We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
62
6
1
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
6
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster full kitchen private deck bedroom suite an affordable price no doubt fresh muffins stayed longer well equipped kitchen beautiful place large windows my wife and i comfortable bed jane dock nest boats
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 72 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We extended our stay for a third night because we just were not ready to leave! It was great to find someplace with a full kitchen and space to spread out that did not require a full week's rental. Innkeeper Jane and her family made us feel at home and were so kind to our children. We rented their boat one day and enjoyed exploring the bay. The waterfront view from the porch, kitchen, living room and bedroom was magnificent! We enjoyed relaxing and watching Osprey and bald eagles flying among the trees. The inn is located by a lobster dock which was scenic and interesting to watch. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chastravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

If you are looking for a "out-of-the-way", secluded and quiet property, on the water overlooking a small harbor, this is it. The rooms are clean. We had the "Osprey 2", a 2 bedroom, 1 bath, kitchen, dining AND living room unit and LARGE deck. Simple, basic, clean, with great views of harbor from inside and out on the deck.

This is not a boutique inn, but as stated above, a nice, simple inn. I took my elderly parents whom enjoyed the serenity and beauty. Morning coffee/breakfast on the deck overlooking a quiet harbor was sublime, and beckoning to linger, to do nothing but soak in the beauty. Again, quiet is the keyword here.

The inn has kayaks for exploring the surrounding bays. This is also a good base for exploring the area by car. One drawback is that most restaurants are 15 - 20 minutes.

I look forward to a return visit in the future with my wife.

The Casco Bay noon sightseeing cruise from nearby Bailey Island is well worth the time.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MountainJitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We recently stayed for 4 nights at the Quahog Inn on a long trip to Maine from the UK – and couldn’t have been more delighted with the whole place. We were in the Dockside apartment which has a charming little deck where you can sit out and watch the fishing boats coming and going on the Sound in front of you (as well as seals, cormorants and more). The Inn is off the beaten track (but easy to find) and so is quiet and completely unspoilt – making for an utterly relaxed and peaceful experience.

Our apartment was huge for the two of us, and really well-appointed with a very thoughtfully equipped kitchen. The bedroom’s large and comfortable and the sitting room is huge which is helpful if you do hit any bad weather. The whole apartment has huge picture windows too, meaning you have fantastic views out onto the picturesque Sound in every direction – incredibly beautiful. We found all the space was such a pleasure after staying in B&Bs for a week.

We were able to spread out and take it easy, the mornings drifting by happily reading and sunning ourselves on the deck. We found excellent walks and places to eat nearby and loved the whole of the Harpswell area – and Brunswick is a charming small town nearby to visit, too.

But what makes this wonderful place even more special are the people. Jane is the most delightful manager and makes delicious muffins or pastries every morning, spread out with coffees and teas, a really generous array. And she’s so helpful and pleasant in making sure you have everything you need, as well as advice on places to eat and visit locally. You really do arrive a stranger and leave a friend and talking with her – and the family – is a pleasure, not just a formality you go through.

In all this was a great find – and we only finally prised ourselves away by promising we’d return again sometime soon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojoDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Having spent over a week hopping about between Boston, Cape Cod, Newport and Kennebunkport, it was delightful to spend 2 days relaxing at Quahog Bay. The view from The Crow's Nest is spectacular; we could happily have sat there for the duration of our stay but we did stir ourselves to do some hiking in this delightful part of Maine.
Breakfast is taken with the family and the freshly baked pastries, cakes and scones were delicious. I am hard-pressed to find fault but some wine glasses in our apartment would have been nice!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeminab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Wow, a spectacular location. The views of the water are incredible. You are 20 feet from a working lobster fishing dock. The lobster fisherman come to the breakfast location for food and talk about the fishing, the lobsters, and their boats. You can walk twenty feet and be face to face with a big wall of lobster traps, and off the the left just a little bit is a small shed where the lobsters are kept after they are caught. You would not want to be a lobster up here, the colorful buoys marking the lobster traps are everywhere.

Fresh cookies or muffins or scones or apple pie style pastries were baked fresh each morning we were here (June 18 and June 19). Very tasty, excellent when warm.

Rooms were spacious - we were in the "crows nest" and "osprey" rooms.

We talked with the owner each day with breakfast, very nice person!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyD_Cup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews