We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As perfect as I remember...”
Review of Spencer Pond Camps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spencer Pond Camps
GreenLeadersGold level
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As perfect as I remember...”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Since I was in highschool my most fond memories are of of July at Spencer Pond. Also where this year I married my first love of 19 years ago. Spencer Pond is where he and I got started and where he and I came back to get married on the same day in 1993 when he arrived. Dana and Christie when out of there way to make it as perfect as it was in 1993. The cabins are clean and comfortable and they have truly maintained the way of life in Maine in these beautifully rustic housekeeping cabins. Hiking the trails was a delight and they are well maintained and marked. It was truly a pleasure and I can't wait until we go back next July!

Charlene

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This was our second time and enjoyed it as much as the first. Love all the wildlife, and the special visiting friends that come say hello (chickens, cat and dog). Dana and Christie went out of their way to make sure everything was in order and we were well taken are of. I would not hesitate to recommend this camp to anyone wishing for some peace and quiet. Truly a place to relax and reflect.

Room Tip: Only tip would be if you have handicapped in your family or it is hard to walk with gear, choose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texaseve1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I have been to over 35 sporting camps in Maine and the breath-taking view of Little Spencer Mountain from the Spencer Pond Camps surpasses all others dramatically, putting these camps in a catagory of their own. Christie and Dana are two of the friendliest and cheerful hosts, making everyone feel comfortable and meeting the needs of each guest. I would recommend them highly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My wife and I spent our 16th annual week at Spencer Pond Camps in October of last year. Our first week in 1994 was on our honeymoon and Spencer Pond remains one of the most special places in our lives. We have only missed two years in that time. Dana and Christie are wonderful hosts and seem to always achieve that most elusive quality of being non-obtrusive, while at the same time being attentive to your needs at the camp. Whether a person comes to Spencer Pond Camps for a naturalist experience, a sporting experience, a family experience, or just to have a quiet and peaceful meditiative experience, they can find what they are looking for here. The amenities are basic, but very comfortable. The everchanging scenery is beautiful. This place is a very unique find in today's ultra-connected, elecronic landscape. If you can't stand the thought of being without every single modern convenience, this experience may not be for you. But if you want to experience the Maine North Woods in a traditional camp atmosphere with knowledgeable and gracious hosts, Spencer Pond Camps is hard to beat.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penobscot, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our family had a wonderful visit to Spencer pond camps. We can not wait to return.
It was a relaxing time spent in the wilderness. While visiting the camp we saw 7 moose, 2 bear, eagles, ducks, beaver, geese and much more. We caught more fish than we could count. We walked, hiked and kayaked. Dana and Christie were wonderful guides showing us the hot spots for fishing and directing us to the appropriate trails for our family. Overall a excellent vacation!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Maine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

What a wonderful four days Betty and I had at Spencer Pond Camps. Christine and Dana are wonderful hosts. It was nice to get back to basics and enjoy the outdoors in a very calm and peaceful setting!!!! We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: The Bemsis was a great cabin for the two of us, just right!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livinmainenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We had the sweetest little cabin in just the right spot. A beautiful view of Spencer Pond. Although there were three of us a we all slept in the big bed so comfortably. Our little girl loved each day and didn't seem to mind no electricity, pluming or television. I didn't mind not driving anywhere and pumping water. Actually I enjoyed the little kitchen and pumping water. One day when daddy was out searching for signs of moose my daughter and I hoped in a kayak and went for a paddle - it was so peaceful. Another day we hunted to find frogs - big frogs! We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Ask and the camp can help you choose the right size camp for your group
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
15.2 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
225 reviews
17.4 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#4 of 5 in Rockwood
39 reviews
17.4 mi away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Maynard's-in-Maine
Maynard's-in-Maine
#1 of 2 in Rockwood
16 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Spencer Pond Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer Pond Camps

Property: Spencer Pond Camps
Address: 806 Spencer Pond Rd, East Middlesex Canal Grant, Greenville, ME 04441-6100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind "unplugged and off the grid" in natural beauty, the way life used to be. Built in 1901, Spencer Pond Camps are an authentic and historic Maine Sporting Camp. They are the only cabins on the pond and sit in the shadow of Little Spencer Mountain. 14 miles via dirt roads from our closest neighbors, on an undeveloped and scenic pond. Recognized as an environmental leader, we offer you a choice of six rustic wilderness lakeside housekeeping cabins - each with its own unique personality. The cabins are fully furnished for comfort including screened porches, rocking chairs, woodstoves, libraries and homemade quilts on the beds.Canoes and kayaks are provided free of charge. Plumbing is "out back" and relaxation is everywhere, non-modernized without electricity and reminiscent of "Little House in the Big Woods" these cabins will take you back in time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spencer Pond Camps Maine/Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing