We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, Awesome Place and Great owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casey's Spencer Bay Camps
New Hampshire
1 review
“Wow, Awesome Place and Great owners”
Reviewed July 11, 2008

I have to say that this campground was the best campground I have ever been to the scenery was incredible the location was awesome all of the boat rentals and canoe rentals were great Casey is a nice guy and his wife Sara was wonderful I will be going back I loved it there

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank augvista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    9
    3
    1
    11
See reviews for
31
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, FL
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Casey's is a rustic campground and the fact that it has electricity and showers at all is a welcome amenity to campers who go there to enjoy the scenery and wildlife. The six mile long dirt road leading to it is located about twelve miles beyond Greenville. What would you expect? A costumed Yogi hugging children like Mickey does at Disney? It's a hunting camp that doubles as a summer campground and that's exactly the feel to it. It's for people who have gotten a blister once or twice in their lives so don't go there if you want KOA or Jellystone Park. My family of four have fond memories of the owner Casey. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there walking the trails and using it as a base to check out other places such as Kokadjo and Lazy Tom's bog for moose etc. I have albums filled with pictures of moose from up there. If that's what you want then this is the place to go. Don't expect feather beds and if you disturb other guests at night you deserve whatever you get from Casey. I have nothing bad to say about him after staying there four times.

  • Liked — Rustic Location. It's a deep woods camp ground.
  • Disliked — Dirt road leading in to it.
  • Stayed July 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKraftyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

The campground is secluded, quiet and somewhat primitive, just what were looking for. The location is right on Moosehead Lake and the scenery cannot be beat. Our campsite was right on the lake and surrounded by trees. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall, an oiutstanding camping experience.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank Wayard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

WORST experience ever. Avoid this place like a plague. There are so many nice spots around. Just go some place else!

  • Disliked — Rude owners, dirty place
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CobyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 13, 2006

Some the of the camp seemed rather primative but what more do you need when your in the sticks of Maine. Our group of 4(all in are early 20's 2 girls 2 boys)enjoyed are stay of 5 days and plan on retruning. We didn't have any problems with neighbors or the owners. We chatted with the owner when he was carving a paddle. He was short winded but pleasant. The best part of this camp is it at night when there is no lights or running motors to disturb natures beauty, the day is half bad either.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 4, 2006

Don't even consider going to Casey's Camp Ground!

It was early evening, around 9:00 p.m. when I and my husband along with our 2 children and my sister & her family were out at the water's edge, enjoying the beautiful scenery and sounds of the night, when out of no where Casey started screaming at us. He told us all to get out a%#@* back to our sites and go to bed! I couldn't believe my ears. The officer we spoke to the next morning told us he knows Casey well and has made frequent visits at his camp ground. Needless to say we left. This person has no buisness running a camp ground and dealing with the public. He is a rude, disrespectful, angry , miserable human being!

Stayed August 2004
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allenton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2005

OWNERS are rude and unaccommodating. We rented a cabin and it was very old and filthy. My husband cleaned the dishes and swept the floor before we left, although there is no official "clean after yourself" policy. Imagine our astonishment when the owner's wife yelled profanities at us for not cleaning the cabin well enough. I still do not get what she wanted--us mopping the floors? The cabin had no heat and being a couple of feet from the lake got pretty chilly at night, probably due to the fact that door did not close well or lock from the inside, windows had cracks in them and one window was gone all together. The only potential source of heat there was an old wood burner. Owners gruffly allowed us to use it. Then after we have used it for a week without any incident they disallowed us to use it the last night we were supposed to be there. The only explanation we got was that they were afraid we were going to burn the cabin down.
CABINS--gross. One tiny room had a bunk bed, a refrigerator 2 feet from it, a gas stove and a sink. The gas stove, on top of everything, leaked propane gas which accumulated at the low ceiling at night. My husband sleeping on top of the bunk bed woke up nausious from propane poisoning every morning. Finally we all slept together on the bottom, which was extremely uncomfortable. Appliances were very old, some of them not cleaned at all. In addition people in town told us owners had been struggling with keeping poison out of the drinking water, and had to drill new wells several times because water did not pass the test and had cyanide.
Add to that the fact that the place had no electricity, only 4 hours in the morning and 4 hours at night. Refrigerator suffered the most, and all the produce in it. No television, obviously. Cabins all crammed together, so there was no privacy whatsoever. When your neighbors decide to sit by the campfire at 12 am in the morning, and sing songs--you are in your cabin, trying to fall asleep, miserable, and learning the words of those songs instead.

Helpful?
14 Thank anyname987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
11.3 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
222 reviews
13.6 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
9.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Maynard's-in-Maine
Maynard's-in-Maine
#1 of 2 in Rockwood
14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Casey's Spencer Bay Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casey's Spencer Bay Camps

Property: Casey's Spencer Bay Camps
Address: 1397 Casey_s Road, Greenville, ME 04441
Location: United States > Maine > Greenville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Greenville
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Casey`s Spencer Bay Camps Hotel Greenville
Casey's Spencer Bay Camps Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing