We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Nearby Hotels
Moose Mountain Inn(Greenville)(Great Value!)
$139
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kineo View Lodge(Greenville)(Great Value!)
$109
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Herbert Grand Hotel(Kingfield)(Great Value!)
$79
$77
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugarloaf Inn(Carrabassett Valley)
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel(Carrabassett Valley)(Great Value!)
$148
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Terrace and Restaurant(Millinocket)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
205
27
13
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
205
27
13
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloon roombear roommoose safarimoosehead lakeprivate deckchef stephenattention to detailhand carvedlobster mac and cheesedecorated perfectlyperfect stayour honeymoonthought of everythingcanoe tripbreakfast was delicioushost and hostesslittle touches
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 257 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

When we like a place we tend to go back again. Sometimes we're dissapointed because it isn't as good as we remember but not so with The Lodge at Moosehead Lake. Our stay this time in the Moose Room was just as enjoyable as last year's. The view is spectacular, the rooms immaculate, and the staff very friendly and accommodating. This time we ate dinner at the Lodge and Dennis went out of his way to meet the dietary restrictions of our group and the food was delicious. A perfect getaway.

Room Tip: The view from the Moose Room is incomparable
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrydoc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Positives:
- There can not possibly be a cleaner or better decorated lodge in Maine, especially the Moosehead Lake area.
- The view of the lake is spectacular. (please note that the inn is not directly on the lake, but about one mile away from it on a hilltop.)
- Rooms are cleaned twice a day. Turn-down service is included with chocolates and a personalized note with weather forecast for Greenville, as well as your hometown (nice touch).
- Room are immaculate, quiet, and decorated perfectly.
- Dining room is lovely, with separate linen-clothed tables. This is nice, as some B&Bs cram you all together at a set time for breakfast with other guests who you don't know... can be awkward.
- Breakfasts were creative and delicious and leisurely. The service staff was excellent. They were two young women from Turkey who were there on a work/travel program.

Points of Consideration
- Hire breakfast staff that is from the area, in addition to the work/travel students. Having a friendly local person to speak with during breakfast would be helpful. They could share local stories, tell you where the moose are :-) and provide some general history of the area.

If you are looking for a B&B where the inn keepers are friendly and accessible, this was not the case with us. They run a beautiful, clean establishment, with great decorating and good food. This was enough for us, but could be disappointing for others looking for friendlier hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We enjoyed our long stay in the Loon room at the Lodge. The room has a comfortable side area with good seating and a tv that worked well on our two rainy days. The breakfasts were varied and good. We ate dinner on Saturday night and enjoyed the ambiance and the food. Service was excellent through out our stay. Movies galore for the rainy days & an afternoon treat each day were welcome additions. We were pleased that we could leave windows open and not have to use the air, except for some warm afternoons. Sunsets from our balcony were spectacular. it was also close to town for dinner. All in all a very restful stay. Just what we were looking for. Thanks Lois and Dennis! The Z's

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAZ597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Okay, first things first. I have never written a review for any place I've stayed, I never felt the need to. We did only stay one night so my experience is limited BUT the thoughtfulness of the appointments in the room and the total commitment to professionalism on top of a really beautiful setting, well I just had to write. We had to make the 6 hour trip to pick our son up at camp so I thought we should find a place to stay that would be a mini vacation for the rest of us. I spoke to Linda when I made the reservations, explaining that I have a 9 year old daughter and the website excludes children under 11, she said it would be fine. We arrived and she showed us around zeroing in on my daughters soft spot, she brought Chloe (the dog) out right away and my daughter was in heaven. The views were spectacular, the way Linda handled planning our Moose Cruise, her graciousness in welcoming us when we were rattling around in the pantry at 9pm after our return...just wonderful. It is expensive but I would rather abbreviate my trip and stay here than go anywhere else in the area for longer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We recently returned from a three night stay at the Lodge. While we expected the accommodations,food and scenery to be terrific what made this a truly memorable visit was the graciousness and thoughtfulness of our hosts Linda and her husband Dennis.Rarely have we witnessed such an obvious commitment to providing guests an outstanding experience whether it be interesting conversation,a great picnic lunch or finding a lemon twist for a martini.This is a special place run and staffed by special people.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bear Room which seemed to be the most private of the rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike06461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews