We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maple Hill Farm B&B - a MUST stay in Maine!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hallowell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 5, 2006

If you are looking for a charming, quaint, out of the way location to relax and sit on a porch and rock your cares away, well look no further than the Maple Hill Farm Bed & Breakfast and Conference Center located in Hallowell, just outside of Augusta, Maine. You can park your car under the new Portege' while you enter the office area just inside the door and are greeted by Scott, one of the innkeeprs. You get to see some of the items sold right there on the farm, delicious locally made maple syrup, bath salts, oils, etc. all displayed in a glass case beneath a beautiful, polished slab of granite which used to be one of the stairs entering this post and beam structure. Scott and Vince the co-owners of this beautifully restored and period furnished inn have owned Maple Hill for about 14 years and have done a remarkable job of restoring and creating the lovely rooms in which to stay. Scott enthusiastically toured us around the main floor of the inn pointing out some of the restorative details they've done over the years. The dining room is adorned with paintings done by local artists all for sale. There is a guest kitchen area where one can help themselves to coffee, tea, hot chocolate and homemade chocolate chip cookies, and Maine blueberry mufffins 24/7! There is also an ice machine with buckets to bring to your room. We were delighted to find a homey touch of our first names written on little placards on the doors to our rooms. We met Maxine, the farm cat. She is very friendly and roams the entire downstairs area of the inn or outdoors, but does not go to the guest rooms. Scott was very helpful in giving advice on where to go eat dinner in town. There's a fat binder at your disposal which holds menus from many of the local eateries. We ate at the "Liberal Cup" and were filled on their comfort food repast - delicious! Vince is the chef and we were amazed to find such an array of cooked to order choices for breakfast. The coffee was freshly ground and delicious; pitchers of fresh orange juice, baskets of muffins, and a big bowl of fresh fruit salad awaited guests as they walked into the dining room. There were fresh from their own chicken eggs cooked to order with sides of sausage or bacon, Maine wild blueberry pancakes, with locally made maple syrup, toast made from on-site homemade wheat or white bread, and also a local oatmeal-type porridge, but made from a wheat-free grain called Spelt. My friend said it was delicious. Every room is tastefully decorated and unique unto itself with period furnishings, all rooms are air conditioned and have t.v.s and dvd's at your disposal in the room. Some rooms have jacuzzis and fireplaces (ours had both!) The entire inn and conference center are beautiful to look at and meticulously maintained. We will always return to Maple Hill Farm B&B whenever we are visiting Maine. It is centrally located and found with great signage right off I-95 from Augusta.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank owllover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 349 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2006

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at Maple Hill Farm. I was married in the area and had my reception at their Gathering Place. Scott and Vince are the owners and they went out of their way to make it a great evening. I won’t go into the details of the reception, but the space was beautiful, the food was terrific, and the service was excellent. The wedding party occupied all the rooms of the inn. Each room is unique, quaint, and clean. I highly recommend the rooms with the double whirl pools. The breakfast was another highlight of our stay. The blueberry pancakes are fantastic. They also have baked goods available any time to take from the kitchen area. My fiancé and I were also drawn to Maple Hill because they have their own windmill to generate a portion of their power. All in all, I didn’t want to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mcrauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2006

If you're looking for a peaceful, warm, loving place to unwind and forget about the daily pressure, then don't miss this fantastic place. This Inn is situated on 135 acres of Maine farmland and has an excellent offering of rooms with all the ammenities a traveler would need. A great farmhouse with comfortable common areas and the owner and inn keeper are very friendly. The breakfeast is superb and the sunsets are to die for. A great opportunity to relax and enjoy yourself or your family and friends.

3  Thank bpaul19341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2006

I was so surprised I decided to stay at an inn verses the chain hotel. After working a tradeshow in Augusta, ME the hours were much longer than expected I finally got to the inn it was 6:45pm on Sunday evening. I called Scott the inn keeper to say I was going to be late, he said that was fine. When I got to the inn I was checked in, Scott got me a beer from the bar, and then sat down with me to help me figure out where to go to dinner.

He directed me to down town Hallowell and adorable New England town filled with a bunch of artsy shops and restaurants. I went to a great little brew pub and had a great dinner.

I had to get up very early in the morning 5:30am to get back to the show, I had told Scott that I would not be at breakfast which I had heard was awesome. When I noticed the check out slip a note told me they had packed me a to go breakfast and left it in the fridge. What a nice way to start the day a great fruit salad and muffins.

The inn was clean, comfortable, with all of the amenities you need when you travel. I tend to stay in a full service hotel, but this inn takes the extra time to make you feel comfortable and feel like you are at home.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank joshmatteson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhbehnke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Hermann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AstrapiDetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallowell
2.4 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
819 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#2 of 9 in Augusta
487 reviews
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center

Address: 11 Inn Rd, Hallowell, ME 04347-3241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Hallowell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hallowell
Price Range: $117 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our reviews say it all. Serving the Augusta Maine area, Maple Hill Farm is a small boutique hotel (an intimate country inn, if you'd like to call us that!) that perfectly combines true eco-consciousness, country serenity, relaxing comfort, and fine amenities. Surrounded by acres of rolling fields and woods, including an active bird feeder and a barn full of llamas and chickens, we were named "One of the Best 5 Green Hotels and Inns" in New England by Yankee magazine in 2017, and also Maine's first certified "Environmental Leader" green lodging establishment with a huge solar electric array plus solar hot water and its own wind turbine. Huge double whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and private decks accentuate some guest rooms. A sauna and outdoor hot tub beckon the guest to truly relax, along with full bar service, a full breakfast cooked to order, and personalized attention. EV charging stations, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Hill Farm Inn And Conference Center Hallowell, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing