We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casey's Spencer Bay Camps
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I have been going to Casey's with my family for 7 years. We love it. It is very quiet and peaceful. The owners (Sarah & Casey) are great. They are helpful in finding day trips, hikes, and anything else we need. We camp with small children and 3 or 4 dogs. We have always felt welcome at Caseys!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainer0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Casey's Spencer Bay Camps
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 68 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

As has been said, Casey missed out on finishing school. But looking out at Spencer Bay you know this is a truly special place like no other. I've canvassed all of the Northeast for a comparably scenic semi-wilderness location, but it doesnt exist, not anywhere and not anywhere else on Moosehead. So I deal with bugs, dirt roads, noisy generators and Casey (who really isnt a bad guy at all; he just knows he's got the most gorgeous views in New England).

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank ExRIGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We have been going to Casey's since 1999, it has been a great experience every time. Sarah and Casey allways go out of their way to make our vacation relaxing and a blast. It is a very clean and well maintained campground. We have stayed in campgrounds from Key West to here and love Casey's the most. We have met several families over the years and keep in touch with them. The fishing is great, the air is clean and cool, and the store is wonderful. There is alot to do from swimming, trail riding, fishing, boating hiking, sitting around the campfire and relaxing. You can rent boats and canoes, fly fish and go tubing. You can boat all over Moosehead lake, we have taken our boat to Greenville for lunch and dinner. The price to camp here is very reasonable, we go here every year to get away from the rest of the world. Thank you Sarah and Casey, we will see you in August. Don Micken, Stevensville Md.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
6  Thank DONMICKEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We loved this place. Our standard poodle did too! The 6.5 mile graded road into the camp seemed a lot longer coming in than going out. We saw no moose but kept a close eye as the website suggested. We pulled into a beautifully shaded site near the head of a trail leading to a nice pebble beach. About 10 minutes further there is a much larger pebble beach for swimming, Lots of privacy at both places. The campground is old, rustically beautiful, and quiet. The owners, Casey and Sarah were extremely welcoming and kind from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. Keep in mind, electricity 6 hours a day only. If you can live with that, you will not be disappointed. We will hopefully get back there again next summer!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank debpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

I have stayed at Casey's probably 3 or 4 times over the years, and thoroughly enjoyed my visits. As some of these reviews have stated, Casey can be a little testy and rude at times, but Sarah, although not overt, has been helpful and friendly. The guy from New York City who gave such a bad review probably never new anything more than a 8 x 12 cement back yard with a pit bull! If you enjoy nature, boating, fishing, wildlife viewing, nature photography and such, then this is definitely the place for you. If you want rec rooms, wi fi and cable tv, then go to a Yogi Bear Jellystone RV Park. If you want to introduce your kids to something that doesn't plug into a wall or work off of batteries, then bring them along to. Years down the road, and it might end up being an unforgettable experience for them. You cannot beat Casey's for natural scenic beauty. Boat rentals, launch and slips are available, and the grounds are generally kept neat and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaleSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

I can't say enough good things about Casey's! I just love it and so does my family. We have 2 young boys and they ask to go there all the time. My youngest wants to spend his entire summer there. It's so quiet & peaceful. Sarah & Casey are the best! I feel like we have become family & not just friends. Anytime we need some time away from the busy life we always go to Greenville and stay a few nights. Looking forward to going again in October for the 4th time this year!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Not a big camper, but wife and kids love to go once a year. We found the tent sites nice, but a liitle too rocky. Next to the water is great. The lake is fantastic, but due to the 6.5 mile trek in not much to do other than swim. The showers and bathrooms were extremely clean although you can only shower between 7am - 10am or 7pm - 10pm. Cassie did his best to ruin my few days off. We rented a canoe for the day $20 - not bad, but it had a leak. Went to ask about renting a small boat with engine and rudely told can only rent for the day - this was about 12pm. I asked if I could pay the full day rate and Cassie rudely said we rent only by the day - been there done that - people want to rent for an hour and run over rocks - all this while never looking at me and on the phone with a personal call. Overall liked the location and campground - it's too bad Cassie is there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildhog2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
9.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
44 reviews
12.6 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
73 reviews
13.6 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
248 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Casey's Spencer Bay Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casey's Spencer Bay Camps

Address: 1397 Casey_s Road, Greenville, ME 04441
Location: United States > Maine > Greenville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Greenville
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Casey`s Spencer Bay Camps Hotel Greenville
Casey's Spencer Bay Camps Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing