We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Charming, Watching Lobster Boats Working”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpswell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Harpswell B&B and Inns
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
“Quiet and Charming, Watching Lobster Boats Working”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Recent stay here, well maintained bed and breakfast, bedrooms very clean and well stocked in the bathrooms, everything needed if you forgot to pack. Great to lie in bed and be able to watch the lobster boats hed out to work in the morning. great place to relax without the TV blasting, Owners Ken and Donna where very friendly and provided interesting conversation,
Donnas breakfast of eggs benedic, where cooked just right, fresh fruit also served, plenty of coffee to start the day, looking forward to staying here again, when we return for 5oth high school reunion

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbabash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    3
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro N.C.
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The B+B is an old captain's house in a terrific location right in Cundy's harbor with beautiful views from across the street of the harbor,lobster boats etc. The inn itself has several rooms with a dining room where breakfast is served. There is no tv or internet. The owners are both very pleasant and helpful when discussing the area for dining, outings etc. Both have good local knowledge. The breakfast was just average but plentiful. Overall a nice experience with caring owners.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We vacationed in Maine this July and spent part of our week at this B&B -- it was our third visit in as many years. Donna and Ken are always so gracious, pleasant and helpful from reservations to checkout. We stayed in different room than previous visits but found it to be as comfortable and relaxing as the rooms we had stayed in previously. Breakfast was superb (sour cream blueberry pancakes one day and individual omelets the other) and the conversation with the other guests was interesting and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Calais, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We were in search of an historic, authentic Maine coast experience - and we found it!
Donna and Ken have thought of everything - the rooms are cozy and homey and spotless,
the food was first rate - better omelets than we had in France and sublime sour cream pancakes (and Donna shares the recipe!)

These are folks who are experts at what they do, they made us feel so welcome and
and comfortable and were so helpful in their suggestions. We wanted to move into the Captain's Watch and stay there forever!
Jane Eakin & Greg Bogdanich

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneEakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesburg, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I have traveled the globe with Ice Capades and Disney on Ice for over 20 years, and this beautiful B&B was the best lodging experience I have ever had ! The Captains Watch is a very clean, quiet, and comfortabe place to stay.....I didn't want to leave, so I stayed an extra nite ! Donna and Ken are by far the best hosts ever ! The food was fantastic and the company was warm and welcoming. I definitly recommend this wonderful establishment to anyone in search of a home away from home experience !

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

This is a jewel of a B & B! Donna Dillman has thought of everything to make one`s stay a delight. We stayed in Cupola East heading up the coast and Harborview coming back (they both have views of the little harbor). The rooms are tastefully furnished, and the breakfasts are really,really good. This place is the perfect combinatin of homey comfort with just enough elegance to make it very special.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citycat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

As all of the reviews say, Ken & Donna are wonderful hosts. The B&B is very clean, which is a must for me before I'll even take off my shoes! The breakfasts were yummy. My only complaint was the room itself. Our room was Harbor View. The bed was very uncomfortable. Usually beds at B&B are very soft and comfy. Not so for this one. There was one easy chair in the room that was so well used that it felt like you were sitting on the bare frame. I cannot speak for the other rooms but from what I saw, they appeared to be quite nice. Ours gets a zero for comfort.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritawoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captainswatch, Owner at The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
To our perspective guests, we would like to address the above comments. We only found out about the perceived problems after checking our reviews. Please know we can and would have adjusted the firmness of the bed (we have toppers to add to any mattress for anyone wishing a softer sleeping surface, however many guests appreciate a good firm mattress). We pride ourselves with accommodating our guests individual needs. We are sorry that no reference was made to the beautiful broad view over the water and sparkling sunrises right from this bed. Without our knowing, the occasional chair (a swivel leather recliner) had been lowered to a point which allowed the pedestal support to be felt when one sat...easily fixed....but to avoid this problem again, the chair has been replaced by a comfy wing back chair. We hope that you will know any comfort that these folks felt was lacking has been corrected. We are B&B hosts for over 25 years and care about our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpswell
7.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
9.4 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
402 reviews
12.0 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quahog Bay Inn in Harpswell, Maine
2.3 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
438 reviews
6.1 mi away
Stonehouse Manor at Popham Beach B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast
Address: 926 Cundys Harbor Rd, Harpswell, ME 04079-4511
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Harpswell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harpswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Captain's Watch Bed And Breakfast Harpswell, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing