We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Can't Think of A Word Awesome Enough to Describe It !!”
Review of Spencer Pond Camps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spencer Pond Camps
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Ahhh !! Remoteness at its best ! You drive in to the middle of nowhere and then take a dirt road 14 more miles!

Reviewing the website, we thought we were going to an amazing place. Well... from the moment we got there until the moment we left, we were not disappointed !

We arrived after dark. Dana escorted us to our cabin, demonstrated how everything worked and even started a fire in the wood burning stove for us

We took advantage of the offer on the website for Fresh Lobster and were so excited to find four fresh, COOKED, lobsters waiting in our refrigerator for us ! What a way to start off what was the best part of an incredible two week journey through Maine!

Pros:
Well stocked cabin
Comfortable beds
Firewood included
Private outhouse
Private dock
Free use of canoes, paddles, lifejackets
Free use of kayaks
Free use of mountain bikes
Trails right from the camp
Pump you own water
Wonderful hosts - Christine and Dana

The quiet at night is deafening. We sat outside our cabin at night with our blankets and listened the the complete absence of sound. After awhile the haunting cry of the loon echoed across the pond. (Incredible !!)

We canoed on the pond, swang in the swing, hiked the trails and enjoyed every minute.

Cons:
We had to leave!

PS - they do have a small store in their office where they sell souvenirs. I love my Spencer Pond Sweatshirt and miss Spencer Pond every time I look at it!

PPS - Jackman Air will come right to your dock for your float-plane ride ! It, too, was incredible !

PPS - They have chickens so you can have fresh eggs !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Off2SeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 128 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

If you are looking for Maine hospitality, clean cabins with gas lighting and water that you pump from a spring, give yourself a gift, and stay at Spencer Pond Camps. We were there over a weekend, and I slept soundly in the back of the main lodge. The bed was comfortable, the blankets warm, and my pillow stayed puffy all night. I recommend that you get up early, take your coffee right out on the shores of the pond, and watch fog lift off the water as the sun rises. No sounds of civilization interrupt you, just birds calling as leaves rustle in the breeze. Chris and Dana were wonderful hosts, and they obviously enjoy living in the Maine Woods and sharing that experience with their guests. I saw a stunning moose whose rack spread at least five feet, the biggest I have ever seen. What a glorious sight. I will return for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borealmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are looking for a 5 stars resort with all the amenities, this is not for you. But if you are looking for something authentic, relaxing where you can enjoy a beautiful pond full of wildlife for almost yourself, then you found the right place.
Dana and Christine are the most welcoming hosts I ever had. They make you feel at home.
Regarding the cabins, no electricity, you pump your water, use gas lights for lightning. Canoes, kayaks, mountain bikes are on self service which is really nice to discover the area.
The first convenience store is 15 miles of dust roads away, so don't forget your provisions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is our third year at Spencer Pond Camps. We will be back next year. This is the most peaceful spot. Dana, Christy and their daughters are like an extended family. We wish we could spend more time there each year. Our hosts make you feel at home and they go the extra mile to make sure you are comfortable in every way right down to the pillows on your bed. We have only been back 2 days and we miss it already.....

Room Tip: All are quite cozy. No need for any special tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dglemoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place is as good as it sounds. A group of individual log cabins on the banks of its own lake, with kayaks and boats just waiting for you to get out there. Pump your water from the well, light the gas lights, get a good fire in the stove - as cosy as you like. It is a long way from civilisation, so come well provisioned and don't rely on the vegetable garden - not much to be had when we visited, but we did get some resh eggs from the chickens.

Very clean, with lots of towels and bedding provided.

Room Tip: We were in the original hut, which I think seemed the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spoons m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Spencer Pond Camps is a wonderful reprieve from the hectic daily environment in which most of us live. The accommodations lead you to a quieter and more natural rhythm. I went from reflexively looking for a light switch to enjoying natural lighting and the soft glow of gas lamps. The pond and surrounding area are beautiful, both from shore and canoe. Christy and Dana are welcoming and knowledgeable hosts committed to their guests experiencing a vacation from what many would consider a bygone era. The dirt roads those last miles to the Camps can make for a bumpy ride. But no worry, your final destination will be worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband, dog, and I stayed here for a week in late June-it could have not been a better vacation! Wonderful setting, clean rustic cabins, the quiet of life "off the grid," and easy access to hiking, kayaking, and lake-swimming make Spencer Ponds Camp an absolute delight. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
11.9 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
46 reviews
17.8 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
257 reviews
19.3 mi away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Show Prices

Been to Spencer Pond Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer Pond Camps

Address: 806 Spencer Pond Rd, East Middlesex Canal Grant, Greenville, ME 04441-6100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Greenville
Price Range: $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind "unplugged and off the grid" in natural beauty, the way life used to be. Built in 1901, Spencer Pond Camps are an authentic and historic Maine Sporting Camp. They are the only cabins on the pond and sit in the shadow of Little Spencer Mountain. 14 miles via dirt roads from our closest neighbors, on an undeveloped and scenic pond. Recognized as an environmental leader, we offer you a choice of six rustic wilderness lakeside housekeeping cabins - each with its own unique personality. The cabins are fully furnished for comfort including screened porches, rocking chairs, woodstoves, libraries and homemade quilts on the beds.Canoes and kayaks are provided free of charge. Plumbing is "out back" and relaxation is everywhere, non-modernized without electricity and reminiscent of "Little House in the Big Woods" these cabins will take you back in time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spencer Pond Camps Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing