We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer & Food”
Review of The Liberal Cup

The Liberal Cup
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Hallowell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Vassalboro, Maine, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Beer & Food”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

One of the busier places in Hallowell, but for good reason. An authentic brew pub experience with their own excellent brews. Mix that with a great menu (fish & chips is a favorite of mine) that always includes some interesting specials. Live music many nights and a lively crowd of regulars makes the Cup a great hangout.

Saw that somebody couldn't get seated for just drinks... Grab one at the bar and stand up :-).

Try the beer-cheese soup!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Volator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    97
    22
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were heading north in Maine to go white water rafting and needed dinner, a quick web search suggested The Liberal Cup and we were very pleased. The food and beer were excellent, the service quick and friendly and the prices reasonable. We were much surprised to find it was the sister restaurant of a favorite of ours in Saco, ME, Run of the Mill. I'd definitely stop by again if I was traveling in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun with Friends”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great venue to meet friends to share a few beverages and some yummy bar food. The atmosphere will chase any blues that may be lurking around. Not a particularly family friendly place but there need to be places for the grown ups too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Place but We Couldn't Get Seated For Just Drinks”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I've been to this place once before when I visited last year. We just tried to go tonight for some drinks. It's 8:30PM on a Tuesday night and the place is packed. Maybe it's because the other bars are closed on Tuesdays. There was no place at the bar to sit so we asked if we could get a small table. The hostess said that we couldn't get a table unless we were eating so we left. There were 3 of us and we would have had at least 3 drinks each so they missed out on at least $50 worth of revenue. Very disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleGrenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Flank and smashed”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I went there with my daughter and her BF I had the flank steak and garlic smashed potatoes along with a dinner salad. Steak was cooked to perfection and with their own crafted beer it was an awesome meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twriker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Liberal Cup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing