We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy and Delicious ”
Review of The Liberal Cup

The Liberal Cup
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Hallowell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Busy and Delicious ”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I had lunch here with two other members of my family. We all had the fish n chips, and all had beers from the local brewery. Service was excellent! And the food was very very good with large portions, tasty fries. I have been there a few times while on vacation and enjoy it always.

Helpful?
Thank Sccfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    97
    22
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, USA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great House Brews”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you happen to travel to Augusta ME you MUST visit this tavern not too far up the road... Awesome house craft beer and the night I was there I had an awesome prime rib sandwich that was just spectacular... fun atmosphere...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeCap22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“THE best food around!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I don't even know what food to tell you to try - because I visited this restaurant three times while in town for business, and each time I loved the meal I had and my colleagues raved over their meals, as well! The atmosphere has a pub feel and the food is a comfort style, with awesome flavor all around! The meals we tried included: Meatloaf, Fish and Chips, Pot Roast, Turkey, Shepherd's Pie, Bangers & Mash... again - all just fantastic! Service was always top notch, as well! If I come back to Augusta, I would be happy to return to The Liberal Cup!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 314MaryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Busy pub and restaurant . The food was very good, but place was very busy and noisy. That said we would go back again for sure. There are 2 dining options, one being in the pub (barroom) and another being in a room somewhat off to the side. Both options have their time and place. For a quieter experience choose the side venue, for a raucous time eat in the bar!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank joey j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Great food, service, atmosphere. Had clams (the best) and haddock Neapolitan really good. Highly recommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 05camelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Liberal Cup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing