire! We are delighted you had a wonderful experience and that you and your family enjoyed this fabulous area.
The whole team at Morada do Sol works very hard to ensure that our guests have memorable experiences. It is very motivating when this is appreciated and the fantastic memories are shared! We are continually improving Morada do Sol for our guests; recently we added a tag system for the automatic entry gate so that entry and exit for large groups is facilitated. We are also mapping fabulous walks and hikes starting at Morada Sol, and going to the beach, coastline and magnificent Sintra hills.
Thank you for your stay with us and we hope to see you again someday. We greatly enjoyed making your vacation truly special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017

The furniture is dated throughout the property. Our bedroom was actually a study with built-in desks (no closets), two twin beds pushed together, two flimsy pillows and no screen on the window. The wind was constant day and night, which prohibited us from dining outside for dinner. Ants were all over the house, including tin he beds and kitchen. Our group cleaned up the kitchen after each meal, but that did not deter the ants.

A car is definitely needed to get around to explore the area, along with a key to get in and out of the electronic gate on the property. There is nothing to see in the village, but there are a few restaurants. Lisbon is about 30 min. away, but parking in the city is difficult in the summer. Our group had 5 cars and 3 of them were towed in various beach towns, Fines were about 160 Euros.

On the plus side, the property was clean when we arrived, and we noticed a midweek cleaning of the bathrooms and kitchen.

Room tip: There is one master bedroom with a bathroom in the large house - the others are inferior.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 841seaside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolDomus, Manager at Morada Sol, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay which took us by surprise as we obtained a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor; normally we get great feedback so we looked carefully into what went wrong here. Our team works hard to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay; normally should something go wrong (as the appearance of ants in this case) we are at hand to resolve this quickly as all it takes is to store food properly and sensible preventative measures as the property is in the country. The location is one of the features our guests normally love the most. The property is not all Ikea decorated and has many "vintage " features which are shown in the pictures and part of its unique charm much loved by most guests; the type of decoration is evident in the pictures in our website. We are very sorry that your cars got towed away and it was windy during your stay; these issues are outside of our control but we can certainly help with information about where it is safe to park or other useful information our guests may require. We strive to give a personal service and are at hand to provide local information to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2017

What an amazing and unique spot with extremely helpful and kind employees. We travelled to Portugal for a field hockey team training weekend. Therefore, our needs were specific and we had a lot of questions regarding the accommodations and possibilities. There was a lot of email traffic back and forth between myself and the people of Morada do Sol. They always answered my questions promptly and it was never too much. Very accommodating before we even arrived. Upon arriving, Ruben met us at the gate. Very kind and helpful young man. Speaks perfect English and was able to explain everything about all the 'appartments'. Not a detail was missed.
The grounds were beautiful and no surprise as the villas and the property is located in the middle of national park terrain. The villas were wonderful and had all the necessities for cooking, relaxing, swimming (great pool), sunning (lounge chairs) etc. Enough showers and bathrooms as well. Large eating area. Great outdoor bbq which we also used. We did most of our shopping at the Lidl in the center of town but there is a smaller grocery shop walking distance from the villas. They are also located very close to Lisbon (30 minutes by car) so it's ideal to combine your coastal visit with a city experience. A great experience. Highly recommend a visit here! We had beautiful weather 16 - 19 Feb but it can rain during this period as well. Without the sun during this period it does get chilly! But during the day, it was beautiful.
Outside of the summer months, the villas can get cold. Extra blankets can be found in the closets and cabinets. In addition, sometimes when arriving you find 'leftovers' from other visitors i.e. spices, olive oil,.coffee, filters etc. When we arrived there were only coffee filters! So make sure you purchase what you need. THat being said, the villas are very clean upon arrival! :) Thanks for a great stay! RW DAMES 1

Room tip: Villas are divided into apartments. Depends on how many people you are travelling with.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews