We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Ranked #2 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We stayed at the Lodge during Memorial Day weekend and it was wonderful. We arrived not knowing what to expect since it was pretty early in the season. We had been warned that not a lot of things were open since it was the first "real weekend" of the season. We were in for a treat.

We stayed in the Allagash Suite and were immediately impressed by the decor, the amenities and the details. Linda checked us in and gave us a tour and explanation of the room. The bed hung on giant logging chains so we had the option to "swing" or not. The bathroom was huge and luxurious and I could live in the jacuzzi tub. But then we looked out our window and saw the view. Absolutely breathtaking. We even had a hummingbird or two to keep us company. Everything was done with Moosehead Lake and surrounding mountains as the focal point. We could wake up to that view everyday and never get tired of it.

The main house was warm and inviting and totally keeping with the theme of the area - Moose! That was the reason we came and we weren't disappointed. We took a Moose Safari (booked through the Lodge) and had a very fun, exciting and successful adventure, seeing many moose, some very close and some not so, a great big beaver dam, and lodge, birds and lots of beautiful nature. Our gude Ed and his wife were terrific, knowing exactly where to find moose and telling wonderful stories. It was totally worth waking up at 5 am to see all the moose and the yearling moose.

We only had one warm breakfast (the first was a satisfying box meal given to us for the Safari) and it was terrific. The food, the atmosphere and Chloe - the lodge French Bulldog, made for a terrific start to our day. There were always cookies and drinks in the pantry and sweet chocolate treats in the different rooms in the main house. One of the nicest things is no sooner then had we returned from our Safari, but our picture was on the digital photo frame in the library. It made us feel welcome and at home.

The only negatives we found were that since it was so very early in the season, not everything was open in town and the restaurant and pub at the lodge were not open. We had read terrific things about the restaurant and were disappointed, but we also avoided the crowds and got a real feel for the people of the town. We ate at the Black Frog when the barge opened for the first day of the season and that was fun. Make sure to eat there and read the entire menu, it is great. We even had the treat of sharing the "Skinny Dip" sandwich experience with some of the townspeople and it made for a funny memory. Even though the town was not 100% open for tourist, there were no crowds, plenty of moose and wonderful hospitality wherever we went. I also recommend a relaxing drink and sandwich at the Stress-free Moose in town. Its a great way to start your Moosehead Lake experience.

Our intention was to get to Moosehead Lake and see some of its most famous locals, the moose and stay at a lovely bed and breakfast. What we didn't expect was to be embraced by such luxury, warmth and kindness, up in the woods of Maine. I can't stop recommending the Lodge at Moosehead Lake to anyone who will listen. It is romance, elegance and natural beauty tucked away in the woods. For anyone who loves nature, outdoor activities, tranquility, romantic sunsets, candlelit jacuzzis for 2, oh and don't forget the MOOSE, the Lodge at Moosehead Lake is for you. We can't wait to get back up to Greenville and see Linda, Dennis and Chloe again!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MooseLover08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 257 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2008

This was the 2nd stop on a Maine trip in May 2008, and the high point of our vacation. The setting is simply gorgeous: views of the lake which go on forever, and as much outdoor activity as one could stand. Our moose safari (booked directly with the outfitter, not through the Lodge) was excellent, and productive.

We stayed in the Moose room, which was charming and spacious, and I believe we were the only guests in the main Lodge during our 3 nights (so I can't attest to the quiet when other people are nearby.) We did hear breakfast being prepared downstairs, and as this room also overlooks the deck, in summer it would guarantee to be very loud, one would expect.

The restaurant, to our disappointment, wasn't open, and neither was the pub for a couple of our evenings. The night it was open it was jammed, and getting service was difficult - not what one might expect in an empty hotel. We nibbled, and fled back upstairs quickly. What food we sampled was excellent, as was breakfast (included) each morning.

Chloe, the lodge French Bulldog, was a sweetie, and added a great deal of charm to the surroundings. The owners were busy with their activities and left us alone, which suited us fine. Others might find that less accommodating. We were very early in their season. They are definitely set up for active people, with a selection of hiking poles, and meals for hungry, tired guests (when meals were available.)

In general, the Lodge is quite expensive, but perfectly situated for a gorgeous view and a pleasant stay. If this sort of thing is within your budget, it is worth experiencing.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank derring_do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

My husband and I enjoyed a three day weekend here at the Lodge at Moosehead Lake in February. "February?" you say...what an odd time! To the contrary! If you enjoy the beautiful, clean crisp air of Maine, playing in the snow (snowshoeing, X-country skiing, snowmobiling, etc.) and up scale inn comfort than the Lodge at Moosehead Lake is a great place to be in February. If you enjoy sitting in front of a fire, looking out over the snowy winterscape of the Lake followed by a night's sleep in a superbly comfortable bed...you would indeed enjoy this surprising little luxury inn. Back to the bed...without a doubt this is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. I know this sounds ridiculous but the combination of soft pillow top(s) and the super soft linens made for the best sleeping (maybe the hours of playing in the snow helped too!). Our room was decorated in north woods Maine style (think: birch wood accents, pine trees, etc.); fun and not too much. Bathroom came with all the expected toiletries and then some...including multiple candles around the two person tub (!!).

The hosts are very accomodating without being overbearing. We dined two evenings in the pub downstairs (main restaurant is not open for dinner in the winter) and our meals were very good. The lobster pasta the first night was superb. Breakfast was perfect...cold buffet with amazingly fresh fruit and fresh baked pastries followed by a hot entree of the chef's choice.

And as dog people we were particularly taken with Chloe, who excelled at customer relations.

We look forward to returning in warmer weather to enjoy a glass of wine on the back deck as the sun sets on the Lake. Did I mention how wonderful the bed was???

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaseysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

We wanted an excellent romantic dining experience, and boy did we get one. Being from Philadelphia, we did not expect to get meals and service that rivaled those in our home town, but the Lodge at Moosehead Lake has nothing to fear from being compared to Philadelphia restaurants. The owner, Bruce (no longer the owner), was a dynamite host. He made me a "Mooseheart cocktail" (vodka, cranberry, grenadine, triple sec and champagne) which I highly recommend. We sat in the "alcove" - also highly recommended for privacy and romance - and had salmon cakes and tomato & motzarella for appetizers, beef tenderloin and sea scallops for dinner, and boca negra (flourless chocolate thing) all were superior. The view was dark when we were there, but during the day we could see that it would be breathtaking in the summer months. There was candlelight and romantic music. Downstairs in the bar we shot a game of pool after dinner. Highly recommended. Not for the frugal, but oh so worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GMS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

This was the 3rd stop on our honeymoon. The hotel is now under new management and the new hosts are very accomodating and do everything they can to make you stay pleasurable. The lodge is lovely, we stayed in the mooseroom which is fantastic. The attention to detail is immaculate and we were very impressed. The view from our bedroom and dining room was amazing and the sunset was awesome. They also arranged white water rafting for us which is fantastic. However we were not overly impressed with the food in the restaurant and would rate the food in the pub within the lodge more highly. We felt that although they were going for the fine dining experience they were getting it wrong and the food was no where near as good as that we had at other restaurants in hotels and the gramercy tavern in new york and was very very expensive. It might be our european dining taste but we would never expect a cold mayonnaise potatoe salad with pouisson or a cold chilli salsa with lamb and mash potatoe. We were also very disappointed when we ordered a bottle of champagne, which turned up not cold, and then when the waitress opened it over a quarter of it ended up on the floor, with no apology or replacement. We were very disappointed. However the pub food is fantastic and well worth having. Overall the lodge is very good and the small touches are great, however having stayed in several other hotels whilst in new england on our honeymoon this was by far the most expensive both for the accomodation and the food, and we're not sure it is that special to deserve the premimum.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

We thought the lodge was lovely with a magnificent view of the lake and a beautiful garden. Our room was very romantic, with a fireplace, jacuzzi tub,candles, and a private porch overlooking the lake. We were not very impressed with the breakfast; received two pancakes, and nothing else, except for a few meager items on the side bar. The dinner was better and we enjoyed watching the sunset. The small amenities such as an ice filled cooler in each room,little chocolates on the bed, towels for boat rides, and little snacks made our trip very stress free. Though we thought it was a very nice place, we have stayed at similar Inns for much less.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

My husband and I were not staying at the Lodge but simply went for dinner. And simply it was not! The dining room is absolutely lovely with a gorgeous view of Moosehead Lake and the sunset. Each course of the dinner was better than the previous one. Our server was excellent and provided not just recommendations on what to order but also where to go/what to see in the area.
The new owner, Linda, introduced herself to us and checked back to see how we were enjoying our evening. And it is the whole evening because you "own" the table for the night. No pressure to "turn the table". We highly recommend the Lodge for dinner if you're in the area and also as the place we will stay next time we are there. Extemely well run with a marvelous chef and a high level of service.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank amcbeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
2.3 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
2.8 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
77 reviews
16 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#1 of 5 in Rockwood
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
#2 of 2 in West Forks
18 reviews
25 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
70 reviews
22 mi away
Inn by the River
Inn by the River
#1 of 1 in The Forks
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Moosehead Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Moosehead Lake

Address: 368 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range: $325 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Moosehead Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy breathtaking lake and mountain views at our romantic Greenville, Maine inn. Relax in masterfully decorated rooms and suites at our Moosehead Lake lodging with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, private decks, and luxurious linens and robes. Sit back in our pub with full bar and games, or enjoy our complimentary snacks, DVD library and Wi-Fi. Don't miss out on unforgettable breakfasts and sumptuous weekend dinners at this Moosehead Lake adventure lodge. Activities galore - many exclusive to the Lodge at Moosehead, a Select Registry Property. AAA 4 Diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Lodge at Moosehead Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Hotel Greenville
Moosehead Lake Hotel
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing