We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely in our top 10 meals”

The Crocker House Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Hancock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $39
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely in our top 10 meals”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I don't normally write reviews, but we can't stop thinking about this restaurant now that vacation is over. This is a restaurant in a charming B & B, open to the public for dinner only. We had scallops, steak, lamb, and pork and each meal was prepared perfectly -- melt-in-your-mouth delicious. The portions were almost TOO big, so if you eat here, be prepared to take some home. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alyson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    12
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Meal Out All Summer!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We made a reservation for 7:00pm. Arrived at 7:05 and were seated by 7:06!
This was our first time for dinner at the Crocker House, though it's been recommended that we come here for years. We have a short summer here in the area each year, so we often return to our favorites, but so glad we ventured to Hancock for dinner! Let's cut to the chase: The filet mignon and the roasted rack of lamb were both succulent. My filet was 9oz and smothered in wild mushrooms. I wasn't able to eat it all, and the rack had 9 pieces of lamb with lots of garlic and other seasonings. Our mixed fresh local vegetables were cooked to perfection, and ask for the potatoes dauphinois, I want this recipe! We were too full for dessert, but ordered a blueberry cheesecake to go since we knew this would follow suit in quality. I'm looking forward to a new tradition of returning here for years to come!
Critical feedback: We did not see our waiter much. He dropped off food and was gone. We flagged other waitstaff for additional wine, which were most accommodating, but we didn't feel he was very attentive. The kitchen made up for the somewhat slow service, so we will go again and hope that Crocker House reads the reviews to strive for perfection, as they are damn close!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trieuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal Maine, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing oyster appetizers, excellent food and service!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Anniversary trek #42, 2.5 hours "downeast" from us.
Rarely go for oysters unless fresh on the half shell. The Oysters Rockefeller at Crocker House changed my tune. Piping hot with perfect blanket of spinach, hollandaise and just discernible Pernod kissing briny fresh oysters. Never had better.
Followed them with same oysters fresh on half shell, sourced from Spinney Creek in Southern Maine. Plump, fresh, briny, perfect.
Nine ounces of beef seemed daunting and chef, owner graciously split an order of Filet au Poivre with sauce Espagnole & cream for us with our own salads and sides of fresh local veggies and potatoes Dauphinoise...oh my.
Really friendly, attentive servers.
Spacious, comfortable room in the adjoining carriage house. Slightly worn appearance, but it did not detract from our stay.
I hope we return before another 42!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol Connecticut USA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good, but for the money, didn't blow me away”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The inn comes up as best in the area and was recommended by a friend. So we gave it a try for our anniversary while on vacation with our daughter and son in law. We were a bit sticker shocked when we opened the menu but it was a special occasion, we expected greatness. Sorry to say it was good but not that good. Portions were large and compensated somewhat for the capable but unimaginative work in the kitchen. All good but just not the "lick your plate" level I expected for the money. Entrees with salad all around $35.00 which they don't advertise. As a matter a fact the salad was the only exceptional thing, extremely fresh mixed greens with grapes and a nice dressing, scarfed that up.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RickyRight2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This restaurant was very close to our rental so we went twice. The food was very well prepared both times, my wife didn't like the scallops in tomatoes with garlic, the scallops were great, she just didn't like the recipe. My son had the seafood pasta both times and it is incredible, as was the seafood chowder the first night. Their menu changes daily so the chowder wasn't available the second time we went, too bad, it is amazing. I had rib eye the first time and it was really good, the second time I chose the duck, it was very good and the sauce was outstanding. If you try The Crocker House, do opt for the potatoes, the rice is good but the potatoes are really, really good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jakes-Dad-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crocker House Country Inn also viewed

Winter Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Hancock, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Hancock, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Sullivan, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Hancock, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Hancock, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to The Crocker House Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing