We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Ranked #2 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We hosted our son's wedding reception at the Lodge at Moosehead. They did a wonderful job and catered to our every need and wish. There was nothing they wouldn't do to make our experience perfect. I would recommend them highly.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 257 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2009

Unfortunately we only had two nights at the Lodge. My husband and I had never been to Maine and travelled first to Bar Harbor for three nights. While lovely, Bar Harbor is inundated with tourists from cruise ships. We wanted peace and quiet in a lovely setting and found it at the Lodge at Moosehead Lake. Next time we will stay longer. There is as much or as little to do as you would like. We took a hike to Little Moose and Big Moose lakes which was gorgeous. We rented ATV's at Northwoods Outfitter, whose staff was amazing, friendly, and helpful. We inquired with Linda at the lodge about fly fishing and she set us up with a wonderful guide, Bob Howe, who took us on a half day fly fishing lesson. The lodge is so warm and welcoming. It is truly a home away from home. Luxurious and peaceful, it is a lovely place if you want to stay in and relax, or come back to after a day of adventure on Maine's beautiful trails, rivers, and lakes. Linda and Dennis think of everything to make your stay comfortable. There was nothing I could think of to make this stay any better. They do an exceptional job, are not intrusive in the least, and you will feel pampered and rested after your stay. It was hard to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberlyMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We had a wonderful time, starting with our room-the Katahden Room was beautiful and spacious, with a great view of Moosehead Lake. The Hospitality provided by the Innkeepers, Linda and Dennis, was excellent. They were always ready to help, but never in the way. Dennis makes a great drink, the "Moosatini", which he serves in "Chloe's Pub" (Chloe is a French Bulldog and the lodge dog). This should be the state drink of Maine. We did lots of sight seeing, took a seaplane ride over beautiful country, and hiked some great venues. Dennis prepared the outstanding breakfasts we enjoyed during our three night stay, and he does wonderful things with ingredients. We would compare Greenville Maine to Vancouver Island, but with more variety in terms of things to do...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cincy-Flash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Our 20th anniversary celebration began the afternoon of July 3 when we arrived at The Lodge at Moosehead Lake. Almost hidden from the road by a thick row of fragrant pine trees, we pulled into the driveway and were greeted by a profusion of early summer flowers, white birch fences and an elegant but decidedly North Woods rambling home. Its sprawling front porch was furnished with comfy rocking chairs and decorated with flower pots bursting with color. But as I was trying to take it all in, I had a feeling I was being stared at. I slowly turned my head to see a gigantic moose standing to the side of the porch...wearing two small American flags affixed to either side of its massive antlers! The beast, of course, was wooden. His adornments (which by the look on his carved face I don't think he much liked), along with the who-knows-how-many other American flags in the flower beds and hanging from the porch rails, were courtesy of the part-time groundskeeper, full-time handyman, Belgium waffle maker, "Moose-apolitan" creator, bartender, accountant, and, oh yes, did I mention lodge co-owner, Dennis!
Along with Linda, the interior decorator, gardener, part-time waitress, full-time Maine adventure advisor, co-owner, and, oh yes, Dennis' wife, The Lodge is definitely in great hands! And anything they and the rest of their staff can't provide, Chloe, the adorable and affectionate little Lodge dog, (VP of customer relations and hostess of "Chloe's pub) most certainly can!
Every detail we could imagine (and many we never imagined!) was woven into this delightful experience - from the luxurious bedding and turndown service (loved those chocolate truffles!) to the breakfast Linda packed for our moose safari. And yes, we did see REAL LIVE moose.
But the one feature that simply took our breath away and ensures our return (which can’t be soon enough for me!) was the view - one of the most exquisite I have ever seen anywhere. It was all I could do to leave that slice of heaven and go on one of the myriad adventures that awaited us on our vacation to Maine. Linda, Dennis and Chloe - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannineDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

If you are close to burn out and need a place that you can "recover," this is it. Beautiful, peaceful, elegant, amazing food and service. My husband and I have been working 14 hours days for the last 8 months and needed a place to become human again and celebrate our anniversary. Even with the liquid sunshine, this is the place.
And a few moosepolitans don't hurt. :)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

My new hubby and I were recently lucky enough to visit the Lodge at Moosehead lake as part of our fly drive honeymoon of New England. The views are stunning, imagine sipping a Moose-i-politan cocktail whilst relaxing in the bar area (named after the hosts little dog, Chloe who is so cute!) with glacial lakes and mountains as a panoramic backdrop to your evening drink. We were fortunate enough to be able to travel just after Memorial Weekend when everything had quietened down. Linda and Dennis welcomed us with such a warm laidback charm that we felt that we left the Lodge as friends. They upgraded our room to the Moose Room which is Moose themed and I loved it. Big Moose four poster bed, lovely bathroom with antlers as bath curtain holders. Handmade wooden furniture and fantastic views. We are both keen cooks and found that the breakfast were lovely and I am hoping that maybe they could email me their warm scone recipe ;) Linda organised all of our activities (a scenic flight WOW and an amazing Moose safari in the stunning local wilderness, We saw 8 Moose in a lake!!!) and they were a highlight of our honeymoon. We also had the good fortune to be celebrating an anniversary on one of the days that we stayed and these trips made that day memorable. Linda even kindly gave us a souvenir photo of us on a canoe on our moose safari! How will hubby top this next year?
The lodge is just outside of Greenville - small, laidback and charming! The Laidback Moose offers great chilli! We felt completely relaxed and rejuvenated by our stay and will look forward to returning to this perfect place next time we are over in Maine.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cdmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

We stayed for 5 nights in February. We got a much better deal on the price than other B&B's in the area. There are only a couple of really NICE places to stay in the area. We wanted all the comforts of home and more, and the Lodge met and exceeded our needs or wants. I can understand concerns about the price from other reviewers, but travelling in the off season helped us out and it was worth the price. For snowmobilers the lodge is great, quick acess to the lake or ITS trails and parking on site.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jul9977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
2.8 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
77 reviews
2.3 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
16 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#1 of 5 in Rockwood
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
70 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
#2 of 2 in West Forks
18 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kineo View Lodge
Kineo View Lodge
#1 of 3 in Greenville
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Moosehead Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Moosehead Lake

Address: 368 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range: $325 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Moosehead Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy breathtaking lake and mountain views at our romantic Greenville, Maine inn. Relax in masterfully decorated rooms and suites at our Moosehead Lake lodging with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, private decks, and luxurious linens and robes. Sit back in our pub with full bar and games, or enjoy our complimentary snacks, DVD library and Wi-Fi. Don't miss out on unforgettable breakfasts and sumptuous weekend dinners at this Moosehead Lake adventure lodge. Activities galore - many exclusive to the Lodge at Moosehead, a Select Registry Property. AAA 4 Diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Lodge at Moosehead Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Hotel Greenville
Moosehead Lake Hotel
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing