We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excellent”

The Crocker House Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Hancock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $39
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Gap
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you want to feel at home while visiting the Bar Harbor Acadia area stay at Crocker House and dine at Crocker House. My wife and I stayed at Crocker House for two weeks and enjoyed every minute of our time there. The staff made us feel at home and very welcome. Our room was clean and comfortable. The common ares were very welcoming and the staff was marvelous. The food is five star. A simply wonderful experience. They are very pet friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    12
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hancock, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WOW this place is awesome a must dine in exp for anyone”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Well I took my wife and family out to the Crocker house . We had seafood fettuccini and rib eye and all the courses. Its almost a 2 hours meal in all. This was one of the best experiences we have ever had. I was a cook in the military for 20 year and my wife and I love to go to great places were you have great service, food, and fun. This place has it all. This was and will be in he future for us a great experience if you have never been to Hancock Maine a place you must stop. I can tell they have worked hard to perfect everything. If you have a chance to try some reel food in a great place this is it. Everything was made from scratch. No boxes in the place. Even the salad was from local. We loved it and would highly recommend it to everyone. Fantastic Job. Thank you for making my wife's birthday special with the candle and song. This was a surprise. The little extra mean allot to us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timmy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Excellent food! Lovely rooms. Friendly, personal service!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn numerous times when vacationing in Maine. The food is the finest on the Maine coast. The staff is warm, friendly, helpful, and will accommodate any reasonable request. It feels like "the family summer home," but they cook for you, and spectacularly! There is plenty of fun nearby - a tennis court down the street, biking (you may borrow their bicycles), swimming, kayaking, Bar Harbor and Acadia Nat'l Park minutes away, and great exploring along the coast. Best of all, Richard and Liz Malaby, the owners, make everyone feel so welcome, and happy to have you! There are no finer accommodations in the area!

Carl from Washington, DC

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl C- DC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boylston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Crocker House doesn't disappoint on any level”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Warm, friendly and attentive staff. Start off with a delicious, perfectly mixed Martini or a glass of your favorite wine or beer. The dining room is small but cozy. You might consider a reservation if you are planning on seating a larger party or if you are hoping for dinner on a weekend in the middle of summer. Every meal starts with the house salad and fresh warm bread. While the menu is limited there is something for every palette. Choices include duck, lamb, seafood and beef to name a few. Every dish we've ever tried has been cooked to perfection and absolutely delicious. A personal favorite remains the Seafood Pasta. If you haven't tried the Crocker House Inn you don't know what you're missing. It's a wonderful special occasion destination!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfully consistent”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The restaurant at the Crocker House Country Inn is one of the best places to eat in Maine. From the atmosphere, to the service and most importantly the food, you will not be disappointed. The menu is limited, but everything is wonderful. On my most recent visit I had the Seafood Pasta. It was loaded with hunks of lobster, scallops and shrimp in a light, but delicious sauce. The steaks are outstanding too. My friend had the Rack of Lamb and she said it was one of the best she ever had and this lady has dined in some of the best restaurants all over the world. I have had every entree on the menu and have never been disappointed. All meals are served with a salad, potatoes or rice and the most delicious warm bread right out of the oven. The wines list is reasonable and the staff can help with your selection. All of the desserts are great! The only problem is that they are closed from January through mid-April. This is a special place where we always take our out-of-town guests. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DowneastDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crocker House Country Inn also viewed

Winter Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Hancock, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Hancock, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Sullivan, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to The Crocker House Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing