We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Maine Woods Vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AMC Gorman Chairback Lodge and Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2012

we attended a LL Bean Discovery School class at the Gorman Chairback Lodge. we went for the LL Bean school, but we will be back for the lodge. The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. The food was very good.Much better than I ever would have expected at a wilderness lodge, and the cooks did not hestitate to adjust the menu for my celiac disease. There are a mix of very rustic and less rustic cabins. Ours was one of the rustic cabins, but we could not have been more satisfied. The cabin was very clean, super heated by our wood stove and adequately lighted by propane lights. A little tight for 3 adults, but very cozy. Just limit how much stuff you bring. i would bring my own pillows. The linens are nice but the pillows provided will disappoint. The main lodge building is the highlight. Super comfortable and a nice alternative to the outhouse. They even have a wine and beer license. what could be better than a day in the maine woods followed by a hot shower and a glass of wine with a great meal. I can not recommend the place highly enough.

Room Tip: choose an old cabin to enjoy a historic sporting camp experiance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 118 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

I've been to Gorman Chairback three times over the past couple of years--every time it just gets better and better. Staff is super friendly, food is good (and I'm fussy), accommodations tremendous.

Be aware, it is "rustic"--many of the cabins require using outhouses, but the main lodge does have hot showers and a wood fired sauna. Cabins--some of them antiques, though rebuilt/snugged up--have wood stoves to keep fairly warm, flannel sheets, and are quite roomy.

The skiing, snowshoeing, and poking around is great. And, because it's a lodge, you tend to get to know other guests a little quicker than many place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NhHikerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

he perfect place for a winter retreat, Gorman offers a beautiful new lodge overlooking Long Lake and surrounded by evergreens. Plenty of room to relax around the fire in the lodge each night, reading, playing cards or board games, or just getting to know interesting guests from all over the country as well as abroad, along with the terrific staff who saw to our every need with genuine interest (one even took half an hour to sit with us and teach us to play cribbage, another offered to loan me snowshoes that I could leave at the gear shed in the parking lot 8 miles away if I preferred not to ski out on my last day at the lodge, and as a fantastic and greatly appreciated surprise, the staff put out a huge thermos filled with hot water along with packets of hot chocolate and tea at a ski trail intersection about 2 hours from the lodge when all the guests were skiing out on a day when the temp was 9 degrees with a wind chill of minus 10!) In addition, gourmet meals were prepared by a staffer who definitely earned the title of chef, not cook. He earned an ovation from the diners each night of my stay.
The cabins are rustic and charming, lining the lake. Wood stoves keep them cozy as do the L.L. Bean down quilts and flannel sheets and duvets.
All in all, a wonderful experience. I plan to return for another great outdoor experience in the autumn.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elisacricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I almost do not want to review this place because once people know about it it will be impossible to get a reservation! We (4 friends and I) came the weekend of Feb 3, 2012. We arrived at the winter parking lot at 11 am, tagged and left our bags in the shed as instructed, and skied about 7 miles (the across-the-pond route) to Gorman Chairback and arrived in 2-1/2 hours. We were greeted at the lodge with an invitation to help ourselves to coffee, tea, hot chocolate and an assortment of delicious home-baked cookies. Our bags arrived by snowmobile soon after. Our cabin, heated by wood stove and lit by gas lamps, with our own bathroom and hot shower, was brand new (in fact, we were the first guests to use it) and appointed with LL Bean flannel sheets and down comforters. Dinner in the lodge (in fact, all the meals) was delicious. The x-country ski conditions were excellent with nicely groomed trails (sometimes messed up by snowmobiles, but fine). All of the staff were incredibly nice and helpful. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mkog6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The Maine Northwoods offer so much. Hiking, photography, walking great sleeping, beautiful lakes, wild animals and quietness. AMC offers cabins with porches facing Long Lake with rocking chairs on each porch for watching the sun set over the lake and possibly seeing a moose and many water birds. The service is superior. The food was nicely prepared and tasted wonderful. The lodge even had a sauna which was nice after a day of hiking in the cold fall weather. A perfect place to relax and share nature.

Room Tip: The library hexagon shape cabin has the most ambiance and warm feeling. It looks beautiful with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ptravelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

A stunning location in the North Woods of Maine for a relaxing getaway or as a basecamp for outdoor adventure. My long weekend at Gorman Chairback was the best 4 days of my year! The cheesecake was incredible, too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mstrafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

...the AMC lodges, with a great view of the lake from the main building and the cabins--which I'd recommend, having stayed in the bunkhouse. This was adequate but kind of dark and cramped, especially the top bunks; hard to sit up without bumping your head.

Great facilities otherwise (bathroom, dining, sauna, LR), well-equipped waterfront with canoes and kayaks, and moderate hiking trails right out the door (need to drive for longer hike).

Food was plentiful and adequate. If you have any dietary issues, make them clear beforehand; the default menu is heavy on the dairy and wheat, for example.

Room Tip: Get a cabin, not the bunkhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
13.4 mi away
Kineo View Lodge
Kineo View Lodge
#1 of 3 in Greenville
118 reviews
12.9 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
257 reviews
15.3 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Show Prices

Been to AMC Gorman Chairback Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMC Gorman Chairback Lodge and Cabins

Address: Greenville, ME 04441-0310
Location: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Greenville
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shore of Long Pond near Greenville, in Maine’s Moosehead Lake Region, and surrounded by 66,000-acres of AMC-owned conservation land, Gorman Chairback is the newest stop on AMC’s popular lodge-to-lodge ski route, as well as a spectacular wilderness destination on its own. Gorman Chairback offers unlimited opportunities for hiking and skiing on 70 miles of AMC-maintained trails, paddling and fishing for native brook trout, or simply enjoying the quiet beauty of the region. Newly refurbished private cabins include queen beds, wood stoves, and gas lamps. Home-cooked meals are served in the main lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
AMC Gorman Chairback Lodge And Cabins Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing