We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Ranked #2 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2011

This lodge is beautiful and well decorated. You can't beat the views and the hospitality was wonderful. We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travel40778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 257 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2010

The Lodge at Moosehead lake is a wonderful place for a romantic getaway. The location and view of the lake is great and was especially spectaular this October. The food is very good, the innkeepers try to meet your every need. One of the neat things about this in is it's proximity to great Moose viewing not to mention there own Moose Safari guide, Ed. Ed will find you Moose and entertain you at the same time. Great experience especially if you are in to photography.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rwn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

This hotel was great from the moment we arrived to the friendly owners welcoming us, to the view from every window in the hotel, to roasting marshmallows and the delicious breakfast on the patio. There is so much to do in Moosehead Lake and Dennis and Linda make sure to help you make the most of your trip. It makes for a romantic getaway for any couple or a fun family trip. We plan on returning because it was one of the best trips we have ever had. The hotel itself is clean, comfortable and has the best view in town.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyUSMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

“Wow! Our first massages ever – then came strawberries & champagne delivered by Linda. By now, I’m feeling so at home. We’ve met some wonderful people staying here and we managed to catch up with them at breakfast. We had a lovely dinner here, we ordered the beef filet mignon & Lobster Mac N Cheese. Delish! You must try the Mooseopolitan at Chloe’s Pub. I had three, maybe two or four? We had a wonderful time! Linda, Dennis & Chloe – thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yobblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at the Lodge for 2 nights and I have to say the room was great. Very clean with a great view of the lake. The dinner at the Lodge was kind of expensive for the quality and amount of food given. Dinner for 2 with 1 drink each and a 25% tip was almost $100. Our waitress was very nice and knew the area very well so we got some good sight seeing tips from her. The breakfast is pretty much a continental breakfast. Although the website talks about a hearty breakfast and list numerous choices of eggs, pancakes and waffles, it does not say that only one of thoses is made each day so if it is not one you like your only other option is the fruit and cereal.

I have to agree with some of the earlier comments about the hostess. At times it seemed as if the guests were bothering her and she seemed very grumpy at times.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hunter1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lbortis, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2010

Feedback from our guests is always welcome. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at the Lodge. Dinner service at the Lodge seeks to provide guests with a very real alternative to the other high-end fine dining and casual café type offerings in the Greenville community. Our menu selections, pricing, upscale atmosphere and unsurpassed views of Moosehead Lake and the surrounding mountains offer what we hope is a memorable overall dining experience.

We have settled on a single “Chef’s Choice” hot entrée at breakfast to provide our guests with the greatest possible flexibility in starting their day. Guests may come to the dining room at the time of their choosing. This means the daily hot entrée must be available for as many or as few who choose to eat at any specific time. That said, guests are always asked to declare personal diet restrictions so that accommodations can be made in advance. We also try to meet requests for “simple” requests such as hot oat meal or plain scrambled eggs that
can be prepared quickly without delaying breakfast service to other guests.

We hope you will consider staying with us again during your next visit to the Moosehead Lake Region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

This was an ideal introduction to the Moosehead area and the Lodge was a key to our enjoyment of the experience. From the physical to the emotional, the Lodge satisfied our every requirement, and some we didn’t know we needed. The “Bear” room was fun as well as containing all the function we required. We loved sitting out on our veranda to enjoy the late afternoon sun on the lake. Our breakfasts were superb – we only wish our schedule had allowed us to participate in dinner. And Linda and Dennis were perfect hosts and very helpful to us.

We hope to stay at the Lodge again.

Mary & Paul Kearney

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

This Lodge has a fabulous setting and view of beautiful Moosehead Lake. However, the owner did just as others have written about before. Four of us were staying in the area at my camp and wanted to enjoy a very nice dinner at the Lodge at Moosehead Lake. We went to the side entrance marked for The Pub, as two of us had stayed here before and dined here years past (and not as a guest). We were met at the door by the owner with a scowl on her face and a large glass of wine in her hand. She was rude and almost slammed the door on my friends back side. She couldn't get rid of us fast enough. This was a Friday night at 7 p.m. Obviously we didn't meet her "criteria." One of my friends was a first time visitor to the area and this is in no way a representation of the kind and hospitable people of Greenville and Moosehead Lake.
In addition, this past Memorial Day, the two owners of the Lodge sat at the bar across from us at the Stress Free Moose Pub in town and complained about the guests and anything and everything else related to running the Lodge. I will never go back~! And to think that I have referred many professionals to stay here is embarrassing.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
5  Thank NayNay81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lbortis, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2010

We are sorry that you were not able to enjoy dinner at the Lodge Pub. We have not served dinner in the Pub to either our lodging guests or to the public for the last two summers. We do not advertise dinner or Pub availability to the public. We do accept a limited number of dinner reservations from the public when room is available. We have made these changes for business reasons and to allow us to focus on our lodging guests. They must always be our first priority.
Your unexpected arrival at 7 p.m. was during the busiest time of private dinner service. As you sensed, there was not a lot of time to explain the changes that have been made since your last visit which was apparently some time ago. The “criteria” you refer to are simply (1) be a lodging guest, or (2) have a dinner reservation. In an attempt to avoid disappointing walk-ins, we have placed a “Private, Guests Only” sign at the head of the driveway much like the Blair Hill has done. Perhaps you noticed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
2.3 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
2.8 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
77 reviews
16.0 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
#2 of 2 in West Forks
18 reviews
25.0 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
70 reviews
20.9 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Moosehead Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Moosehead Lake

Address: 368 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range: $325 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Moosehead Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy breathtaking lake and mountain views at our romantic Greenville, Maine inn. Relax in masterfully decorated rooms and suites at our Moosehead Lake lodging with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, private decks, and luxurious linens and robes. Sit back in our pub with full bar and games, or enjoy our complimentary snacks, DVD library and Wi-Fi. Don't miss out on unforgettable breakfasts and sumptuous weekend dinners at this Moosehead Lake adventure lodge. Activities galore - many exclusive to the Lodge at Moosehead, a Select Registry Property. AAA 4 Diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Lodge at Moosehead Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Hotel Greenville
Moosehead Lake Hotel
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing