We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at a great price!”
Review of Rod-N-Reel Cafe

Rod-N-Reel Cafe
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Two story white building located in Downtown Greenville, across the street from beautiful Moosehead Lake. Small family owned and operated restaurant. Featuring a large menu, full bar, craft beer and a large wine menu. We specialize in fresh baked and fried seafood, Ray's Famous Prime Rib, home made spaghetti sauce, Vegan Spaghetti sauce, hand cut steaks, chicken fingers, soups, chowder, crispy salads and desserts. We have a lighter side menu for people with smaller appetites and a children's menu for kids 10 and under.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We love eating at the RodnReel! The fish is fantastic and the service is wonderful.

We love sitting near a window and watching the world bustle by on the main drag in Greenville!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MeeshaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    50
    17
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windham, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Always a favorite- never disappointed”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We always stop at the Rod n reel when we are in Greenville and have never been disappointed. Consistently good food, friendly service and reasonable prices.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Glad we could not eat there!”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed in Greenville for a couple of weeks on September. We did not know restaurants close early in september (8.00 p.m.) so as it was the onlly restaurant in the street with the lights still on and people inside we tried to go in. But as they saw us coming they locked the door! Apparently coming out to say ' Sorry we are closed' was too much a strenght for these folks ... And the hanged the 'Closed' sign on a window while we were leaving :) Freaky!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Miciola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gone in twice, only ok food.”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Same experience with the bartender and an obnoxious local crowd around her. Making fun of other patrons/tourists. The waitress was nice but the food was only so so. Better options down the street for less money. If they don't like tourists then no problem, won't go back next time.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationcroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Level Contributor
375 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Food just so so”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I got the salmon, and I love salmon. Ate it three times during the one week trip to Massachusetts/Maine. This salmon was dried out and had a not so fresh taste to it. And it had bones. I hardly ever find bones in my salmon but this one had at least 6. My friend got tuna and thought it was ok but nothing great. Would not go back again. And even though it was a small dining area, service was kinda slow. I do understand though as our waitress had a big table come in just after we got there - like a table of 10.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodfancierEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rod-N-Reel Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rod-N-Reel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing