We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST if you're staying in Greenville!!”
Review of Blair Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blair Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We recently had dinner on "the Hill" after a friend have us a gift certificate. What a wonderful time we had!

We took our boys ages 12 and 13 and arrived 30 minutes early to have drinks and take in the breath taking view from the seats on the front porch. The boys had Shirley temples and my husband and I had champagne (they had Veuve!!).

Bonnie was our fantastic waitress and she didn't miss a thing. She was very attentive and pleasant.

The food was phenomenal. My sons and I had the shrimp springrolls and my husband had the roasted peppers for our appetizers and they were delicious. The butternut squash soup and house salad were yummy as well. Our 12 year old even commented on how tasty the soup was!

Our entrees were mouthwatering. We got the grilled salmon which was cooked perfectly!

Caramel cheesecake followed for dessert and we were stuffed!!

The whole dining experience was great. The views of Moosehead from the huge windows and the pleasant waitstaff made it an evening to remember.

It is quite pricey, but well worth it. We've been coming to Greenville for the past 5 years and own property up there and I asked my husband why we'd never gone before!! If you enjoy fine dining, then this definately is a "diamond in the rough".

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MeeshaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Blair Hill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 225 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is the "est" of any B&B/hotels we have EVER stayed!!
We stayed for 6 nights in room #7(we called it the Blue Room) for my "special " birthday. The Inn is quite impressive as one comes upon Blair Hill & is restored magnificently by owners Ruth & Dan. One would think the outside was enough to impress, but upon your first steps into the foyer the real experience begins. The home is furnished in a traditional/ whimsical style, which reflects the owner's warm & artistic personalities... e.g.: the elegant variety of styles of lamps, their beverage coasters, the little jam holders used for the breakfast table, are just teasers to the other furnishings in the home.
There is not enough room for me to write of all the excellent qualities of the Inn, so i will condense the best i can:
room is well appointed,views are magnificent, breakfasts cooked by Dan were excellent & quite hardy:-), the 5 course dinners were remarkable, the front porch is such a delight as one's sits & enjoys the view, fantastic sunsets & weather, but most of all, the staff (all locals) could not have been more friendly & accommodating (thank you so much!).
I do believe we have found our home away from home while in the beautiful state of Maine and are looking forward to our next stay at the lovely Blair Hill Inn.

Room Tip: front rooms are more favored but all of the 8 rooms have lovely views.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doubletrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Look, Maine is a beautiful place with many options for stunning views, great food, and historical inns. Why choose the Blair Hill Inn? Why drive north rather than up the coast? Let me count the ways: 1. Moosehead Lake might just be the least visited natural attraction in Maine. Tourists that head to Acadia, Baxter, or Portland might find beautiful views, but they also encounter traffic, long lines and crowds. The Moosehead region is huge and beautiful with nary a crowd or traffic jam in sight. 2. Blair Hill is an impeccable property, that has retained its historical charm without resorting to doilies, loon-themed furniture, or downright musty "antiques". Not only is the Inn spotless, it's warm, cozy, modern, and tastefully appointed. 3. You love food. You love local, creative, hearty food. You also love warm service and the ability to linger over a 5-course meal while watching dusk fall over the lake. (You might also love to have a cocktail on a huge porch, in a wicker, oversized chair.) 4. You need a vacation from Facebook, email, a checklist of tourist attractions, and traffic. Or really, any kind of city life.
Blair Hill Inn isn't just an incredibly comfortable, stunning Inn with an unbeatable view- it harkens back to the days of true vacation. Porch-sitting, a staff that attends to your every need, beautiful rooms with plush bedding, soaking tubs and that are spotlessly clean and well tended to.
Honestly, there are so many reasons to visit this Inn. It's well-worth the trip and the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KFree5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We first visited the Blair Hill Inn in June 2007 (please see earlier review), and were captivated by Ruth and Dan McLaughlin's hospitality and vision back then. We returned five years later, and were captivated all over again. Ruth and Dan have continued to provide a five-star experience on the edge of beautiful Moosehead Lake in Maine, from the rooms to the dining (Tuesday night dinner for guests only was great) to the warmth of the people with whom they work. Property upgrades flourish, from inside to out, which make this jewel of an inn sparkle even more.

Room Tip: Room 1 presides, with a great overlook of the lake below.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NH_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Before coming here, I was intrigued that the reviews for this hotel were all perfect fives. Now having stayed here, I agree completely. Owners Dan and Ruth are the ultimate gracious hosts, and their hotel is furnished in superb taste and with exquisite attention to detail. The views all around and to the lake below are absolutely stunning! And to top it all, Dan is a superb cook. We had a delicious breakfast with the most scrumptious eggs we have ever eaten! Thank you Ruth and Dan for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel is perfection. It is such a stunning setting, with perfect sunset views from a gorgeous veranda. Every room, and we stayed in 3, is stunning. Down to the sheets and the bathroom accessories, everything is the ultimate in luxury. The house has a warm friendly feeling, sometimes small hotels can feel intimidating, but Blair Inn gets the balance just right. Present if you need anything, yet very relaxed and leaves you to explore and chill out if you prefer. The gardens are stunning and expansive. The food and drinks are all of the highest quality. The little town is only 2 miles away, and the lake offers endless activities or opportunities to relax and do very little. If a very small part of you thinks: maybe, just maybe, we should stay here, then DO. Book it today. You will be so delighted you did.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Spent one night to enjoy a bit of luxury while visiting relatives in various parts of the state. Ruth greeted us warmly and showed us around the inn. We enjoyed cocktails crafted by Cordelia on the front porch and watch the sun set over one of the most beautiful views in Maine. Everything was spotless and comfortable. The room was very spacious and as shown in the web site photos. Breakfast was wonderful and just this side of decadent! Will keep this inn on the "must return" list. Dinner is served at the inn Tuesday thru Saturday -try to book a room then. I stay in hotels of all kinds over 100 nights a year and wish everyone of them could be like this inn!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank booktek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
0.2 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
249 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
2.8 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#1 of 5 in Rockwood
45 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
#2 of 2 in West Forks
17 reviews
20.7 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair Hill Inn

Address: 351 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range: $350 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Arguably the finest inn of inland Maine (and possibly the entire state)" Travel & Leisure Magazine. Blair Hill Inn is Moosehead Lake's most desirable country hotel, restaurant and spa. Guests from around the world return time and time again to this 10-guest room private retreat in the wilds of Northern Maine to decompress from the hectic demands of life. The stunning lake views, exquisite farm-to-fork cuisine, soothing spa treatments and peaceful atmosphere are provided amid an aura of understated elegance. Participate in as many, or as few, lake and mountain adventures customized for you as you'd like. AAA 4-diamond, Forbes Recommended and a Select Registry Distinguished Inn of America. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blair Hill Hotel Greenville
Blair Hill Inn Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing