We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
144
6
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
6
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews composting toilets wood stove maine woods gulf hagas ski weekend running water groomed trails family style cross country ski gas lit roast marshmallows bagged lunch fly fishing no electricity mountain club perfect balance gorman chairback
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 153 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

My friend and I needed a spot to re-center and do a "food drop" while hiking the AT. What a nugget this place is! Staff (Jenna and Alaina) were incredibly helpful. The food was fresh and some were grown on the premises. Trails, ponds, Hundred Mile Wilderness and Gulf Hagas all nearby. AMC always does it right, but this place and staff (croo) were indeed remarkable! Loved it. I already want to go back!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

Our recent trip to Little Lyford camps was the best! It was really relaxing, laid-back and fun. The accommodations were very comfortable. The staff there did an excellent job of offering delicious options for accommodating my food sensitivities. They were also helpful in suggesting great spots to fish and hike. And the access to boats to explore the nearby ponds made it so convenient.
The AMC folks really know what wilderness travelers want- a perfect balance of comfort, relaxation and adventure. We can't wait to go back for X-C ski season!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

I stayed at the lodge in early July. I loved the rustic cabins and the beautiful hikes in the 100 mile wilderness. The food was excellent, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the views were breathtaking. I definitely recommend this site for the summer and would love to come during the winter.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

Just spent 5 days there. Rustic cabins with central toilet and hot showers. Sink in cabin. Beautiful, great staff, hiking, canoeing. Can just take a paddle to several lakes with AMC canoes there. Saw 2 moose on the ponds Did the Fly Fishing weekend which I really recommend. Went from not catching to getting 18 trout.

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank alo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018

No better way to begin the summer than in the Northern Maine Woods at Little Lyford! Our family of 5 (11 yo boy, 8 yo girl, 6 yo girl) + 1 yo springer spaniel had a blast. We climbed Indian Mtn (great views), hiked and swam at Gulf Hagas (beautiful), rode bikes, fished and paddled Ponds 1 & 2 (11 yo caught his first two brookies on a flyrod), played ping pong at Gorman cabin on a rainy day and enjoyed delicious meals at the Little Lyford Lodge. Great staff. We even saw a Moose on the drive in. Can't wait to come back.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank bscoville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews