We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crocker House Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hancock B&B and Inns
Marion, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

After staying at a B&B where we we pampered and treated like family, we were very disappointed with our stay here. There was one person who was checking in the guests at the Inn as well as serving as the only waiter in the Inn's restaurant, so he didn't have time to give the guests much attention. He was friendly, just needed more help. The room had a funny smell and was rather dark and dismal. The food in the restaurant was delicious, but the servings were huge and the cost was high. For someone travelling and unable to box it up to finish later, it makes for alot of waste. The room was also very chilly. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    8
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Have never had a bad meal here and the service has always been fantastic. This is the special restaurant we visit at the beginning & end of our summer vacation. They make a wicked good raspberry cosmo & the rack of lamb can't be beat anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacherjr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Every yaer we are greeting as friends. Great meals, our choice to get away...no TV, no internet. Just what we want!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubblehead_629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

As the great grandson of Isma Crocker Bryant, I had vague memories of visiting with her at the Crocker House in the mid 1940's. As you are aware, she owned the establishment from 1928 to 1948. The family would be astonished at the fantastic renovation you have completed. The restaurant, above and beyond. If there was a rating of 10 as the best, you would be at 12 with out a doubt. My meal was without a doubt one of the best yet.. We will see you on our next trip thru.
Congradulations on a job well done.
Richard C. Andrews, and wife, Judy, Brunswick, Maine

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrs-crocker, Owner at The Crocker House Country Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for an exceptionally lovely start to the day! All Trip Advisor reviews now post directly to our Facebook page, so we read your review first thing this morning.
We are in our 32nd season and would be delighted to have you share any memories/photos you have of the Inn in years past on our Facebook wall. Thank you again for your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is a very special place that won't disappoint the adventurous traveler who appreciates excellent service, and a cozy place to retire for the evening after a day of seeing the beautiful sights of the great outdoors. The location is great and an easy 30-40 minute drive to all the nearest scenic places especially if you don't want to stay in the tourist congested areas of Bar Harbor. It's walking distance to Kayaking in Frenchman's bay and the neighborhood is perfect for taking relaxing strolls during the day or for star gazing at night.

The restaurant serves some of the best fine dining you can find in the area served by the owner and a knowledgable friendly staff that is so much fun to be around. Excellent full bar and wine list.

My only tiny complaint is that the mattress was a little too firm for me, but it wasn't bad enough for me not to write a review because the overall charm of the place just stands out. The Crocker House has been a friends and family favorite for many years and they continue to "out due" themselves every year we come. We just love it!

Room Tip: High season is Memorial weekend through Labor day so its best to plan ahead as early as you can befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mavgirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrs-crocker, Owner at The Crocker House Country Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn! Despite the mattress being a bit too firm, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We've recently discussed replacing some of the bedding as we've had a few other guests express a preference for a softer mattress. Hope you'll be able to return and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This B&B's location is a little off the beaten path, but very cute and welcoming. This was my first trip to Maine, and was exactly what I was looking for in a charming New England B&B. My husband and I were traveling with our two big dogs, and the Inn had no problem with the dogs being there and had no additional pet fees. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The restaurant is quite popular for dinner, and the food is excellent. It is pricey, but it is fine dining after all, so expect to pay a little more. The blueberry pancakes in the morning are excellent! We enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to stay another night! I would love to return to this inn again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stargazer1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Have been going here for dinner for years as my Uncle lives in the area. Quaint inn with top quality restaurant. The seafood pasta is to die for and the portions are huge - tons of lobster, scallops, etc... I have also had steak and lamb there in the past. This time I split the seafood pasta and the duck with my husband... Both were amazing and the flavoring on the duckling was pretty unique for the area. Gingery and citrusy. They also have great salads and fresh baked bread that comes with the meal. It has a cosy, but fancy ambience and live soothing piano music.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siliwishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
5.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
3.8 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Elsa's Inn On The Harbor
Elsa's Inn On The Harbor
#2 of 3 in Prospect Harbor
76 reviews
11.5 mi away
Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn
Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn
#1 of 3 in Prospect Harbor
250 reviews
11.6 mi away
Twilite Motel
Twilite Motel
#4 of 10 in Ellsworth
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crocker House Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crocker House Country Inn

Property: The Crocker House Country Inn
Address: 967 Point Rd, Hancock, ME 04640-3723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Hancock Point, this 130+ year old inn offers fine dining and comfortably appointed guest rooms in a relaxed setting. We cater at the inn and away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Crocker House Country Inn Maine/Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing