We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
151
6
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
6
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews composting toilets wood stove maine woods gulf hagas groomed trails ski weekend family style hut to hut cross country ski gorman chairback abundant food gas lit bagged lunch fly fishing no electricity delicious dinner perfect balance
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 160 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2018

Accommodations are clean and nice. Great atmosphere, great time -- Staff is attentive and well-trained, food is great, highly recommend!!!!

Oh and I get cold easily but I was very happy and comfortable because there are hot showers, a nice sauna, and well-insulated wood-burning stove cabins.

Room tip: Everything is great
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mmyellott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2018

Spent several days skiing from one cabin to another and had a wonderful experience at Little Lyford once again. This was my 4th time at this cabin and the time there was the same as always - fantastic. The people were great, the food was plentiful with a variety of choices and the atmosphere was even better.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glennski7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2018

Just back from the Appalachian Mountain Club (AMC) Lodge to Lodge XC Ski Tour and can't believe what we just did! With two amazing AMC guides we took off on XC skis to a camp of log cabins, sauna, delicious dinner and breakfast, super fun night snowshoeing and then trekking on to the next lodge at Gorman Chairback, about 6.5 miles away. I can't say enough about the whole adventure aspect of this trip! Go! Make reservations now! Our bags were shuttled by snow mobile ahead of our XC trek which makes this even more doable! Cozy log cabins - heated by wood stoves - make for a perfect magical winter getaway. Showers too! Value beyond saying! Go now!

Room tip: AMC reservations will help you choose cabin or bunkhouse.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomsARunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017 via mobile

Gem of a place, well run like AMC can do, delicious healthy meals, cozy cabin, great hikes. Green Drake was our residence, close to bathroom, lodge and sleeps four- bunk and a d/q, wood stove, wood, kerosine lamps, sink in the cabin.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017

We just finished up a week at Little Lyford as part of a group of 8 friends, all around 60 years old and active. Little Lyford Lodge is a bit remote, but beautiful and nicely equipped. We spent every day mostly hiking various trails in the area, mixed with canoeing, kayaking, and fishing. Hiking can range from easy to adventurous. There's a few trails right from the lodge but expect to drive the gravel roads to most trailheads. This is a "wilderness lodge", which is not quite as primitive as it sounds. No electricity in the cabins, but propane lamps and running cold water. The "spa" building includes composting toilets, hot showers, and a sauna. The Lodge itself is very nice, friendly staff, and the meals were very good, sometimes excellent. An excellent base of operations for activities.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews