We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Ranked #2 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
IND
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“pleasant”
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We were a bit leary staying at the Greenville Inn because of the previous reviews but found it very pleasant. We found the innkeepers friendly and easy to talk to. We enjoyed our stay and the breakfast was delicious

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gogramy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    24
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
88
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

My wife and I will never visit this Inn again. We were treated in the most disrespectful manner.

I would suggest the Blair Hill Inn and the Lodge at Moosehead Lake where we also visited and were treated like kings and queens.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GeorgeII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

My wife and I had a wedding in Greenville and some of my family stayed at the Greenville Inn. Since we had the master suite, the wedding party decided to get dressed for the wedding here... which was a big mistake. The owner of the hotel was a complete jerk to our guests and hassled everyone none stop. We were there for a total of 30 minutes getting ready and received nothing but grief. It was really unbelieved how unprofessional these people were. They actually made some of the groomsmen move their cars out of the parking lot... which had about 20 open spaces and we had only 3 cars! They went out of there way to be horrible hosts.

On the flip side we did photos at the Blair Hill in which was completely opposite the Greenville Inn. These people were awesome.. even bringing drinks out for everyone since it was so hot.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank george138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

I am surprised by some of the bad reviews on this site; we stayed there two nights in early August 2008 and had a wonderful time. The owners were very accommodating (I think we changed dinner reservations three times, without complaint), the room was comfortable (no problems with the bed, as others reviewers have noted), and the common areas of the inn were inviting and cozy. It's a short walk to the few downtown restaurants and shops. The owners also gave us good suggestions on dining and other local activities. I think we paid $199 for an interior room; that seems about right in comparison to other comparable inns in Greenville. Dinner is a bit of a splurge but we thought the food and service were both excellent.

  • Liked — Common areas and host
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank templeheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

As a family of five we take trips as often as possible. So far we have been to many luxurious places.

This vacation we stayed a week at the Greenville Inn, June 2008. It has been by far the best experience we have ever had out of all of our trips.

The accommodations were outstanding. Really enjoyed the way the staff spoiled us. They made us feel at home, especially the fine dining which was exquisite.

Looking forward to going back again.

  • Liked — The Food
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JoyAnnIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

I had never been to Maine until a buddy of mine suggested I visit Moosehead Lake. I was so surprised to find such a great vacation spot in the woods of Maine. I am so happy I decided to stay at The Greenville Inn, it was definitely a five star inn that made my 5 star vacation. My room in the Inn was awesome and the company (owners Jeff & Terrie) was great! We saw 4 moose on a safari trip, took a plane ride over the lake and ate some delicious food at the Greenville Inn's restaurant. This may have been my first time, but will not be my last trip to Maine & the Greenville inn. Thanks for an awesome time!!

  • Liked — superior accompdations
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

The Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake is not a good value in the opinion of my wife and I who have been doing the B&B thing for over 10 years.

Our room was so small we were extremely cramped with two suitcases. The bed, queen size, was not very comfortable. Breakfast consisted of buffet of pancakes or french toast and sausage and fruit. There was also a cereal selection but nothing special as far as preparation is concerned. No afternoon snacks or refreshments. We had to ask for a bottle of water.

And it does get hot and humid in July in Greenville, Maine. No air conditioning to combat the heat and humidity.

Also the Inn states (or warns) in its written policy that your room will be inventoried at the time of your departure. I do not need to steal their belongings and would not anyway since I am an honest man. Just something I thought was inappropriate.

  • Liked — The partial view of Moosehead Lake
  • Disliked — The room. Extremely small, cramped.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GeogiaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
2.3 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#3 of 5 in Greenville
235 reviews
2.4 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
71 reviews
17.7 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
63 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
#2 of 2 in West Forks
15 reviews
24.9 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake

Property: Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Address: 40 Norris Street, At Moosehead Lake, Greenville, ME 04441
Location: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moosehead Lake's most historic inn, just one block from downtown Greenville & Moosehead Lake, this 1890 restored lumber baron's mansion offers luxury & family suites, king/queen guestrooms & private cottages. The inn features upscale amenities and breath-taking views. Choose from accommodations offering a two person whirlpool tub, marble shower, spa robes, flat screen TVs, A/C and free WIFI. Your stay includes a scrumptious breakfast at your private table in our two dining rooms or wrap-around verandah...all while taking in magnificent views. Perched on a hill overlooking the town of Greenville, a one block stroll has you dockside at the historic steamship Katahdin and at the shops of downtown Greenville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenville Inn At Moosehead Lake Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing