We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite at the end”
Review of Harpswell Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpswell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harpswell Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Harpswell B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Suite at the end”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Agree with others in terms of the Inn overall, so will focus on our room, the Coveside suite. It has two open floors. The upper is the bedroom with full bath (although there is no door, it is visually separated) and the lower contains the kitchen, living area and 1/2 bath (with a fold-out sofa). It is one of the most spacious "rooms" I have had at a B&B. The suite is at the far end of the building, so completely private, with large windows looking across a lawn through birches to the cove. We were there on a cold weekend, but a gas stove heated the space nicely. Furnishings are simple, but detailing of woodwork is extensive, making it an attractive space. It was lovely for our family of four (two girls shared the fold-out), and it would also make an attractive romantic retreat for a couple.

One comment about the breakfast, which some have criticized. Perhaps not the best ever, but pretty good, and served quickly (presumably partially pre-prepared, which might explain both aspects).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    14
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
19
60
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The place is really gorgeous and don't be fooled by the drive in from the main road. The view are spectacular and wished I had spent more time there than the 1 night. The owners are great and the living room of the main area is really cozy and is very very kid friendly. We stayed in the Captains Quarters and had an awesome view and it included a kitchen to boot. The room looked into middle bay and had a great view. The room was comfortable, warm and nothing spectacular but the bathroom did have a jacuzzi tub.
The best part of the inn is the views outside... The look out bay is beautiful and we had a wonderful time going to the two islands during low tide and collecting shells and looking for blue glass!. I would have given 5 stars if the breakfast aspect of the B&B actually was on par with the Bed part of it. The breakfast was a let down as it was not very tasty and was more freezer fresh rather than farm fresh. I was not expecting a gourmet breakfast but just a farm house style hearty one! Next time, I will just skip the breakfast and just stay there for the views!

Room Tip: Stay in the captains quarters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelRaj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We arrived about 10:00 PM on a Friday night after a GPS "scare" in which our GPS insisted we had arrived - in front of a ramshackle farm house - which turned out to be about 200 yards from our actual destination. If you come here, be sure to drive on when the GPS says "stop".

We had mostly positive feelings about the Harpswell Inn. It's a picture book white clapboard New England inn in a beautiful setting on the water, with lobster boats in the little harbor just down the hill from the inn. But we got too many mixed signals. The entry had a a decidedly musty smell, not particularly welcoming. Once past this gauntlet you entered a nice, warm spacious (non smelly) great room with a big fireplace, comfy couches and a stack of jigsaw puzzles and other diversions. Our third floor room was spacious and once the fog lifted we enjoyed some water views. The bed was nicely appointed but the mattress was a bit saggy.

Breakfast was a disappointment - both mornings. This is a shame because one of the main points of differentiation for bed and breakfasts versus commercial hotels is, well, BREAKFAST! It costs very little more to offer a special breakfast, made with care and top quality ingredients, served with flair by warm attentive staff. Our first morning we were greeted by two indifferent staffers who insisted on discussing various medical ailments just a few feet from our seats. The coffee and juice were so so, the coffee cake a soggy bit if blueberry soaked stuff, and the eggs benedict were at best mediocre, with soggy english muffins and grainy sauce. One muffin even came without the requisite slice of canadian bacon. Next day's blueberry pancakes were not much better although the lobster quiche my wife ordered was exceptional, with plenty of lobster chunks and nice light quiche and crust The staff had seemed to perk up as well.

Despite these obvious flaws we had a very enjoyable stay and we would recommend this inn, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rwbloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We enjoyed our one-night stay at the Harpswell Inn so much that we stayed a second--and then a third. Our room was large and comfortable and breakfast was different every day and delicious every time. There is much to see and do in the area so we were never bored. The inn has canoes available for guests and we took advantage of it, exploring the coves and bays nearby.

The location is very nice--right on the water at the end of a road. It is quiet and secluded with an operating lobster dock next door and lobster boats anchored in the bay. We thought the price was reasonable, as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMCMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
1,051 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed three nights at this quaint and charming inn, loving every minute of it. The innkeepers, Ann and Richard, made certain we felt welcome at all times and went out of their way to make sure we knew about the local attractions and restaurants.

We stayed in the Lilac Room on the second floor. It was tastefully appointed with all sorts of lilac-themed prints and wallpapers and was furnished such that we felt we had stepped back in time, but with modern conveniences. And the bed...we are lovers of Marriott's beds, always looking forward to their luxury. Our bed in the Lilac Room is in the same class as Marriott's beds! Simply a wonderully comfortable bed that kept calling our name!

Breakfast was different and wonderful each morning. The sideboard always was full of juices and cereals with the day's homemade bakery item. Then we were given two choices for the rest of breakfast. Our first day's choices were: poached eggs or Belgian waffles? We both chose the eggs which came out on sliced and toasted English muffins, sided with fruit and sausage. So very delicious! Each day was a new selection and each time it was delicious!

The inn has a large common room with several comfy chairs, a couch, a table with a puzzle to work and a baby grand piano. This room has a great view of the bay and is a warm and inviting place to spend some quality time. Breakfast is served in rooms adjacent to the common room.

The Casco Bay is just 100 yards or so from the inn. We walked down there several times; to chat with Albert at the lobster dock, to watch the sunset, and to simply just enjoy the seaside. (Albert was so very paitent with us...answering all our questions about lobstering and giving us great tips on what to see and do while in Harpswell.)

Speaking about the location....Harpswell is rich with history, serving as a ship-building and fishing center back in the 1700s. Also, we found several headstones of Revolutionary War veterans in local cemeteries...showing one of the ways Harpswell contributed to our independence. Harpswell is also centrally located for other nearby attractions such as whale watching, lighthouse visits and maritime history museums.

We simply loved our visit here and the Harpswell Inn, along with its innkeepers Ann and Richard, were key to this great visit. Love this place!

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors have better views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNM1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Dick and his wife are super warm and friendly innkeepers and we were immediately comfortable at the Harpswell Inn. It's a very old building with modern updates, but retains plenty of charm. Crooked hallways upstairs and lots of interesting angles in our room. vaulted ceilings, sky lights, a jetted tub, very good linens. Perfectly clean and comfortable, and very quiet and peaceful. Our room had a small terrace and a modest view of the water. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caleb_Caldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Harpswell Inn. The breakfasts were very good, danish and blueberry cake were delicious. We stayed in a smaller room on the third floor, it was quaint but aging a bit. The Innkeepers do seem to live in the common area so not the most private of settings.
The view of the bay with lobster boats and seagulls about is charming and a perfect Maine setting.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are most private but you have to climb the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyMagsKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpswell
7.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
7.3 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
7.9 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
6.6 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harpswell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harpswell Inn

Property: Harpswell Inn
Address: 108 Lookout Point Rd, Harpswell, ME 04079-3036
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Harpswell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harpswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the sea on one of Maine's most famous finger peninsulas, historical Harpswell Inn at Lookout Point dominates a knoll overlooking a quaint cove which serves as a snug harbor for lobster boats. Only 8 miles from Bowdoin College in Brunswick, the 2 1/2 acres of expansive oak-shaded lawns offer an exciting and endless selection of sights, sounds and activities to delight our guests. Furnished with antiques, the Inn offers casual elegance and comfortable ambience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harpswell Hotel Harpswell
Harpswell Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing