We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Ruth & Wimpy's

Ruth & Wimpy's
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Hancock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A great rusticated Maine restaurant where you can get a reasonably priced lobsta dinner and the best homemade pie anywhere. The personnel are always great and Wimpy is a neat guy. I love it there. No trip to Bar Harbor is complete without a stop at Ruth & Wimpy's (and I haven't got a dime in this).
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The locals recommended this place, so we took a chance. It was very busy when we went for dinner, cannot remember which night it was, but not a weekend. The service was slow, the food mediocre, at best. The only good thing was the dessert. The "All American Pie" was delicious.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlrosado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    44
    7
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cooperstown, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Now I remember why we didn't remember this place . . .”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is our second time here. The first time was 5 years ago. This time, I thought, 'hmm. I remember this place, but I don't remember the meal.' Now, I remember why. But, first, the decor . . . classless, not cute. The ceiling is littered with corny and tasteless bumper stickers. I'm glad my 14 month-old can't read. The walls are covered with somebody's collection of beer bottles, license plates and model cars.

I chose something simple: Lobster Roll. It came on a buttered and toasted piece of bread, three pickle slices and a small bag of ruffled chips poured onto the plate. The lobster tasted OK, but was the equivalent amount of a hot dog. The bread was very greasy. I didn't touch the pickles and the chips were as you would expect from a vending machine. I was still hungry, needless to say.

My wife got the "Grilled Chicken". It was two pieces of boneless, frozen chicken that had been seared in a pan. No herbs. No spices. And, it was pink in the middle. It came with a baked (dehydrated) potato that had clearly been in the oven for no less than 12 hours. In a separate side dish was a small bowl of microwaved canned green beans.

Now, we didn't expect anything special. But, how hard would it be to put a little more effort into the food? Fresh green beans. Fresh chicken. Maybe a little salt and pepper. Really, just terrible.

Don't be fooled by the busy parking lot at this place. Don't waste your hard earned money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Desert, Maine
Level Contributor
220 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“authentic”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I just love the ambiance and service at this no nonsense eatery. Great food, reasonable prices and terrific people. Love the Philly Cheese Steaks...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JH928S4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodway, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Right Price”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Delicious seafood. Loved the downhome food and atmosphere. Definitely where the locals go.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank LaurelandDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The service was slow, the lobster poor, the soggy corn inedible, don't touch anything that calls itself a wing, it was never attached to any bird. Not for the faint of heart. A real tourist trap.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Laps848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth & Wimpy's also viewed

Hancock, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Hancock, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Hancock, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Trenton, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Ruth & Wimpy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing