We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view - a shame the food has detriorated under "new mgmt"”

Holbrook's Lobster Grille and Snack Bar
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Harpswell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Charming lobster grille and snack bar on wharf overlooking fishing port in Cundy's Harbor, Maine.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful view - a shame the food has detriorated under "new mgmt"”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I had heard food was heavy and greasy but love the location so gave it a try. Nice people behind the counter ( we were the only patrons late afternoon). Husband had fried shrimp, fries and cole slaw - fries limp and perhaps undercooked but greasy. Cole slaw almost tasteless. I had buffalo chicken wrap and onion rings. So sorry to say wrap was ordinary, very heavy tortilla wrap, limp lettuce and not much chicken. The onion rings a big disappointment as dripping in grease. I hope the new management reads these reviews and fixes things. It is a shame to have this gem of a spot go under. The wharf is quintessential Maine and worth the seeking out. I'd like to hear a turnaround review before returning.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    34
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewiston, Maine
1 review
“If you like the taste of grease, you will love this place.”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife ordered the Haddock Wrap with Onion Rings, and I ordered the Fish & Chips... (Haddock with French Fries). The Haddock was soaked in grease, and the fries were as limp as a spaghetti noodle. The Cole Slaw that came with the meals had little, or no dressing, so if you like the taste of raw carrots and cabbage, or if you have a pet rabbit at home, then ask for a Doggie... errr... Rabbit Bag, so you can take it home.

Why is it that when a place says that it is under, "New Management", that it is assumed that the food or service will be better. Probably the food was better before the "New Management" took over.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moriah
Level Contributor
104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yummy food and great scenery”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Holbrooks is a Maine oceanside dining experience. Lobster roll with fries were so yummy and priced most reasonably. The seating is outdoors on the wharf, looking at Cundy's Harbor and the boats going by. What more could you ask for?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicolepb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Maine
Level Contributor
177 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice view but that's all. .”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We have eaten here several times and it was always good - friendly staff, clean, etc. However, we learned today that it is under new ownership and it shows. We ordered for 2 adults (chicken caesar wrap, clam chowder and crab roll) and for 1 child (chicken basket - adult size). Most meals come as baskets with french fries or choice of onion rings for $1 more and coleslaw (tiny cup). You can bring in your own alcoholic beverages as they do not sell them. It takes a bit to get the food and would be better for them to use a number system rather than names as it can be difficult to understand the names they are calling. We went to check on our order as people around us who had ordered several minutes after us (like 10) were already eating and we hadn't been called and we thought perhaps we didn't hear them call the name as there was alot of talking and laughing on the dock. The kind girl behind the window asked another worker (in a black tee shirt that said "Security" on it) and he shouted "that's how it is". . She said "the person is at the window" and he said "what's the name", she told him and he shouted he was putting it up now. The tray came to the window and we said there was an order of clam chowder missing and "Security" slapped it onto the tray, spilling it and walked away. We asked if there was a problem and he walked off. Another person came to the window and asked if everything was okay, the girl said she would take care of it, we said "ask "Security" and the other gentleman said he would speak with him. If he didn't want to work there, he should not be. Customers are the livelihood of a successful business and should be treated better than that. Food was okay - chowder was good, chicken caesar wrap was good but they brown the wrap like a panini and it cooked the lettuce, making it hot and wilted/slimy. Chicken in it was good. Coleslaw was missing and it came with onion rings rather than fries. We probably won't be back after that experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Momof2inMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Too greasy”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Holbrook's is located in a very scenic fishing harbor, which you can look out on from the deck if you eat outside. We had been one time before--last year--and we noticed a sign that they are under new management now. The fried fish and fried scallops were tasty but way too greasy, as if they didn't have the cooking oil at the right temperature. I liked the batter-dipped onion rings but, again, they were soaking in grease. The cole slaw had almost no dressing, so no taste. One last thing--we didn't hear them call us when our order was ready, so it sat until we went back to investigate. Their PA system might have been turned off at the time; it was on a bit later. Al in all, the fish itself and the batter tasted good but the cooking and operation seemed sloppy. We will not be going back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holbrook's Lobster Grille and Snack Bar also viewed

Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
 
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
 
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Holbrook's Lobster Grille and Snack Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing