We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beaver Cove Camps

Beaver Cove Camps
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaver Cove Camps
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

My wife and I recently traveled to Beaver Cove Camps to participate in a family reunion. We found that all aspects of the camp were really great. This is not a luxury hotel - it is a camp situated on the shores of Moosehead Lake. Very beautiful indeed. I found the proprietors to be most helpful and the facilities were just what you might hope for - not fancy, but clean, reliable, everything worked, and the beds were really quite comfortable. We had a very pleasant stay. Lots of time in or on the water, fishing was good (but the catching could be better), nearby rafting trips, we saw moose, and it was easy to gather around a fire and visit with family in the evenings. All in all, I highly recommend BCC as a vacation spot. -jms

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soonerfan82851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

We had a group of about 30 stay at Beaver Cove camps in midJuly. The scenery is amazing, cabins were clean and well-kept, and we loved that they were located near each other, but not on top of each other. They are currently doing remodeling on some of the cabins, so depending on which you pick, some are more updated than others. We had an awesome time with canoeing, kayaking, hiking, swimming. We loved that Greenville had a grocery store with everything we needed and the town is a perfect size with a variety of restaurants to offer but still very small.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkt5202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

We had a reservation for Friday and Saturday night of fly-in weekend in the Beaver Camp and immediately went to the office to see if we could stay two additional nights. The owner had thoughtfully moved his boat to a mooring as he knew we were bringing our Boston Whaler to visit Greenville for the fly-in and explore Lily Bay and more. In addition to boating, my husband and I, along with our adult son, enjoyed sitting around the fire pit, relaxing in the comfortable chairs, admiring the sunsets and peaceful evenings. The swing by the dock was another special spot. Beaver had everything we needed, the owners were congenial and we certainly hope to have the opportunity to return soon. We also visited Maryilyn's Crazy Moose fabric and quilt shop in Greenville, so colorful with the beautiful display of fabrics and table runners. Wish I could sew!!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kojobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

This really is a perfect spot to vacation if you want to get out of the tent and have the luxury of a stove, fridge and bathroom. The hosts and their kids (and dog) are friendly and pleasent. However, at least the cabin we stayed in, needed major updating and MAJOR cleaning!. The knobs on the stove were sticky, the pots and pans old and grimy, the rugs dirty, the mattress covers and the mattresses just looked bad. The furniture was functional but again very worn and dated. The hosts provided clean towels and sheets whcih were fine. However, they may be better off discoontinuing this service and investing in new mattresses and covers and throws for the existing furniture and over all, giving the place a good scrubbing. It's not a place I would recommend or return to unless I read "recently renovated" in their advertisement. Then I may give it another shot.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosieMa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

We had a great 3 days at Beaver Cover Camps, really enjoying the 'get away from it all ' feel. The cabin served our purpose well - all we wanted was simple, clean accommodation so that we could relax. We rented canoes from Marilyn and spent a day on Moosehead near Sugar Island - eating our picnic lunch on our 'own' mini 'desert' island.

On the way back South we called in at Bingham to go rafting on the Kennebec (Marilyn can help with the booking). This was with a company called North Country Rivers - I can definitely recommend them and the Kennebec for first time family rafters.

Next time we would possibly take a moose safari, visit the B52, the Katadhin Iron works and drive/hike to the Moxie Falls. We didn't need to go into Greenville having stocked up at the Shop n' Save on the way into town.

  • Liked — Lakeside location
  • Disliked — Still a bit close to civalisation
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cazzer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

When we first arrived, the cabin seemed a little too rustic to us with no TV, bare plywood walls, and it was kind of dark plus the drive in on the dirt road. But, we ended up loving this place. The best part was sitting out on the dock and watching the sunset. The lake is a nice clean glacial lake and would be good for swimming. The lakeside setting could not be more beautiful, plus the location is very quiet. However, the night we were leaving, a group of people with really loud kids arrived, but they quieted down later that night. To see moose, everybody seems to say, drive 10 miles up the main road early in the morning like 5 or 6 or 8 or 9 at night and you are bound to see a moose. We did. And we saw 3 of them. Amazing creatures!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank asdaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

I was absolutely amazed by the number of high ratings for this establishment and felt compelled to share my experience. Most of the ratings are somewhat dated and perhaps the property has gone down hill in a short amount of time. I almost can't believe we are talking about the same place.

I have lived in Maine all my life and spend time on Moosehead Lake every summer (thankfully in much nicer places than this). This year we made last minute plans and this was the only place with any availability. I can't explain how horribly disappointed we were when we arrived.

The cabins are built in very close proximity to each other (no privacy whatsoever), with the owner's house placed nearly in the middle of the grounds. The cabins are barely (and I mean barely) fit for hunting camps. The cabin we rented could only be described as filthy with the kind of noxious odor that makes you want to pass out. There was no view of the water and the dock was in serious need of repair. It appears that there has been little to no maintenance done on the property since it was built.

On top of the poor layout and filthy condition of the cabins the rental rate is way over the top. On a week by week basis there are a number of well built and private camps that can be rented for the same price. Do yourself a favor and view their website. Any good advertiser shows their best pictures on their website. I should have known that if the pictures shown were the best this place had to offer I'd be in trouble. The owners were nice, but it's too bad they have not seen the need to reinvest in the property. I can assure you I will never return.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmieMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
4.5 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
6.8 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
13.5 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#3 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Maynard's-in-Maine
Maynard's-in-Maine
#1 of 2 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
25.0 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaver Cove Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaver Cove Camps

Property: Beaver Cove Camps
Address: PO Box 1233, Greenville, ME 04441-1233
Location: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Greenville
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east shore of beautiful Moosehead Lake, we have been entertaining guests since 1905. Our six housekeeping cabins offer all of the necessities for a comfortable getaway, any time of the year. Each is outfitted with a fully equipped kitchen and full bath with shower. We also have a dock and boat launch facilities for our guests. We are only a 10 minute drive from Greenville which affords access to shops, services and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaver Cove Camps Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing