We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Romantic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge at Moosehead Lake

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Ranked #2 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very Romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We found this lovely establishment on line and in our select registry book and loved every minute of our stay in the Trout Room. We felt welcomed and were told that the front door would be locked but were also given the code to return any time we needed to. We were free to roam any where and did. You must try a "Mooseapolitan" by the owner Dennis

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2please1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    27
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
25
169
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

The Lodge is elegantly rustic, decorated in a whimsical mix of lodge and country Inn, comfortable and big enough to spread out in or find a cozy spot to read or relax. Our room (and possibly all rooms) had a million-dollar view of Moosehead Lake. I couldn't take my eyes off of it! Also, a highlight of our whole trip was a Moose Safari where we rowed a canoe with Ed the guide and got about as humanely possible to several moose as one can get. Definately worth doing! There were many nice features but some things were lacking. The lodge did not cater to coffee drinkers as there was no milk available for coffee even though our room had a coffee maker and coffee. The owner assured us she would remedy that for future guests but that didn't help us during our stay. On of the reasons I would not return to the Lodge is that if you stay during the week you must go into town to eat. Linda went through the menus with us the first night and gave us suggestions for some local places. We had a terrible meal of hamburgers and nachos! The next day we found an elegant dining experience in town where we had an incredible gourmet meal more to our liking. I can't understand paying more than $350 a night to stay at the lodge and the owner sending us to a dive in town instead of this fine dining. I can only assume that is their competition but the lodge was not even serving dinner those nights. All-in-all an enjoyable experience but for that price can find other more detail-oriented accommodations with a more happening town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnsharrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

Your place is truly the Lake Placid Lodge of Maine. Your website gave us an accurate preview of the charm and beauty we would soon be enjoying. Would that we could stay for months, but alas, Vermont is calling. We will once again be transported back to our fabulous visit each time we are wrapped in our gorgeous chocolate brown Moosehead Lake Lodge robes!! The food, our magnificent room and stunning surroundings came together for a fantastic holiday. So great to meet you both.
Nancy

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancycmobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

We are not strangers to luxury inns. Over the years we have concluded that an inn which creates a warm and comfortably catered experience trumps inns which try to hard to be upscale. This Lodge does some things very well. Rooms are near spectacular and very clean. Breakfast is very good and well served. Dinner, when available, is very good, not great. All in, very good. But, and there is a but here. The owners miss items which make great inns great: extra coffee packs in the rooms and more than two packages of creamer; a bar which is warm, easy and comfortable - not remote, unattended and "could you do me a favor and not bother me to serve you another drink"; never hearing the owner complain about other guests; intranet that works (all the time); serving second portions at breakfast if requested (we thought this was a hearty experience); not receiving a printed list of "what guests are not allowed to do" upon arrival. In short, the owners are tired, cross and at times actually rude. We are annoyed more often than charmed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beentherenotthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lbortis, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake, responded to this review, August 15, 2010
We value the ideas and comments of our guests. We sincerely ask each and every guest at check-out, “How could we have made your stay better?” Based on your suggestion, more coffee and creamers have been put in the rooms. We understand we may of under staffed for the 2010 season. 2009 was a very difficult year due to both the economy and weather. This season has brought a stronger rebound than anyone in our area dared hope for. We will redouble our efforts to see that guests do not leave the breakfast table without having an opportunity to enjoy second portions of our entrees. “Extra” entrées are always prepared. Guests also may return to the buffet bar as often as they wish. Upon arrival, each guest is given a quick “tour’ of the property and general information is provided to help guests settle in. The welcome letter in the room is meant to be a reminder and reference source for much of the information provided verbally during the “tour”. We will review the tone of the letter to insure that it does not sound simply like a list of “don’t do’s”. The Lodge is literally20 feet from the end of the DSL service in northern Maine. This means our service goes up and down and in spite of many calls to our provider, a new router and 3 boosters we cannot improve it. A guest computer directly linked to the internet is provided in the commons area for use when connectivity issues arise. We appreciate your visit and hope you enjoyed the natural beauty of the Moosehead Lake Region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

Do not have enought adjectives to describe the quality,views,ambiance and rooms.This is truly a 5 star-friendly staff,gorgeous wonderfully appointed rooms

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louis8160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balsam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

My partner Claire and I were camping at Lily Bay State Park for the weekend and decided to try the Moosehead Lodge as it was recommended by the local marina owner. We are die hard foodies and were very much looking forward to a nice meal while roughing it. When we arrived we tried the door, but it was locked. We rang the bell several times but no one came to the door. Finally, we found the restaurant entrance which not very visible and tried that door. A woman appeared at the door and opened it only enough to scowl at us and ask what we wanted. she literally blocked the doorway with her body. We said that we wanted to have dinner in the pub (we weren't dressed for the formal dining room). She told us that she had no waitstaff in the pub so it was closed. She did not inquire as to whether we wanted to eat in the dining room and conveyed annoyance that we didn't leave quickly. We left feeling like segregation was again alive and well, though we're not sure what "otherness" we possessed that did not meet her approval.

Obviously, we can't comment on the food, just the attitude.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank brhoads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lbortis, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
We work hard to provide guests of the Lodge at Moosehead Lake with a warm and welcoming environment from the moment of arrival. Please accept our sincere apology for not providing you with the same experience. Because of our location and pricing, very few guests arrive without advance reservations. The front door is kept locked out of respect for the privacy of our guests since it is common for people who have heard about the Lodge to drop-in to “look around” and/or “snap a few pictures”. We must put the interests of our guests first. However, your experience tells us that we must also work much harder to not rush to assumptions regarding unexpected visitors. We are making that commitment. Your candid comments are appreciated and will allow us to improve everyone’s experience when visiting the Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

We had the fun of staying at the Lodge in not just one - but two of the suites and they are some of the prettiest, most playfully decorated and comfortable rooms we've ever enjoyed. From the fireplace in the bathroom in one - to the unique furnishings in both - the rooms alone were worth staying for. Throw in the attentive and fun host and hostess, add in delicious food, the VIEW, a moose sighting or two and top it all off with a tiny 4 legged ambassador named Chloe (the French bulldog) and you have the quintessential Maine experience - not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pupnpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lbortis, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake, responded to this review, July 10, 2010
We thoroughly enjoyed your visit and welcomed the opportunity to talk "marketing". It was great fun for us too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
2.3 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
16.0 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#3 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
20.9 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
16.1 mi away
Maynard's-in-Maine
Maynard's-in-Maine
#1 of 2 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
22.0 mi away
Inn by the River
Inn by the River
#1 of 1 in The Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Moosehead Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Moosehead Lake

Property: Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Address: 368 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Moosehead Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy breathtaking lake and mountain views at our romantic Greenville, Maine inn. Relax in masterfully decorated rooms and suites at our Moosehead Lake lodging with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, private decks, and luxurious linens and robes. Sit back in our pub with full bar and games, or enjoy our complimentary snacks, DVD library and Wi-Fi. Don't miss out on unforgettable breakfasts and sumptuous weekend dinners at this Moosehead Lake adventure lodge. Activities galore - many exclusive to the Lodge at Moosehead, a Select Registry Property. AAA 4 Diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lodge at Moosehead Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Hotel Greenville
Moosehead Lake Hotel
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing