We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Flight in All Respects” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slates Restaurant & Bakery

Slates Restaurant & Bakery
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Hallowell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top Flight in All Respects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Slates decor, waitstaff and food each receive our highest rating. Given a choice of creamier or thinner white sauce on the lobster fettucini alfredo made with homemade pasta, we chose thinner and tried in vain to recall a restaurant anywhere that offered such a choice. We were barely able to finish split plates stuffed with lobster chunks. It seemed like there was more lobster than fettucini - absolutely overflowing and tenderly delicious (market price $25.99). After enjoying bread slices dipped in artfully seasoned olive oil, we were totally entertained discussing the decor that was an unusually pleasing visual delight.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank d_squaredSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    59
    30
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“You should go.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Slates offers a variety of food offered in different ways, as well as some standard fare. Before the fire a couple of years ago, I thought Slates' food was "uneven"; since the restaurant has reopened, I have never been disappointed. You should go!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank willypickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
319 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Here in the tiny community of Hallowel, ME is this terrific restaurant where they take cooking seriously. Its on a lovely street with several restaurants, galleries, etc. and the town has a rail-to-trail path.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local favorite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Lounge is comfortable for dining when the DR is crowded although the bartender/server gets very busy. Potato/cheddar soup of the day was too thick and tasteless; special entree was disappointing. Stick to the inventive pizzas or steak entrees.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JKII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The mussels...OMG!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Ate here with some friends and their friends while on a trip. It's a cute place with a funky design. The staff were all very friendly. We tried a few dishes, the mussels as an appetizer were flavorful, tasty, tender and swimming in a delightful broth of intense flavor. I also had the lobster fettuccine Alfredo. The pasta was homemade, tender, with a decent amount of lobster I it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kaj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slates Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Slates Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing