We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Always the Best Food But the Location and Atmosphere Are Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joyce's in Hallowell

Joyce's in Hallowell
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Hallowell
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Indoor and Outdoor Seating on two levels overlooking the Kennebec River in Historic Downtown Hallowell. Casual Dining with a full menu and Daily Specials. Full Bar. Function Rooms Available.
Sidney, Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not Always the Best Food But the Location and Atmosphere Are Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I have dined at Joyce's on several occasions and it is 'hit or miss' with the quality of food. It has never been bad but not consistently great either. They offer several selections of wine (also by the glass) which is my preference because their mixed drinks are always weak. During the summer season Joyce's has a wonderful deck with a nice view of the Kennebec River. Indoors is very nice and finished in soft earthtone colors. I will dine at Joyce's again with the main attraction for me being the location/surroundings.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BabeMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Maine
Level Contributor
173 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We have eaten here many times and always enjoy our meal. Atmosphere is great and in nicer weather you can sit outside and eat. Drinks are delicious as well. We usually start with the Baked Onion and Gouda Dip (yummy!) as well as a smoked onion cheese dip that is yummy too! Have never gotten a bad meal here - we have had crabcakes, pasta, and homemade potroast, as well as many items on the specials list. Waitstaff is always on top of things and even remember what you ordered last time you came in. The host is one of our favorites, he is a great guy and always remembers us as well. Not too big but great place to eat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Momof2inMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level Contributor
316 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“With so many restaurants in town give them a try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Its been a while since we have eaten here and was happy to see a menu with more selections rather their limited menu. Their was five of us and all ordered something different and everything was just great. The prices reflected what we ate and again everything was just great. We were able to eat outside over looking the water and watched a bald eagle pick his food out if the water again and again so that made it even more enjoyable. We will not wait this long to back there and eat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2antigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxed, fine dining on waterfront”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I rarely eat out at local restaurants because we are both excellent cooks that appreciate great food and value. Joyce's is a rare exception... We are never disappointed with choice! The food is wonderfully prepared and visually appealing as well. It is one of the few restaurants in the capitol area that is a bit more upscale than a pub/family dining, but is still affordable. Eat outside on the patio overlooking the river on a sunny day and you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mcallan1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Look Baby! Joyce's is Open...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

After a number of unsuccessful attempts to catch this fine establishment open we finally made it in!! It was really worth the wait, The hostess seated us at their cozy boothes, we wished the weather had been cooperative eating outside looked really inviting but it was abit chilly outside so inside dinning is on! We started a Spinach/cream cheese and warm bread, awesome. Now for maincourse my girlfriend and were dying to try the ravioli which were stuffed with Spinach and Feta over a Sun dried tomato Alfredo sauce....Yum I had the Mushroom stuffed ravioli with a gragonzola cream sauce...good eats! Listen theres plenty of highly competative restaurants in Hallowell just make sure you give Joyce's a try their open Tuesday thru Saturday. Buttta.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buttta_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joyce's in Hallowell also viewed

 

Been to Joyce's in Hallowell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing