We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Slates Restaurant & Bakery
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Hallowell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Woodsville, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Great service and super chicken pie and outstanding desserts. We stopped at the bakery and purchased 3 loaves of bread.

Helpful?
2 Thank gopaul66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    62
    31
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great lunch menu!”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Lots of great choices...good prices and delicious.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over Priced, Mediocre Food; Unpleasant Waitress”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The title pretty much says it all. We went for Sunday Brunch. We waited 40 minutes for our food to arrive and were only offered coffee once. When the food arrived it was not very good. It was incredibly salty. I know salt can enhance flavor, but when over done, it's gross. The waitress was rude to us and others at nearby tables. One got the sense that she didn't want to be there. We will not go back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GalLikesGoodFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK, but not the privelege some waitresses seem to think it is.”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Hadn't been in a while. It is a nice room and there are some very nice people working here. The food is...OK. But, once again, our waitress provided poor service to our table and others around us. A little eye contact and she might have noticed everyone was trying creative ways to signal that their coffee cups had been empty for 20+ minutes. That's forgivable...accept, this isn't the first time. Feel bad saying it, but -- no one is here because of your intellect, magnetism or daughters style sense. Keep the coffee cup full and be friendly to guests and their children -- or go in the back and fold napkins. Back to the diner down the road...

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fenway225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good But Not as Good as in the Past”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Slate's has always been one of my favorite places to visit when I return home to Maine. However, the food during the last two visits has been average. The atmosphere is unbeatable; the sheet funkiness is still worth visiting, but the meals have left me disapointed - longing for the past, when the food has been excellent.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flhexe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slates Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Slates Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing