We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Ranked #2 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We loved it. Top notch place. You won't be disappointed in a cozy stay at the Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pointman06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Lodge at Moosehead Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 249 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2012

rooms are beautiful and so is the main lodge. beds are extremely comfortable! view is wonderful... wish the lodge was closer to the water so you could go swimming though.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We (couple from Germany) stayed there in August and were deeply impressed. A great location with a fantastic view at the lake and Linda as an perfect innkeeper.
She organized a guide for a moose-excursion - and we really saw one.
We never again slept in such a fantastic bedroom. Me wife said after going to bed: I think i will get fainted by relaxation!

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites with terrace or balkony in the separted building
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinguin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

What a wonderful weekend. Cozy and charming, The Lodge at Moosehead Lake is beautifully sheltered in the trees and offers stunning views of the lake from every vantage. The innkeepers were welcoming and staff members (Georgine especially) made us feel right at home. Upon driving up to the inn, which was tastefully decorated for autumn, you could tell that there was an attention to detail about the property. Our suite was private yet nicely proximate to the main inn where we were served a great dinner, beautiful breakfasts and cocktails in a fun pub room which spans the bottom floor of the building. You can't go wrong if you choose this venue for your get-away.

Room Tip: The Katahdin Suite has really great views and is nicely outfitted. Especially loved the private back...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeslieGeorgeMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The Lodge at Moosehead Lake was everything and sooo much more than we ever dreamed of! We had a great time! So cozy in both the Moose Room and Trout Room. Great views, hiking beyond our highest hopes, wonderful innkeepers, friendly puppy, and fabulous food. Add in Georgine’s bubbly personality, a little fantastic weather, an International Fly-In, getting to have a cocktail with our hosts…did I mention the great food??? We will be talking about our visit for years to come.
We hope to visit again sometime soon, as six days was NOT enough!
We recommend the trail to the top of Moose Mountain if you are a hiker! You can see the Lodge at Moosehead Lake across the lake from the viewing area about 3/4 of the way to the top. The view from the top is even better!

Room Tip: We will choose the Moose Room when we retun!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bud and Patty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the lodge for 4 nights. I had chosen it because it was a AAA Four Diamond property which I have respected their ratings in the past.The nightly rate for our accommodations was $485.65 including tax. Breakfast was included. We arrived at the lodge on a Sunday evening about 6:00PM. The front/entrance door to the lodge was locked. We rang the doorbell. The owner unlocked the door and ask us what we wanted. We were stunned by her rudeness. We informed her of who we were and that we had reservations. She said she was busy and would take care of us when she finished what she was doing. Not a good start. The whole check-in process was so unwelcoming. It was like we were a burden rather than a guest. There was no one to help with our luggage. Strict Instructions on where we needed to park our rental car. Our room was neat looking but really not clean. It looked at if it has not been dusted in a month. As we were leaving our room early one morning, we were surprised when the maid asked if we would like our room cleaned. We replied "of course". At $485.00 a night, I naturally expected to have our room cleaned daily. The person who cleaned our room also happened to be the waiter, the one and only, in their restaurant on the Sunday night we ate there. It was the only night the restaurant was opened during our four day stay. The service was poor but the food was very good. I have never written a negative review but I was so upset by this place that I wanted to share our experience. My husband and I had gone there to celebrate our 40+ anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank terrell c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lbortis, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

We take all guest comments to heart….good or bad. Hopefully our responses to your comments will be helpful to others who are considering a visit to the Lodge. The front door is always locked (guests are given the touch pad combination upon arrival) to prevent non-registered visitors from imposing on our guests’ privacy. Many people are drawn by the lake and mountain view and stop in just to “look around”. Unless you are a returning guest, we are never sure who is at the door until you identify yourself. Your arrival coincided with an in-progress phone call and the need to assist another guest who had checked in earlier. We should have taken more time to explain the delay.

Separate parking lots are provided for the convenience of guests in the main Lodge and in the Carriage House. You were directed to the parking area closest to your room in the Carriage House. Guests can elect to use an area further away, if they prefer. Long term parking is never allowed along the drive in front of the main Lodge to reserve access by emergency vehicles. Assistance with luggage is not always available immediately. We do not staff a bell boy. However, assistance with luggage is always available within a brief time. A dusty room is never acceptable and we have added additional review steps to our housekeeping procedures. Our standard procedure is to refresh the rooms twice each day…… while guests are at breakfast and again in the evening when guests are away for dinner. The housekeeper was not inquiring if you wished to have your room cleaned but whether you wanted it done at that time or at another time. We try to adjust room services to each guest’s daily absences if we are aware of their activity schedule.

Dinner is served to guests on Friday, Saturday and Sunday evenings. The schedule remains the same throughout the season and is disclosed on the website and again at check-in. You booked your stay from Sunday through Wednesday. We do not advertise the dining room to the public. It is reserved for the private enjoyment of our guests who prefer the leisurely enjoyment of a beverage and meal without having to worry about driving. The dinner pace is deliberately relaxed. However, we always accommodate guests who make us aware of time restraints or after dinner commitments.

Each arriving guest is invited to voice concerns as they arise so that they can be addressed immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I stayed here in Aug 2011 with my boyfriend and it's truly a special place. Everything was unique and lovely - from the decor, to the view, to the service and food. We loved how relaxed the atmosphere was, with very personalized service and thoughtful attention to detail. We stayed in the Baxter suite and loved it - we had our own porch to watch the sun set, the Jacuzzi was a nice touch, and the room plush and luxurious, but with a special Maine touch. It's the perfect place to relax and unwind. Luxury with a Main/woodsy twist. I'd highly recommend for anyone looking for a unique place, especially if you love the outdoors. The lake is stunning and serene - I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
2.3 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
2.8 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
73 reviews
16.0 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#1 of 5 in Rockwood
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
#2 of 2 in West Forks
17 reviews
25.0 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
68 reviews
20.9 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Moosehead Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Moosehead Lake

Address: 368 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range: $353 - $809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Moosehead Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy breathtaking lake and mountain views at our romantic Greenville, Maine inn. Relax in masterfully decorated rooms and suites at our Moosehead Lake lodging with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, private decks, and luxurious linens and robes. Sit back in our pub with full bar and games, or enjoy our complimentary snacks, DVD library and Wi-Fi. Don't miss out on unforgettable breakfasts and sumptuous weekend dinners at this Moosehead Lake adventure lodge. Activities galore - many exclusive to the Lodge at Moosehead, a Select Registry Property. AAA 4 Diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lodge at Moosehead Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Hotel Greenville
Moosehead Lake Hotel
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing