We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Ranked #3 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a Great Time”
Reviewed July 23, 2008

As a family of five we take trips as often as possible. So far we have been to many luxurious places.

This vacation we stayed a week at the Greenville Inn, June 2008. It has been by far the best experience we have ever had out of all of our trips.

The accommodations were outstanding. Really enjoyed the way the staff spoiled us. They made us feel at home, especially the fine dining which was exquisite.

Looking forward to going back again.

  • Liked — The Food
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JoyAnnIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    24
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
85
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York Mills, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

I had never been to Maine until a buddy of mine suggested I visit Moosehead Lake. I was so surprised to find such a great vacation spot in the woods of Maine. I am so happy I decided to stay at The Greenville Inn, it was definitely a five star inn that made my 5 star vacation. My room in the Inn was awesome and the company (owners Jeff & Terrie) was great! We saw 4 moose on a safari trip, took a plane ride over the lake and ate some delicious food at the Greenville Inn's restaurant. This may have been my first time, but will not be my last trip to Maine & the Greenville inn. Thanks for an awesome time!!

  • Liked — superior accompdations
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

The Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake is not a good value in the opinion of my wife and I who have been doing the B&B thing for over 10 years.

Our room was so small we were extremely cramped with two suitcases. The bed, queen size, was not very comfortable. Breakfast consisted of buffet of pancakes or french toast and sausage and fruit. There was also a cereal selection but nothing special as far as preparation is concerned. No afternoon snacks or refreshments. We had to ask for a bottle of water.

And it does get hot and humid in July in Greenville, Maine. No air conditioning to combat the heat and humidity.

Also the Inn states (or warns) in its written policy that your room will be inventoried at the time of your departure. I do not need to steal their belongings and would not anyway since I am an honest man. Just something I thought was inappropriate.

  • Liked — The partial view of Moosehead Lake
  • Disliked — The room. Extremely small, cramped.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GeogiaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, ME
Level Contributor
99 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Just back from a stay at the Greenville Inn. It gets two thumbs up from us!! We just loved it. There we were, sitting at beside the window with the sounds of a free concert in town to entertain us. The sun set slowly over a fabulous mountain view, and that was before the food even arrived - which was fabulous.

We stayed in the Tower Suite and it was fabulous - fireplace, whirlpool tub and king bed, plus a great little loft with a second TV and a telescope.

The views from the inn and expecially the porch of the inn are tremendous. They have great little cottages too, with their own decks or patios, and those are wonderful too.

We loved meeting Jeff and Terry, the owners/innkeepers. They are interesting and fun and truly interested in their guests. Ask for a tour of the inn, you'll be amazed at the variety of room choices they offer - it's great for families traveling together. There are tons of suites or cabins that accommodate kids and parents or two families traveling together.

I highly recommend the Greenville Inn.

  • Liked — food, location, friendly innkeepers
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CousinsIslandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We decided to take a trip into Greenville to do a moose safari. We chose the Greenville Inn because of it's location and their website which had lots of photos and information.

We booked room 23. Although we were late getting in (after driving from Bar Harbor), the innkeeper was waiting with a warm welcome and a quick tour of the common rooms. We told him that we would be late for breakfast the next morning because we were going on the safari. He said they would have breakfast waiting for us.

The room had a king size, comfortable bed and beautiful views out toward the lake. The bathroom was charming with an original claw-foot tub. (There is no shower, though.)

After our incredible morning - saw lots of moose, a nesting loon, beaver lodge, canoe paddling on a pristine mountain lake - we were happily surprised to find a hot, plentiful breakfast waiting for us. We thought they would have just packed up a little basket of pastries or such. The Greenville Inn serves their breakfast like a small buffet. This is much more flexible than the traditional B&B sit-down approach. That morning we had delicious cheese crepes, scones, yogurt, hot teas and coffees, juices, cereals, fruit....you name it! It was wonderful to have such a bountiful, hot breakfast after a chilly and busy morning on the lake!

Their restaurant had not opened for the season yet, so they made reservations for us at the Blair Hill Inn (very nice, but we liked the location of the Greenville Inn better) - We had a delicious dinner with an incredible sunset view over the lake.

We would go back to the Greenville Inn again - the innkeepers were happy to show us several other rooms that would be great if we come back alone, or if we bring the kids!

  • Liked — The location and the innkeepers
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

The town of Greenville is located waaaay up at Moosehead Lake - a great destination if you want to get away from it all. And a nice place to stay is the Greenville Inn. It is located halfway up a hill in downtown Greenville (so you can walk to dinner and back) and the front of the inn has nice views of Moosehead Lake.

The inn was built by a lumber baron and has retained many of it's original features including most of the woodwork. The room my husband and I stayed in was in the back, in a newer part of the house that was added on. The room itself was large and clean and we had a very nice time. I thoroughly enjoyed the buffet breakfasts, which included hot foods as well as a selection of muffins, pastries, fresh fruit and cereal.

The only item lacking was a butlers' pantry where guests could access bottled water, tea/coffee facilities and a small fridge where you could store some hiking provisions. The innkeepers did supply a very nice tray of tea and buscuits when I asked but I hate to bother them (esp when they also run a restaurant on site which opens for dinner) and it's impossible to have someone sitting at the front desk 24/7 esp. later in the evening once the innkeepers have gone to bed.

The other minor complaint was that our room was located above the kitchen which serves the restaurant. So very now and again, we would get some food smells and noise from the kitchen -nothing excessive or continuous but you were definitely aware of staff working nearby..

  • Liked — Location of the inn to Moosehead Lake is excellent
  • Disliked — Lack of butlers' pantry and proximity of the room to the kitchen
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hopping-along
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nystate
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2006

The inn itself is beautiful but we chose to stay in one of their cottages for privacy. The cottages seem spartan by comparison and not worth the cost (210.00 plus tax per night). The mattress was hard and uncomfortable. Breakfast is served from 8:00 to 9:30 so if you are active and out early, you are buying your breakfast down the road at a great little place called Auntie M's. It was also very disappointing that there was no coffeemaker in the room. The towel warmer could have been gone and replaced with a practical amenity like a compact refrigerator, especially given the inn's restricted hours for food and beverage availability. Overall this experience was disappointing for the money.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank bukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
retiredwannabe, Owner at Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake, responded to this review, September 24, 2006
As an upscale bed and breakfast (as with most best and breakfasts) we have no plans to ever supply refrigerators or coffee makers in our suites, rooms, or cottages. These are itmes found in motels or cookie cutter hotels. If this particular guest had spent any time in the "beautiful inn", he would have seen the complimentary Senseo coffee/tea maker on a tasteful mahagony tea cart which is available from 9:30 am until 11pm. We also are suprised that this guest was not happy with our new firm and supportive mattress...he would have preferred and old soft mattress?! Our breakfast is served from 8-9:30 am, but we do make up breakfast goodie bags when requested...but the key word is "requested", this particular guest, and we know who he is, never made a single request. We realize that after serving thousands of very satisfied guests over the last 4 seasons, and many many repeat guests, that there will be ONE guest you cannot please, no matter what you do. WHO COMPLAINS THAT THEY HAVE A TOWEL WARMER IN THEIR BATHROOM?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
2.3 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
224 reviews
17.7 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#3 of 5 in Rockwood
39 reviews
18.8 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
66 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
#2 of 2 in West Forks
14 reviews
17.8 mi away
Maynard's-in-Maine
Maynard's-in-Maine
#1 of 2 in Rockwood
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake

Property: Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Address: 40 Norris Street, At Moosehead Lake, Greenville, ME 04441
Location: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moosehead Lake's most historic inn, just one block from downtown Greenville & Moosehead Lake, this 1890 restored lumber baron's mansion offers luxury & family suites, king/queen guestrooms & private cottages. The inn features upscale amenities and breath-taking views. Choose from accommodations offering a two person whirlpool tub, marble shower, spa robes, flat screen TVs, A/C and free WIFI. Your stay includes a scrumptious breakfast at your private table in our two dining rooms or wrap-around verandah...all while taking in magnificent views. Perched on a hill overlooking the town of Greenville, a one block stroll has you dockside at the historic steamship Katahdin and at the shops of downtown Greenville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenville Inn At Moosehead Lake Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing