We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular 180 degree views of open ocean”

Dolphin Marina & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Harpswell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: I have photos available. Their specialty is fish chowder.
Waterville, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Spectacular 180 degree views of open ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I lived in Harpswell, Maine for 12 years, raised my kids there, and hope to someday settle there for good. The 14 mile drive from Brunswick is worth every inch. "The Dolphin," as we call it, began as a small diner-type eatery meant for the fishermen putting out of the marina there. There was honey pine on the walls, small ship-styled wall lamps over each table and views to the water and boats. Many people boat there, docking and walking up to the restaurant. The smaller Dolphin chrysalis has become the siren butterfly, a spectacular new restaurant, with all the shingle style Maine features that keeps it original to its roots. Every table has a view to an island or peninsula or open ocean. The food is fresh, locally caughtt for the most part (salmon), and prettily served. Local beer, good wine and even local coffee is served. Unique to the Dolphin is chowder with a house made blueberry muffin. The chowder is beloved (although a tad pricey, given low lobster prices the past few years), and good luck getting the recipe to either. People have been trying for years. This is an experience on every sensory level. If you lovve the ocean as I do, get out there an d linger.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    111
    33
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food even greater view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Ate Sunday lunch here and the food was great. The view is without a doubt one of the best in Maine and the restaurant is laid out to provide the maximum view from any table. The service was the best I have ever experienced, everyone was making sure that our visit was the best. My food and my companions were both excellent and even the after dinner coffee was terrific. Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mainer116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. VA
Level Contributor
209 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Spectacular location, and food to match!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Had my grandmother's 100th birthday lunch here. We had a wonderful experience. The food was delicious and fresh. Lobster stew amazing, blueberry muffins were "out of this world" and Cesar salad with lobster was incredible. The staff was terrific. I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tntcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
119 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Special Place on the PLANET!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

First visited several years ago while doing a coastal Maine 'chowdah' trip with friends- and had most delightful lunch @ the 'first Dolphin'. Summer 2012 found me @ the NEW Dolphin, and the views are more than worth the drive, whether from Portland, Boston, or further away!! The FISH chowder has always been the BEST- and having a Maine blueberry muffin 'on the side' brings the best of Maine back. Just consider me yet 'another exported Mainer' who lives in the Rockies, and gets back for renewals on occasion. Of course, 'salt air breezes' , blue skies, and island views complete my picture!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank savvychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I come for the Chowder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I've been enjoying the chowder and blueberry muffins at the Dolphin since the late 60's when we used to walk to beach at low tide from my Grandparents shore house. They have perfected their recipe, and you don't mess with a winning formula. The lobster roll is classic down east; just lobster and mayo on a toasted roll; perfection.

The decor retains it's quaint charm, with lovely views across Potts Harbor. This is a working marina, so there is often activity on the docks, which only adds to the experience especially for non-mariners. I believe hours change with the seasons, so be sure to check. The drive down is lovely but the disappointment of finding the restaurant closed, especially after dreaming of chowder, makes the precaution necessary.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank njmapgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Marina & Restaurant also viewed

 
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
 
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
Bailey Island, ME
 

Been to Dolphin Marina & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing