We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Colorful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Second Street Bed & Breakfast

Second Street Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hallowell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Second Street Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hallowell B&B and Inns
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Colorful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Entering this building, I noticed the bright colors first. This old home has very intricate woodwork and fireplaces (not being used, but visually appealing). I enjoyed a delicious breakfast of homemade muffins, fresh fruit, eggs with basil, mushrooms & cheddar, slices of bacon and whole grain toast after my morning wake up cup of freshly ground bean coffee. The cook/owner was very friendly, answering questions about my planned route for the day and made me feel quite at home. I definitely enjoyed my stay and would return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JosephL010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Right now I and my two best friends from childhood are planning our annual get together once again at the Second Street Bed & Breakfast. This will be our third year. We time it at the end of August-beginning of September, when I am in Maine taking a vacation from my job - running a B&B in St. Thomas!

We love this B&B! Sara and her daughter Dena run this immaculate, elegant and perfectly restored mansion as a cozy retreat. The building may be formal but the furnishings are whimsical and warm. All of the five rooms are different so it is hard to pick. My current favorite is the green room, with its marble fireplace, comfy king size bed and writing desk between two windows. Here I can use the secure wireless to stay on top of reservations for St. Thomas while I am being a welcome guest in Maine.

Sara and Dena make sure you feel that this is your home while you are here. You feel free to take over the sitting room, the den and the veranda. Padding through the upstairs and downstairs halls in stocking feet - I bet it is nice in the wintertime too with fireplaces blazing.

Yummy breakfasts are served in the dining room around a big table and are leisurely and friendly affairs (unless you are on an early schedule and must eat and run). The dining room opens onto the veranda and - like most of the rooms in the house - has a beautiful fireplace.

The B&B is an easy walk to my favorite Hallowell restaurants (Slates, Joyces, Hatties) and to the "rail trail" scenic walk along the river upstream and down. Hallowell itself, by the way, is a perfect Maine colonial village inhabited by an interesting and eclectic mix of musicians, artists, antique dealers and those whose work may revolve around the state capitol in Augusta but who would rather live in this special place.

If you find yourself in the capitol area for any reason, work or play, spend a few nights at Second Street and you will be very glad you did!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Dominica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Beautiful home with lots of charm. Rooms were very spacious and decorated with style. Owners are very gracious and helpful. Short walk to Library, riverfront, downtown area with lots of resturants to choose from. Hallowell is a wonderful small Maine city with quiet streets and historical buildings.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peaveysister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

This was by far one of the most beautiful bed and breakfasts my husband and I have ever stayed in. The quaint little town of Hallowell was wonderful also. The people are so friendly. No one has ever matched the level of service and the accommodations we experienced at Second Street. My husband and I have stayed many places and this was exceptional from the service to the food to the comfy bed and warm, friendly colors of our room! Thank you, Second Street Bed and Breakfast, for welcoming us into your home.

Room Tip: Just call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExplorerGals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

I have stayed at Second Street B & B on a number of occasions and it makes me smile every time. The interior of this B & B is colorful, bold, a bit eclectic, funky and fun, much like the owner who decorated it, Sara Dix. All guest rooms are a different color and a different theme. Art ( a lot of it local, collected over the years) and quirky kick-knacks are scattered liberally throughout the house. They all seem to have a story, and each time I come I notice something new that I did not notice during my last stay. Sara and her daughter Dena operate the B & B. They are both fun, welcoming hosts (hostesses?) -- not to mention talented cooks. I really enjoy this B & B. I love the overall vibe and I always leave feeling relaxed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flintrommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

The Second Street B&B is a terrific place to stay in Hallowell. It has sizable, charming rooms and excellent owners who are at hand to provide great information. All the elements of the experience are of high quality, from the bathroom fittings to the large bed and chunky towels, to the organic breakfast fried fresh up for you! The house is spacious, so one can easily find a private spot in the library room, have a chat in the front living room, or enjoy the back porch.
It's a short walk on the hilly roads to the historic town center with nice shops and restaurants. Definitely recommended for a change of scenery and relaxation!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qualitywatchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

My wife and I have stayed at several B&B's in the Hallowell and Augusta area and this one is our clear favorite. It's in a beautifully restored historic Maine building a short walk from the Kennebec River shore and downtown Hallowell's popular antique shops and restaurants. Every room has its own personality, created by unique set of colors, furnishings, antique furniture and artwork. The owners are friendly, the food is excellent and overall you just get a nice comfortable feeling when you stay there. In addition to being the perfect location for enjoying Hallowell, it's minutes from Augusta and easy driving distance to the coast. We highly recommend this B&B and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SubtropicBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallowell
2.4 mi away
Maple Hill Farm Inn
Maple Hill Farm Inn
#1 of 1 in Hallowell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.9 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#1 of 9 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Second Street Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Street Bed & Breakfast

Property: Second Street Bed & Breakfast
Address: 68 Second St, Hallowell, ME 04347-1406
Location: United States > Maine > Hallowell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hallowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Second Street Bed and Breakfast in historic Hallowell Maine. This classic colonial style home was converted to a bed and breakfast in 2005. Just a short walk to the Kennebec River and Rail Trail system spanning 3 cities, an intimate downtown with restaurants, unique shops, art studios, live music and much, much more. Hallowell is approximately one hour from the coast - Two hours from Bar Harbor, and approximately one and a half hours from Maine’s mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Second Street Bed & Breakfast Hallowell, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing