We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, pristine space for four”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quahog Bay Inn in Harpswell, Maine
Ranked #2 of 4 Harpswell B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised with the space of the Osprey 1 suite. There was plenty of space for our family of four - kids being 17 an 12. The space was immaculate and inviting. The only thing I will say is be prepared to hear the lobster boats heading out at an early hour. It wasn't loud at all but my husband is a light sleeper and it woke him up.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Quahog Bay Inn in Harpswell, Maine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 70 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

We extended our stay for a third night because we just were not ready to leave! It was great to find someplace with a full kitchen and space to spread out that did not require a full week's rental. Innkeeper Jane and her family made us feel at home and were so kind to our children. We rented their boat one day and enjoyed exploring the bay. The waterfront view from the porch, kitchen, living room and bedroom was magnificent! We enjoyed relaxing and watching Osprey and bald eagles flying among the trees. The inn is located by a lobster dock which was scenic and interesting to watch. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chastravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

If you are looking for a "out-of-the-way", secluded and quiet property, on the water overlooking a small harbor, this is it. The rooms are clean. We had the "Osprey 2", a 2 bedroom, 1 bath, kitchen, dining AND living room unit and LARGE deck. Simple, basic, clean, with great views of harbor from inside and out on the deck.

This is not a boutique inn, but as stated above, a nice, simple inn. I took my elderly parents whom enjoyed the serenity and beauty. Morning coffee/breakfast on the deck overlooking a quiet harbor was sublime, and beckoning to linger, to do nothing but soak in the beauty. Again, quiet is the keyword here.

The inn has kayaks for exploring the surrounding bays. This is also a good base for exploring the area by car. One drawback is that most restaurants are 15 - 20 minutes.

I look forward to a return visit in the future with my wife.

The Casco Bay noon sightseeing cruise from nearby Bailey Island is well worth the time.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MountainJitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We recently stayed for 4 nights at the Quahog Inn on a long trip to Maine from the UK – and couldn’t have been more delighted with the whole place. We were in the Dockside apartment which has a charming little deck where you can sit out and watch the fishing boats coming and going on the Sound in front of you (as well as seals, cormorants and more). The Inn is off the beaten track (but easy to find) and so is quiet and completely unspoilt – making for an utterly relaxed and peaceful experience.

Our apartment was huge for the two of us, and really well-appointed with a very thoughtfully equipped kitchen. The bedroom’s large and comfortable and the sitting room is huge which is helpful if you do hit any bad weather. The whole apartment has huge picture windows too, meaning you have fantastic views out onto the picturesque Sound in every direction – incredibly beautiful. We found all the space was such a pleasure after staying in B&Bs for a week.

We were able to spread out and take it easy, the mornings drifting by happily reading and sunning ourselves on the deck. We found excellent walks and places to eat nearby and loved the whole of the Harpswell area – and Brunswick is a charming small town nearby to visit, too.

But what makes this wonderful place even more special are the people. Jane is the most delightful manager and makes delicious muffins or pastries every morning, spread out with coffees and teas, a really generous array. And she’s so helpful and pleasant in making sure you have everything you need, as well as advice on places to eat and visit locally. You really do arrive a stranger and leave a friend and talking with her – and the family – is a pleasure, not just a formality you go through.

In all this was a great find – and we only finally prised ourselves away by promising we’d return again sometime soon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojoDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Having spent over a week hopping about between Boston, Cape Cod, Newport and Kennebunkport, it was delightful to spend 2 days relaxing at Quahog Bay. The view from The Crow's Nest is spectacular; we could happily have sat there for the duration of our stay but we did stir ourselves to do some hiking in this delightful part of Maine.
Breakfast is taken with the family and the freshly baked pastries, cakes and scones were delicious. I am hard-pressed to find fault but some wine glasses in our apartment would have been nice!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeminab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Wow, a spectacular location. The views of the water are incredible. You are 20 feet from a working lobster fishing dock. The lobster fisherman come to the breakfast location for food and talk about the fishing, the lobsters, and their boats. You can walk twenty feet and be face to face with a big wall of lobster traps, and off the the left just a little bit is a small shed where the lobsters are kept after they are caught. You would not want to be a lobster up here, the colorful buoys marking the lobster traps are everywhere.

Fresh cookies or muffins or scones or apple pie style pastries were baked fresh each morning we were here (June 18 and June 19). Very tasty, excellent when warm.

Rooms were spacious - we were in the "crows nest" and "osprey" rooms.

We talked with the owner each day with breakfast, very nice person!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyD_Cup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

This place is great -- hanging out by the water, kayaking, a fabulous vacation spot that you can make almost anything you like out of. The accommodations are apartment-like, very comfortable, a place one could easily spend a week. Fresh lobster. Kind and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpswell
13.6 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
369 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
15.4 mi away
Inn At Diamond Cove
Inn At Diamond Cove
#12 of 20 in Portland
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
412 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quahog Bay Inn in Harpswell, Maine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quahog Bay Inn in Harpswell, Maine

Address: Lobster Lane, Harpswell, ME 04079
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Harpswell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harpswell
Price Range: $217 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean front one and two bedroom suites on a deep water dock overlooking a small working lobster pound. Conveniently located 20 minutes from Bath and Brunswick and 30 minutes from Freeport Maine. All suites have amazing views of Quahog and Casco Bay along with private decks, private baths, fully equipped kitchens, and living areas. Canoes, kayaks, and boats available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Quahog Bay Inn in Harpswell, Maine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quahog Bay Inn In Harpswell, Maine Hotel Harpswell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing