We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceptional”

Dolphin Marina & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Harpswell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: I have photos available. Their specialty is fish chowder.
maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“exceptional”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was a great experience on many levels. The drive down the peninsula, the building itself is lovely, the views on three sides, the staff...and yes, the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluecove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    114
    33
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harpswell, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surrounded by the Sea”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We eat at the Dolphin frequently and always have a fine meal. The seafood is cooked perfectly, the wait staff is friendly, and the view is breathtaking.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpswell, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Visit Dolphin Marina in Harpswell”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The food is good, the service friendly and the view extraordinary, especially at sunset. May have to wait some time on a summer weekend, but if the weather is good it is a delight to sit on the deck imbiding one's favorite beverage. Although a long drive from Brunswick, it is well worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harpswell139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpswell, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In the Heart of Maine's "Gold Coast"....”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This "real Maine" vs. "Mass North" aka Ogunquit" restaurant is known among the locals as having the best chowders and stews of any restaurant on the Maine coast. The location is at the terminus of the bayside access road with spectacular views via the grounds or interior of surrounding islands, adjacent peninsula's, and ocean. The restaurant itself is newly constructed and 4X the size of the original. If you are journeying from afar, consult your Maine Delorme Atlas so as to make a visit to LL Bean in Freeport, ME as part of your coastal excursion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HD74Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“amazing lobster stew and sunset”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

After a lovely week in Harpswell, we took the long road to the Dolphin Marina and Restaurant. Wish we had gone every day. The lobster stew was unbelievable with gigantic chunks of lobster meat. The view and sunset was beautiful, got a few photos while waiting for our entree. Of course we had lobster every day and this was the best lobster we had while in Maine. The only dish that was not very good was my special and the manager not only took it off our bill, but also offered a replacement and asked, and seemed to care, what I didn't like about it. Well, I sure do love to critique food so that made me very happy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kansaskayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Marina & Restaurant also viewed

 
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Dolphin Marina & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing