We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of Moosehead Lake at this out of town location and good value.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kineo View Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2010

While staying in the Moosehead Lake area, we overnighted at this motor lodge. The owner/manager was very friendly at check-in and gave us a good recommendation for an evening meal in Greenville - Flatlanders (go there - the chicken is excellent). The room itself had a nice little balcony (ours had some old beer cans on it). The bed was fine - nothing too fancy. it had wi-fi (on and off) which was a surprise. It is a 5-10 minute drive back to Greenville - there is nothing at the hotel itself. I thought it was a fair value. The clientele tended towards the hunting crowd that were a bit rowdy and noisy at night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europhile62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Kineo View Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 116 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2010

Absolutely loved everything about this place! The view was spectacular and so are the prices! This place is very well kept & clean. They have a free continental breakfast in this cute little coffee shop every morning. The owners were very informative on the area about things to do and were very pleasant to talk with. There is no WI-fi in the room itself, but can be accessed from the coffee shop & office which was fine...a little inconvenient, but everything else made up for it. Will definitely be back when we visit that area again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatluverfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The Kineo View has standard clean and comfortable rooms. We had a family suite with two bedrooms and two full baths. But what makes this property outstanding is the spectacular view of Moosehead Lake and the surrounding mountains. Any time of the year the view would be worth the price. You are situated high on the top of a hill hundreds of feet above the town and lake. All the rooms have a balcony to sit and watch the scenery. You are only 10 minutes from all the "action" in beautiful downtown Greenville. Don't miss the cruise on the Katahdin.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcrail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Stayed here for two days during drive across Maine. Chose this location in hopes of seeing moose and were not disappointed. Manager suggested a couple possible viewing areas and we saw moose in both locations.
Room was not fancy, but was very clean and comfortable. It included microwave, fridge and free wi-fi. In addition, the view from the deck at the back of the room was gorgeous with Moosehead Lake and the mountains in the distance. Breakfast was adequate with a good selection of cereals, muffins, bagels, etc.
Management and staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RudyBega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

If you're driving up to the Greenville area with hopes of seeing moose (and who isn't?). This is a great spot for an overnight or two. It is located just a mile or so from the most accessible and reliable moose viewing bog around and you can drive up and wait for moose to come in and out at dusk or dawn. We saw 8 moose while there for just one day!

Kineo View is a very budget accomodation so notice the "motor lodge" in the name. It is very appropriate. Their rates are some of the best you'll find. The rooms are very clean. The basic breakfast of muffins, bagels, toast, cold/hot cereal and coffee/juices served in their breakfast room from 7am-9am was very nice if you aren't expecting too much. We thought it was great for being FREE and convenient! The lodge also offers free wi-fi. The owners and staff obviously care about providing the best experience they can. If you do not expect a luxury lodge, you'll be very happy here.

You cannot beat the view from every room - 2nd floor is a bit better!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleVisitor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

The view is A+++. Every room has a wall of windows at the far end looking out over Moosehead Lake. Open your curtains back and enjoy the view. Ask for a room on the 2nd floor.

Rooms are your basic motel set-up plus ironing board and iron, microwave, dorm sized fridge. Clean but not fancy. Could use more counter space in the bathroom.

As some have noted, this motel is not right in town; if you're the type that likes to go back and forth to your hotel room a lot, you might pick something closer in.

Wish the TV was newer and also that management had included a channel line-up for the TV. Wasn't one in my room.

Good internet signal. Free.

Wish the mattress had been firmer.

If you are a very light sleeper, take a small fan to create white noise. This is a very quiet, remote location, so any noise in the morning (a snowmobile going by, other customers outside talking, water running in the next unit) might wake you.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovingMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

My husband has been to Maine many times and loves the state. So, I had to come and see it for myself. I would move there in a minute. The people are very gracious and friendly. Kineo View is and will be my choice of lodging for my next trip back. The owners, George and Diane and there staff were down to earth and made our stay very pleasant. The accomodations were perfect. Very clean, quiet and out of the way from town and the view from our balcony just took my breathe away!!! THANK YOU to all the folks of Maine who made our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lwmoosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
5.2 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
248 reviews
4.5 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
73 reviews
2.9 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
44 reviews
16.1 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
66 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
#2 of 2 in West Forks
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kineo View Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kineo View Motor Lodge

Address: 50 Overlook Drive, P.O. Box 514, Route 15, Greenville, ME 04441
Location: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenville
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have their own private deck, air conditioner and thermostat. Every room is equipped with refrigerator, microwave, WiFi, flat screen tv, coffee maker, iron & ironing board, and private bathroom. Daily housekeeping service is included in room rate. Free continental breakfast is available Memorial weekend through Columbus Day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kineo View Motor Lodge Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing